RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Speedplay questions(10 posts)

Speedplay questionscydswipe
Nov 30, 2002 5:42 PM
I am considering the switch from SPD to Speedplays. I don't have a ton of cash and will probably go with the x-3's. my questions are these: Does anyone use these with carbon shoes? The Speedplay site says to use some sort of additional piece to prevent dammage to the shoes. I use Nike Poggio's and would hate to ruin these through ignorance. My 2nd Question is: Are the x-2's worth the little bit of extra cash? If I'm better off waiting a little while longer and getting a better pedal I will. I appreciate any advice or input. Especially if anyone has some lines I can use to convince my wife I need these pedals!!
you pays your money and . . . .Kerry
Nov 30, 2002 6:58 PM
The Speedplays will come with an adaptor kit so that you don't have to worry about your shoes. As to whether the higher quality pedals are "worth the money" this is the same as asking whether Chorus is "worth the money" over Centaur, or BMW is "worth the money" over VW. A matter of personal choice. In general, the X-2 has a stronger axle, better bearings, longer life, and lighter weight. You have to decide if it's worth it. Seems like people who ride carbon soled shoes would tend toward the X-2.
additionallyScot_Gore
Nov 30, 2002 7:14 PM
Call the Speedplay 800#. I've talked to them twice. Both times they knew their product, took their time with my questions, did research and called me back with good answers. I'd recommend asking them your compatibility questions, and raise your carbon sole concerns.

my 2 cents

Scot
re: Speedplay questions5ive
Nov 30, 2002 7:17 PM
I think you'll be fine running Speedplay pedals with your Poggio's. But most carbon sole with smooth surface tend to not grip the cleats as tight as regular plastic soles. Some people will lightly sand the contact area before mounting the cleats.

As for the different versions of Speedplays, I would recommend that you try to stay away from X3's if you can. The review of X3's report many cases of premature bearing failure. I have experinces with X1's and X2's and they are both great. But be advised that different Speedplay models have different spindle length and will affect your Q-factor slightly.

Hope this helps.
re: Speedplay questionspeterofdevon
Dec 1, 2002 3:49 AM
Speedplay pedals with your Poggio's--perfect. I love the responsiveness of the carbon sole with the float of the speedplays (mine are x2s). My Poggios are just braking in after 1200 miles-make sure you brace the inner plate in your shoes so it doesn't rattle---the speedplay screws do not hold it. The creak and rattle took two weeks to diagnose. Again, great combo!
re: Speedplay questionsSkip
Nov 30, 2002 7:20 PM
I changed from SPD-R to X-2's, 2 years ago. To me, so much better than the SPD's. Haven't regretted the change.
re: Speedplay questionsScottland
Nov 30, 2002 9:48 PM
There's big hills wherever you go where I live, and I had minor knee pain until I invested in some stainless speedplays. I thought the knee stuff was from too big a gear, but it turned out that since the speedplay switch then I have no knee pain at all. And I weigh 15 pounds over what the recommended "185 lb" limit is. It's been several months. I love em.

Plus, they look like lollipops.
you can also buy used.PeterRider
Nov 30, 2002 10:38 PM
I bought the x-2 85$ from an ad on this board. They work fine, bearings were in excellent condition.

As Scott mentioned above, the customer service is great. The guys you get on the phone are really nice, ship parts at no charge and extra fast. Not like shimano's customer service who told me basically to f* off and that my LBS could order what I needed.

Pierre
re: Speedplay questionsJekyll
Dec 1, 2002 1:51 PM
X3 has a combination of bushings and bearings, X2's have bearings all around. X3 has a carbon steel spindle, X2 has an SS one. I ran X3's for years without any problems (and still have the original set on a beater). I traded up to a set of X1's for no other reason than that I could.
re: Speedplay questionscommuterguy
Dec 2, 2002 8:03 AM
I bought a bike that came with X-3's. I really liked the pedals (my first go-'round with clipless). However, after just 500 or so miles (and only getting caught in the rain once) the round part of the pedal started moving along the axle (i.e., 1/2 inch of play away from and towards the crank). WTF, I wondered. Warranty repair, sez the bike shop. They proposed sending the pedals to CA, getting a repair, and then reinstalling. I counterproposed upgrading to the X-2's, and have 6K miles on them w/o problems or complaints.

Never figured out what happened to the original X-3's.