RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Cannondale CAAD7 ride quality(10 posts)

Cannondale CAAD7 ride qualityjdhour
Nov 29, 2002 12:53 PM
I am looking to upgrade a fifteen year old aluminum Trek. The closest and best LBS sells Cannondales. I like the specs and fit of the 56 cm R2000i. The ride quality was fine on a short test ride, but I am concerned that the aluminum frame would catch up to me on longer rides (40-60 miles). I currently ride in group rides and solo training rides and have no plans on racing. Ride quality and efficiency are important to me. I am also looking at Zurich and 5200 at a more distant and less reliable LBS. I want to support my favorite shop, but do not want to get stuck with an uncomfortable bike for the occasional metric and conventional century I ride. My only experience with aluminum is my 15 year old trek (beats me up pretty good). Any experience with the CAAD7 out there? Suggestions and advice appreciated.
re: Cannondale CAAD7 ride qualityj-son
Nov 29, 2002 3:03 PM
Despite the conventional wisdom on this board which seems to conclude that C'dale makes shoddy bikes, I think their AL bikes are among the best around.

A modern C'dale will be fine for longer rides, as long as it fits YOU. You can make a much more discernable difference by changing tires (to something with more volume) or saddles.

Comparing a 15 year old Trek to a modern high end bike (any bike), is not really a fair comparison (for the Trek or the modern bike). Needless to say, things have changed a little in the past decade and a half.

In sum, Cannondale makes very nice bikes that should suit your purposes well.

Regards,
Jason
ditto fine Cannondale ride qualityLeroy
Nov 29, 2002 4:25 PM
if it's anything close to my caad5, you'll like it. check out a review of the caad7 at http//:bethelcycle.com.
what else does your LBS have?weiwentg
Nov 29, 2002 4:24 PM
if you want to support your LBS, simply let your concerns be known. I'm sure they don't only stock Cannondales.
that said, I did a full century on my Giant, which doesn't even have the hourglass stays of the Cannondales. it wasn't uncomfortable at all. CAAD5s and up aren't known to be uncomfortable bikes at all (due to the aforementioned hourglass stays, which act as shock absorbers). if I were riding centuries exclusively I would definitely look at something other than a Giant, but rides of 40-60 miles will be perfectly all right on most oversize aluminum bikes.
if you don't race, a couple of pounds more on the bike isn't going to slow you down enough to really matter. in that case, I might look at something different. depends on what else your LBS stocks.
what else does your LBS have?jdhour
Nov 29, 2002 5:03 PM
First, thanks for your help.
My LBS has Litespeeds (out of my price range, $2500 max), Giant (fit seemed off, I felt somewhere between the med and large) as well as the Dale's.
Close by is another shop with Lemonds (again the geometry did not feel right) and TREKs. I got a good fit on the 5200 and also liked how it rode as well.
I guess I'm interested in the Dale because it's a good bike, that fit, with great wheels and to be loyal to the shop that has kept my 15 yo trek on the road, I just have aluminum anxiety (15 years worth and probably irrational).
what else does your LBS have?weiwentg
Nov 29, 2002 5:38 PM
well, then go for the Cannondale. the R2000 is a great spec, although I'd switch out for standard wheels (the middle of the range built wheels often aren't any better than a good standard wheel). if you can't fit the Giants, forget them. the C'Dale won't beat you up, as per the other two posters. remember, if you get uncomfortable, you can put 25c tires on for longer rides. in fact, at the expense of rolling resistance, you might even be able to squeeze 28s in there (haven't tried, don't even have a Cannondale). the tires can potentially make a great deal of difference on comfort.
re: Cannondale CAAD7 ride qualityChrisK
Nov 30, 2002 4:37 AM
If ride quality is an important factor then I would say that there are better options than a Cannondale. I only have experience of a CAAD4 and have recently changed to a titanium frame and have found the ride quality to be far superior even on rides as low as 20 miles. I have also found no noticable difference in frame stiffness and the weight is very similar.
However my frame is an an Airborne Valkyrie so I will no doubt soon be told my opinion should not be valued!
There was a review of the CAAD 7 in a recent issue of Pro Cycling. The reviewer said the CAAD 7 was great. MUch more comfortable than other aluminum rides. I've also heard the same thing from friends that had CAAD 4's and 5's then upgrading to the 7. The Trek is also a great bike. If they both fit similarly and you like them equally I would probably go with the Trek because of their lifetime warranty.RCole
Nov 30, 2002 8:08 AM
approved
re: Cannondale CAAD7 ride qualityKellyCross
Nov 30, 2002 9:19 PM
my CAAD 7 R5000 is the most compliate ride i've had from an AL bike, & C'dale has a lifetime warranty & frame trade-in policy.
re: Cannondale CAAD7 ride qualitypeterofdevon
Dec 1, 2002 3:56 AM
I had a Zurich (2001-cool paint) but the found the ride harsh through the seatpost. I switched to an Alum (discontinued) Lemond and its like riding a knife through butter. I'm 6'2" 180 pounds--I would not want another Zurich.