RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Need a bike for my dad(13 posts)

Need a bike for my dadKunfoochi
Nov 24, 2002 8:50 AM
My dad has been playing basketball for his whole life, and actually played professionally in a foreign country, but that's a whole seperate story. Anyway, he's been playing every weekend, but now he's 47, and he's nearing the end of his basketball career, as his body can't handle the game the way it used to.

My dad rides an old bike that once belonged to his father, and never really complained about it, but recently he's been looking at new bikes a lot. We think a new bike would be a great present, because he sadly said that he didn't think he's be able to play basketball much longer, as he couldn't move up and down the court as he used to.

My question is, for around $1000, what can we get him? He's a big guy, 6'3" and about 230 Lbs(Not fat, he's just big)....I'm guessing he's going to need a steel frame, so I'm considering the Scattante 2003 R-853 Road Bike for $999.
Please let me know what you think.

Thanks
re: Need a bike for my dadSpoke Wrench
Nov 24, 2002 9:23 AM
From your description of your dad, I think that you should get him a bike that you think looks good from the back.
Huh??Kunfoochi
Nov 24, 2002 11:05 AM
What!? Sorry, I have no idea what you mean:)
I think he means that...KenS
Nov 24, 2002 11:22 AM
your dad is a pretty competitive guy and so you should be prepared to see his backside on rides.

Make sure that you get a bike with a decent component set because it sounds like he might end up doing lots of riding.
I suspect that he means your dad will be a strong rider, soLook381i
Nov 24, 2002 11:26 AM
that his riding buddies will see him mostly from the back.

On the main question, you might want to check Gary Hobbs' inventory and specials at GVHbikes.com.
Viner Competition + Ultegra kit = $1300KenS
Nov 24, 2002 12:09 PM
GVH has frame sizes up to 64 CM in this bike. I assume that your dad is pretty tall. Getting a proper size frame is going to be an important requirement also.
Viner Competition + Ultegra kit = $1300Kunfoochi
Nov 24, 2002 2:06 PM
Oh, I get it....but we don't have "riding buddies," and he's not very competitive in that manner. We really wanted to spend somewhere in the neigborhood of $800-$1000...I'm going to assume nobody likes the Scattante? If it becomes a last resort I guess we could up our budget.

Thanks
Viner Competition + Ultegra kit = $1300geeker
Nov 24, 2002 6:51 PM
Don't know anything about the Scattante, but I ride an 853 frame with oversized downtube and like it.

I'd be concerned about frame stiffness, given your dad's size and athleticism (expect him to be a strong rider). Unless the Scattante has oversized and/or shaped tubing and beefy chainstays, it may be too flexy for him. Same applies to the big steel bikes in GVH's inventory, most of which seem to use thin tubing. I'd look for a pretty sturdy, even overbuilt steel frame. Otherwise, fat-tubed aluminum is popular with big tall guys.
Interesting swap. nmEager Beagle
Nov 25, 2002 6:49 AM
re: Need a bike for my dadgeeker
Nov 25, 2002 9:26 AM
Just noticed that the 2003 Scattante has a) compact geometry; b) low-spoke count (Shimano?) wheels. I'm not sure that compact is the way to go for tall guys (at 6" 2-1/2 with a short torso, that geometry doesn't work for me), so I'd recommend visiting a Supergo shop rather than going mail order. And for a 230 pounder, hand-built 36-spoke wheels (I'm sure GVH would do this, for instance) seem a lot more reliable than boutique wheelsets.
re: Need a bike for my dadKunfoochi
Nov 25, 2002 2:48 PM
Interesting...well I don't have any Supergo shops around here, just cheating LBSs. Anyway, I understand that he's going to need a beefy frame. Question is, what/where can I get a frame for him, with Ultegra, for around $1000? Would the 60cm Caad5 at GVH bikes be ok for him?

Thanks
re: Need a bike for my dadgeeker
Nov 25, 2002 3:52 PM
> what/where can I get a frame for him, with Ultegra, for around $1000?

That's really cheap! It's hard to imagine anything cheaper than that Scattante/Supergo deal. Maybe Iron Horse, who sell mail order and on eBay.

> Would the 60cm Caad5 at GVH bikes be ok for him?

Definitely tough and stiff enough for him. Not sure about the fit. I'm 6'2.5" and would ride a 60cm (Cannondales measure center-to-top), but I have a short torso and prefer a smaller frame with shorter top tube. This means that I have a lot of seat post showing, and have some trouble getting the handlebars high enough (spacers, riser stem).

You could call GVH and ask about the CAAD5 fit, or whether steel frames like the Viner Competition or Basso Gap would be stiff enough. If he'd settle for more of a touring frame, the Jeff Lyons steel frames at GVH (they have a 62cm) look nice and should be tough enough, since they're designed to carry loads.
re: Need a bike for my dadCORONADO FLYER
Nov 28, 2002 12:46 AM
i own an leader LD-780r bike and it is awsome. i use dura ace which i purchased on ebay for $650 for the hole group.

may i recomend Leader Bike USA frames. check them out at www.leaderbikeusa.com

they also have excelent reviews here at road bike review.

i am waiting until one full year to post my review. for now my bike rides excelent. i also own a ti bike but i prefer my leader.