RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Is Ebay devaluing the resale value of bikes and bike parts?(25 posts)

Is Ebay devaluing the resale value of bikes and bike parts?Juanmoretime
Nov 23, 2002 4:17 AM
I'm guilt, Mr. I don't like to pay retail for anything. While I personally love to get a great deal on something I want, who doesn't. I hate to "give something away" that would have had a greater resale value just a couple of years ago selling it via the newspaper or on this site. I used to get very good prices selling roadbike parts on MTBR, my cats offs, before this site was created. I recently listed a toally mint Litespeed frame on this site, no takers. Then listed it on Ebay, it didn't hit the reserve, The price was about 60% of new for a less than 1 year old frame and fork. Finally someone contacted me off my ad on this site and I sold it for the price I was looking to get. Is Ebay ruining the resale value of bicycles and parts? I'm interested in what everone has to say.
I don't think soDaveG
Nov 23, 2002 4:31 AM
My opinion is no. While there are deals to be found on ebay, most stuff seems to go for more than its worth. I was recently bidding on a part that ended up selling for more than the retail price the commercial seller normally advertises it for. Bikes and frames tend to devalue quickly. 60% for a newer, used frame is typical. However, if the frame was truly "mint" as in completely unused, you should do better.
re: Is Ebay devaluing the resale value of bikes and bike parts?rhillrider
Nov 23, 2002 6:27 AM
I've noticed many used parts and components selling for higher than retail on Ebay.
Time of the yearmdo
Nov 23, 2002 6:30 AM
I've found that this time of the year is a great time to buy bike parts, but a horrible time to sell them. They seem to go for roughly 30% less now than come May-September. That being said, Litespeeds, which usually are super strong on ebay, have been really soft lately. A 6mo old 2002 Vortex sat for almost a week before someone bought it with the $1300 buy-it-now price. In september same frame was going for $2200.00. I even thought about buying it & holding it until May: better than the stock market. Some things (Zipp wheels & discs) are always strong. Just depends on what you are looking for.
It's just the opposite,,,eddie m
Nov 23, 2002 6:39 AM
Ebay increases the resale value of bikes in at least two or three ways. First, the seller effectively offers his bike to everyone in the world who wants a bike. This is way better than a garage sale where maybe 2 or 3 people might even recognize a high quality bike. Second, Ebay makes it possible to find obsolete parts, especially French parts, to restore older bikes. Ebay might even lead to an active collector bike market. If your bike didn't get what you expected on Ebay, it's only because nobody wanted it.
I agree completely (nm)irregardless
Nov 23, 2002 7:18 AM
Auction fever hits, parts may sell for more than fair value. (nmSpunout
Nov 23, 2002 6:33 AM
Yeah, that too..nmeddie m
Nov 23, 2002 6:40 AM
WHO CARES? - ebay is great for consumers! thats what mattersraven eye
Nov 23, 2002 6:51 AM
the resale of used stuff if anything is up due to ebay - as you can reach more customers. But look at what it has done to NEW prices! You can buy new wheelsets, RockShoxs, and other stuff for less than mail order. I got a SID TEAM for $450 brand new with warranty! (mail order is like $669) PLUS new road bikes are sold on ebay all the time at close to half retail. I have seen brand new name brand Ultegra bikes go for under $1000 ! And you can get hard to find stuff - I had a friend get a Mercier Brand New with Reynolds frame and reynolds carbon with Shimano 105 for $700. This bike is around $1400 in store - but no store in our area has it and it is as fantastic bike - great finish and ride. -- I think ebay is one place any smart buyer would look before buying and it has certainly been a great place for me to sell off stuff I longer want. EBAY is an asset to everyone - wish I had thought of it!
re: Is Ebay devaluing the resale value of bikes and bike parts?Barton
Nov 23, 2002 7:27 AM
The only thing that determines the value of a bike on ebay is what someone is willing to pay for it.

As someone mentioned before, e-bay provides a seller with a world wide market for his product.

If 200 potential bidders look at a bike and no one offers the reserve, then the reserve is probably too high. It doesn't matter what the seller thinks it is worth.
Welcome to the free marketLeroy
Nov 23, 2002 9:09 AM
where you have exposure to anyone in the world with access to the net. What your frame is worth is what your buyer was willing to pay for it. In this case it worked out for you. There is no causal connection between eBay and the price you want, just as there is no connection between eBay and the price I am willing to pay. Usually when something doesn't sell the seller wants too much. In your case you just happened on the one person in the universe who agreed with your price.
don't forget the recessionkenyee
Nov 23, 2002 9:50 AM
There's been a tech recession for two years. Manufacturing got affected the last year or so. Other parts are starting to feel it now (more layoffs)...
Interestingly enough..Juanmoretime
Nov 23, 2002 10:35 AM
I've received three email's today inquiring if I've sold my Litespeed.
Used bikes/parts have never been worth muchKerry
Nov 23, 2002 1:15 PM
Add to that the introduction of "new" models every year, and the rapid loss in value is even worse. Posting a 3x5 card on the bulletin board at the bike shop used to be about the only way to sell parts - all that eBay has done is to make it clear what stuff is worth.
I don't know, but I recently sold a vintage derailleur for $159 on eBayTig
Nov 23, 2002 1:43 PM
Granted, it was a classic Campy Rally, never used, still in the box. Good Campy stuff always sells well.
I just sold a Thomson Elite stem for $41, which I think was a fair price for both parties considering it was used but in excellent condition.
Undereducated Ebay consumers?teoteoteo
Nov 23, 2002 6:23 PM
I see at points that Ebay is a collecting place for undereducated consumers. Case and point would be two different OCLV 5900 F&F on Ebay last week. They ended within hours of each other and were almost 1450 within 3-4 hours left.

I sell them new at a shop for $1499...scary to think your risking so much.

On the other side I see certain bikes that are good quality for cheap. I have picked up certain models that can resell for a nice profit. Right now I am riding a new '02 Bianchi Reparto Corse, I added a lightly used DA group and new Ksryiums...total investment 1100-1200. I'll ride for 6-8 months and resell.
Undereducated Ebay consumers?TimePedal
Nov 23, 2002 9:33 PM
You sell brand new trek 5900 frame/forks for $1500?? I'd pick one up for that price.
teoteoteo...looking for a 5900 can you help!!!!jvr-oclv
Dec 6, 2002 6:09 AM
I see you can or the shop you work at can get 5900 for around 1499.00. I am looking for a 5900 in 62cm. Do you have a link or shop name so I can call them?
My e-mail address is john.van.riper@dielectric.spx.com
Thanks
John
I'd say the opposite is truegtx
Nov 23, 2002 6:49 PM
check out the prices for DA parts on there. I always figure that frames loose half their value when they roll out the bike shop door, and continue to depreciate from there.
You got what you asked for eventually, right? Then NO. (nm)eyebob
Nov 24, 2002 6:39 AM
Does anyone else see this happen?cydswipe
Nov 24, 2002 7:08 AM
Sellers, who are evidently dealers, post auctions where the first bid is for full retail? I used to see alot of bike auctions where the photo was taken on the showroom floor. Now I see a lot of components with "retail bids". I likje to watch those auctions to see what happens. I would say in some instances eBay raises the resale of some parts. In most, they are worth waht someone wants to pay.
Craigslist is where you find the best prices...LinuxDude
Nov 24, 2002 8:36 AM
Craigslist is where you find the best prices. Plus, most of the sellers live locally, so there is no shipping charge. IF you are short of cash,there you can also trade things, say your computer for a bike.
Craigslist is best for large city dwellers (SF, LA, NYC, Chicago).g
re: Is Ebay devaluing the resale value of bikes and bike parts?jchristopher
Nov 24, 2002 6:04 PM
On the contrary, I find that eBay has INFLATED the resale value of bike stuff.

I often look to eBay first when I need something. More often than not, I leave, frustrated, because the auctions are closing near or at full retail. (not worth the risk!)

This is good for sellers, of course, because your stuff holds value.
Most of the time stuff goes for more than it's worth on Ebay nmgreg n
Nov 25, 2002 6:57 AM
Depends on the bike in my opinion.tamjam
Dec 6, 2002 7:33 AM
A few months ago I wanted to sell my Ibis Ripley MTB. My choices were either Ebay or MTBR classifieds. I listed it for $1,750 in the classifieds, got only one offer, but it was for full asking price. Every Ripley I've seen on Ebay since then has gone for between $1,000 and $1,250. I figured the classifieds were better because the market of potential buyers was small for a Ripley so better to just set a price and wait. If the bike has a large audience, ie, the sort of large production mass produced bike that Bicycling Magazine runs articles on, put it on Ebay and hope to get an auction frenzy going.

I myself got caught in an auction frenzy when I bought my Voodoo 'cross bike recently. They're very hard to find now and it was the exact right size. I paid $800 for the Ti frame and a whole lot of extra parts. Just last week the same frame in a bigger size, with the same extra parts more or less, went for half what I paid. But to me $800 was worth it and I was actually willing to pay even higher.

Ebay has MADE the market for used bikes/parts. I love it even thought it often gets me in trouble!