RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Look 386 or Giant TCR Carbon(10 posts)

Look 386 or Giant TCR Carbonspspinner
Nov 23, 2002 12:17 AM
My second time posting on this site. I finally narrowed my choice down to 2 frames. The Look 386 and the Giant TCR Carbon. My last carbon was a Kestrel and wanted something that fit me better. I have a long torso and short legs. I also found the Trek is to race orientated. Sold my Litespeed and want to go back to carbon and am going to be doing some basic training and some long weekend group rides. Any imput would be appreciated. Thanks
re: Look 386 or Giant TCR CarbonCaptain Morgan
Nov 23, 2002 4:08 AM
In November's Bicycling mag, these two exact bikes were written up as a side-by-side comparison. They gave the nod to the Giant.

I know people trash Bicycling, but I find it decent restroom reading material. See the two page reviews on pages 78-79.
no they werentcollinsc
Nov 23, 2002 9:19 AM
it was the 381i on review
if "Bicycling" is for the restroom, then......mealex
Nov 23, 2002 2:41 PM
.....what road cycling mags would you give the nod to?
Geometry thought ...jtolleson
Nov 23, 2002 11:06 AM
the compact geometry of the Giant is really tailor made for the short legged long torsoed, so that may be a pro. Especially because the slack ST angle of the LOOK also requires a corresponding forward adjustment of the saddle on the rails (for most riders) thus creating a SHORTER effective TT on the LOOK.

Riding both will give you the greatest insight, but my gut reaction would be that the Giant will make more sense.
Bicycling doesn't know crap about bikescxer
Nov 23, 2002 1:19 PM
Their reviews are SO frickin' off the mark it's nuts. The only reason one bike wins over another is the amount of advertising $ they give Bicycling.
They don't even give truthful reviews of performance characteristics. I don't even know if they actually ride the bikes for more than 100 feet.
ALL of their reviews are laughable especially if you have ridden the same bikes they are comparing.
I have raced quite a bit with a couple of the editors.....JS
Nov 23, 2002 9:34 PM
of Bicycling and Mountainbike( Andrew Juskaitis, Jasen Thorpe) and I can say one thing, They ride A LOT more than you and are A LOT faster than you. Just because you don't agree with their reviews (probably because they dogged a bike you spent too much on) doesn't make them wrong. I get really tired of the crap people say about Bicycling, it's like it's cool to be critical of it. If you don't like it don't read it.
I have raced quite a bit with a couple of the editors.....cxer
Nov 24, 2002 10:18 PM
Why would it be cool to be critical of it? People are critical of it because of the lame reviews.
You think Bicycling knows anything about cycling or racing? What was their opinion of JAJA before they ate major crow? Idiots. Period.
Get the KG 381ikgrider
Nov 23, 2002 7:44 PM
I sold my Litespeed for a KG 381 this past summer and I don't regret it one bit. The KG is much more responsive but, just as comfortable on the long rides. When sprinting or standing to climb this thing is a rocket. I have a long torso and run an ergopost all the way back and the fit is spot on.

My $.02
Buy the GiantJD88
Nov 24, 2002 8:16 PM
I have put in a good two months of research on this exact topic as the Look and the Giant along with a Pinarello and a Bianchi where on my list. I have read every article and review I could find along with speaking with numerous retailers (many of whom are riding the giant composite)and everything I've learnt so far points to the giant. The clincher for me came when i rung a retailer and posed as if i was prepared to spend $5000 on a bianchi. As keen as he was to sell me this bike he turned round and told me he was riding the giant and nothing his ever ridden compares. I too am short legged and have found the giant to be a dream ride fast, compliant, stiff and responsive. The look is a heavier bike and i find the lugged frame to be unatractive. Don't believe any hype you may have heard about Giant being too big a manufacturer. If anything their quality control is higher than many of the Italian boutique brands. You may have heard the story of someone braking 5 frames in one season, its an urban myth. Buy the giant you will be blown away buy its capabilities.