RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


bike size for 6'5"(15 posts)

bike size for 6'5"liquidm17
Nov 22, 2002 6:36 AM
hey guys i am a new commer with a few questions. i never really road a road bike up until a few days ago. past experiences where with a gt mountain bike. my question i am i 6'5" and i can bike up a trek 5200 size 54 for a really good deal. i am not looking to riding really long rides most would be about 15 to 20 miles 3 to 5 times a week. i have raod the bike a few times i put the seat it there doesnt seem to be any discomfort expect for my neck. after a few rides it doesnt seem to bother me anymore. so should i take it or not? i figure if i do go for it and i get into it i can always trade it in at a later date.

thanks
james
not even close to correct....C-40
Nov 22, 2002 6:44 AM
If you are 6 feet-5 inches tall, you'll need the one of very largest sizes. I'm 5'-7" tall and would ride a 56cm Trek (which is acutally a 54cm measured center to top).

Read up on fit at www.cyfac-usa.com or coloradocyclist.com.

While your height is an important factor, measuring your cycling inseam is the first step. From there you can determine if you have a proportionately long or short torso for you height.
not even close to correct....Fez
Nov 22, 2002 6:54 AM
Hi C-40,

What's your email? I have a question for you.
That'll be fine..Eager Beagle
Nov 22, 2002 7:02 AM
if you weld another frame on top.

Forget it - you need a far larger frame unless your arms attached just about the hips....
Check this outBigLeadOutGuy
Nov 22, 2002 7:02 AM
I think that frame is way too small. Im 6`4`` and I have a 5500 frame in a size 62. You should be able to get a pretty good fit with a 62. I just landed a new team and bike sponsor and due to contract agreements I cant ride the OCLVs anymore....So if your interested in a frameset or a complete bike email me and well talk. joethesurfpunk@aol.com
re: bike size for 6'5PMC
Nov 22, 2002 7:13 AM
James

If a shop is trying to sell you a 54 cm 5200, run away and don't ever go back.

If you really want a road bike you really should get fitted by a shop. I'm not even going to guess what size you'd need but that isn't it. For a starting point of reference you could try an online fit calculator like the one at http://www.wrenchscience.com/WS1/default.asp
Dittojtolleson
Nov 22, 2002 7:54 AM
Shame, shame, shame on them.

You'll be so scrunched up that your lower back and hands will make you nuts; you'd probably have to jack the seat up waaay past the minimum insertion point (not to mention the 6-7" drop to the bars that would create) and you'd look like that Laugh-in character who rode the tricycle.

Don't do it. There are lots of good properly fitting deals. Keep looking and good luck.
way too small...even with strange proportions (nm)ColnagoFE
Nov 22, 2002 8:16 AM
is 6'5" a typo? otherwise that size is too smallFez
Nov 22, 2002 8:40 AM
re: bike size for 6'5"chuckjg
Nov 22, 2002 9:01 AM
I too am 6'5" and ride a 62cm 5900 and it fits just fine. Definitely stay away from a 54 and a trek 60cm may be a stretch. Spend some time and get the right fit or you'll be selling that bike way to soon and be very uncomfortable riding it.
How to get in the size ball parkharry hall
Nov 23, 2002 9:25 PM
Subtract nine inches from your pants inseam, translate to metric; for me, a 5'9" dwarf, my 32" inseam minus 9 inches leaves me at 23", closest translation is 57cm. Try it; you'll end up close enough to start shopping. 54cm frames work for folks from 5'5" to 5'8".
54 too small by farDaveG
Nov 22, 2002 11:14 AM
That is way too small. Check out some fitting links (www.coloradocyclist.com,www.bsn.com/Cycling/ergobike.html)or buy a decent book on cycling to get some basic fit advice. Measure your inseam and try some of the fit formulas. I am 6'3" and ride a 59cc (61c-t) which is still at the smaller end for me. Unless you have strange proportions I can't see going with anything less than 62c-t. Is this a shop trying to sell a 54? If it is RUN!
54 too small by farliquidm17
Nov 22, 2002 6:37 PM
well no its not a bike shop it is a friend who wanted to sell it to me since they have to go to europe for a while. now they are just going to lend it to me for a few months till she gets back. soi guess i am going to try toraise the handle bars, can i do this myself. if i get into biking i will consider getting a bigger one. thank you forall the replies.

james
Way too small for youpmf1
Nov 22, 2002 1:07 PM
I'm 5'10" and ride a 56 cm.

Here is an ad I stumbled across in the classifieds. Too bad there is no picture -- 67 cm frame.

http://marketplace.consumerreview.com/cgi-bin/classifieds/classifieds.pl?db=Road&website=RoadbikeReview&language=&session_key=&search_and_display_db_button=on&results_format=long&db_id=29001&query=retrieval
Educate yourselfKerry
Nov 22, 2002 2:44 PM
http://www.bsn.com/cycling/ergobike.html
http://www.coloradocyclist.com/BikeFit/index.cfm
http://www.sheldonbrown.com/harart-frames.html
http://www.rivendellbicycles.com/frameinfo/Frame_Sizing.htm
http://www.peterwhitecycles.com/fitting.htm

For adjusting the fit of the bike, there are roughly five starting points:

1. Seat height (top of saddle to center of pedal axle) at 108-110% of inseam.
2. Saddle parallel to ground.
3. Saddle fore/aft adjusted so that a plumb bob from the bony protrusion just below the kneecap passes through the pedal axle when the cranks are horizontal. This is known as KOPS (Knee Over Pedal Spindle)
4. Front hub axle obscured by the handlebars when riding in your "regular" position (drops, hoods, or tops).
5. Top of handlebars 1 to 4.5+ inches below the top of the saddle depending on your flexibility and size.

These are all starting points for "average" proportioned people, and many folks like to move away from these starting points as they learn what makes them more comfortable, powerful, or efficient. You want to get the fit of the frame as close as you can, then do minor adjustments with the stem, seat post, saddle position, etc.