RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


anyone on this forum smoke pot?? i DO NOT, but.......(42 posts)

anyone on this forum smoke pot?? i DO NOT, but.......stik__boy
Nov 21, 2002 4:18 PM
am constantly alarmed @ the number of people that do, and was wondering.
I tried it once, but did not inhale....rwbadley
Nov 21, 2002 4:47 PM
actually, if you are of a certain age there is an approximate 70% probability that you may, ah, have mmmm what was I saying?

Oh right, they say smoking pot effects short term memory. Smoking anything is bad for the heart and lungs, and pot may be more problematic in some ways than cigarettes because of the way the smoke is inhaled and held for a long time.

Legality aside, I think cannabis sativa or indica may have medicinal purpose, and think if someone feels a requirement to smoke it for 'health reasons' they should not be hassled by the govt.

If there is no medical reason, and you like to breathe well and maintain higher performance, I certainly think avoiding use is a better choice. Even worse may be the tendency for pot to sap motivation. Now, if I could just find a reason to get up off this chair...

RW
I made light of a serious topic, I apologize....rwbadley
Nov 22, 2002 5:43 AM
I must have been drunk at the time.

My tongue-in-cheek reply above was meant to illustrate several things. I'll try to keep it brief.

1. Smoking pot will turn healthy pink lungs brown. It will decrease your cardio vascular capacity and effect certain aspects of your mental ability.

2. Smoking pot may have some legitimate use for medicinal purpose. Some will argue this point. The law is not on the side of the consumer.

3. US federal and state law are not pro-consumption of cannabis.

To take these points further:

A man I know had potential as a higher level bike racer. He smoked on a daily basis, and (I believe) this hampered his ability to be competitive. He also was a good bike mechanic, tho' somewhat scatter brained, and sometimes had difficulty remembering to tighten parts correctly on customer's bikes. There may be no link between smoking pot and this but...

A while back, a terminally ill man in a wheelchair was arrested in Nevada and put through the legal wringer. I see no reason why this man should have been persecuted for attempting to ease his suffering.

Recently, a Reno motorcycle officer lost his life due to a traffic accident. He was a twenty+ year veteran and was due to retire. He t-boned a car driven by a twenty three year old girl. The circumstances surrounding this accident showed it may not have been completly her fault. She was not originally cited, but later was found to have had THC in her blood. Now she will be prosecuted by our District attorney, who is known to be highly anti-use. I feel very sorry for the officer, his family and friends. I also feel sorry for the girl and her family to face this excruciating nightmare.

It would appear that pot-smoking will have an effect on a person. The effect it can have is not always positive, and not always negative. Either way, US law is not pro-consumption.

BTW, I have tried it in the past, but found it no longer met my needs or lifestyle. Aging is hard enough on the body without intentionally causing it harm.

RW
re: anyone on this forum smoke pot?? i DO NOT, but.......tremblay
Nov 21, 2002 5:02 PM
I am more alarmed by the people who are addicted to tobacco and alcohol than I am the people who smoke pot. It's difficult to become a pot addict, more difficult than tobacco.

I used to smoke off-and-on, but these days I'm on a health kick so I try to avoid smoking anything, and I try to avoid eating too much.

It's just a recreational drug that people use to relax. I don't think I've met people who haven't smoked it, but then again, I'm from BC, and everyone smokes pot here. It's an everyday thing. I can't believe it's still illegal.
a recipe for disaster...bent_spoke
Nov 21, 2002 5:20 PM
It'd be a "train wreck" waiting to happen. There's too much going on to get lost in a day dream.

I used to smoke some in college, but I wasn't in shape. At times it heighten my awareness, but ususally I was just wasted. I cann't image adding music to that senario.
don't give MasonJ any ideas!deHonc
Nov 21, 2002 5:36 PM
Look out - if MasonJ gets wind of this we're all in trouble!
Great. You invoked the Troll, we'll all suffer now. (nm)Spunout
Nov 22, 2002 4:45 AM
why is the number alarming?collinsc
Nov 21, 2002 6:20 PM
alcohol and tobacco are for more prevalent social issues, and far more damaging.

people become alcoholics or get hooked on nicotine all the time. it f*cks up their lives. there is no such thing as a pot addict. if you think you are addicted it is only psychological, there are no chemical dependencies, no withdrawl issues.

I frankly just dont understand why people care. if youre a pothead the worst harm youll do is to your own lungs while you eat a bunch of chips and pass out on the couch.
Recent surveySnyder
Nov 21, 2002 8:07 PM
I recently did a random survey of 20 students, at a college in the south, and all twenty admitted to having tried pot. 17 of the 20 thought it should be legalized for recreational use. I am not sure how pertinant this is, but with a number that high, and with what I see on a daily basis, I believe pot will be legalized in the next decade.
Recent surveySnakebit
Nov 22, 2002 9:45 AM
I am pretty old by most of your standards and I have never used drugs recreationally. I did drink when I was young and foolish but gave it up when the payback exceeded the pleasure.

I raised three children with varying degrees of success, two functional and one lost to drugs. I am raising two children from that disaster and my oldest son is raising another. My twins are now 17 years old and Marijuana is now a problem. That call in the late evening hours that your child has been arrested for posession is prety devastating.
We are trying to work through it all and I am not sure I will not lose another. Some say it is non adictive, but that is not my experience from a support point of view. do as you please, most of you are very intelligent, but sometimes make stupid choices. Life is full of these opportunities and I have made many of them myself. Think about the people involved who are included in your decision and ask yourself if it is worth it.
Hell Yeah I doMasonJ
Nov 21, 2002 8:20 PM
You can get some good stuff if you know where to look!
Hell Yeah I dosushiken
Nov 21, 2002 9:46 PM
Me Too,
Not a lot, but I do enjoy a relaxing little buzz every now and then. I'm also from B.C., home of the best bud in the world. I really doubt that it would be legalized in the U.S. in the next 10 years. Don't forget there is a war on drugs!
Hell Yeah I dotremblay
Nov 22, 2002 12:47 AM
Funny how us guys from BC have the most liberal opinions on pot.
Naah, just grew it and sold it..... nmcyclequip
Nov 21, 2002 11:46 PM
Aha! An MTB'er from British Columbia I see here ;-) (nm)Spunout
Nov 22, 2002 4:46 AM
our biggest export.. beat out forestry last year... (nm)sctri
Nov 22, 2002 3:14 PM
Huh?speedisgood
Nov 22, 2002 12:08 AM
Only when I race . . .
Nope, never havefbg111
Nov 22, 2002 6:02 AM
or any other drugs for that matter. If I didn't like some wines and some German beers so much, I wouldn't drink either. There are much better ways of stimulating or relaxing yourself than with drugs. Exercise is one.
alcohol is a drug - nmMJ
Nov 22, 2002 6:37 AM
...and very hard on your body at that - nmColnagoFE
Nov 22, 2002 8:27 AM
Did I say I drink a lot? No. nmfbg111
Nov 22, 2002 8:46 AM
maybe I should have said illegal drug/narcotic, or somethingfbg111
Nov 22, 2002 8:47 AM
like that.
Forgetting is necessary.Recently read "The Botany of Desire"128
Nov 22, 2002 6:12 AM
by M.Pollen, kinda boring but the chapter on mj was very interesting. Below is the basic idea.....(and apparently there is recent research that cannibinoids mimic a natural brain function which inhibits memory, like "the zone" when you ride, you're in the moment and life just is. No past, no present, no tension between the two...etc. The brain "needs" to forget else be overwhelmed.

Here Pollan puts some point to his blade: The old capitalist-based Protestant religions that shaped our nation. What does marijuana do? Takes you out, makes you more in the moment, encourages an exploration of consciousness, expands the horizon of thought (or minute details into a new horizon), causes short term memory loss, takes a bite out of constant material concerns and yearnings, and, worst of all, like sex, or meditation or (ha, ha) art, disrupts the need to control the ever-numbing future tense/past tense fear that precludes the here and now in a bath of perpetual worry.

Bring on the Judeo-Christian concept of monotheism. Pot tends to open up to pantheism, even paganism; a Blakeian universe in a grain of sand vs. the promise of heaven to come (or hell to pay). Apollo vs. Dionysus once again. Where do the work ethic and reward-later concepts fit, the capitalist approach, into the grain of sand view? It doesn't, and there is the conflict. It boils down, too, to the Freudian (here anti-) pleasure principle: "More even than most plant drugs, cannabis, by immersing us in the present and offering something like fulfillment here and now, short-circuits the metaphysics of desire on which Christianity and capitalism (and so much else in our civilization) depend."

But for Pollan, a gardener, the main thrust is that the garden, here intoxicating, reflects a place both earthbound and transcendent. God thrust Adam and Eve out of Eden because they ate of the tree of knowledge, and they had then to toil in pain far away from generous, pleasurable nature. It's been a rough climb for the case of nature and pleasure ever since. "...for civilization seems bent on breaking or at least forgetting our connection to the earth."
Groovy commentary, man...Fredrico
Nov 22, 2002 2:04 PM
That's where it's at. Where can I get some?

Have you read Norman O. Brown's Life Against Death? He lays it all out in Freudian terms, what you're saying. Religions have been attempts to get back to the Garden of Eden, psychotropic drugs shortcuts to "fullfillment here and now." The culture of desire is all tied up with transferring erotic impulses onto objects. Cars and bikes come to mind, as does money and all material wealth.

Be cool.

Fredrico
smoke or smokED????? big difference nmK-Man
Nov 22, 2002 7:09 AM
nm
Drugs are for weak peopleRoadrunner25
Nov 22, 2002 7:25 AM
I don't smoke, drink , or do drugs.

I treat my body the way it is supposed to be treated.
don't smoke, don't drink - what do you do? - nmMJ
Nov 22, 2002 7:34 AM
Here, here! (nm)czardonic
Nov 22, 2002 9:17 AM
The nice thing about drugs is...Ray Sachs
Nov 22, 2002 10:41 AM
they allow people who DON'T do them to feel superior to those who do, and they allow people who DO them to feel superior to those who don't. I was a pretty heavy pot smoker about 25 years ago. One of my favorite slogans of the day turned around the old "drugs are for people who can't handle reality" with "REALITY IS FOR PEOPLE WHO CAN'T HANDLE DRUGS". There - everyone gets to look down on the other guy and feel good about themselves.

I personally found pot to be pretty harmless (I mostly ate it - rarely smoked), particularly back in the early and mid 70s before it got really strong. I could function quite well with a minor buzz in those days. Then the growers figured out how to cross-breed and it got real difficult to combine being high with functioning in the world.

Aside from a couple of tokes at a concert about 7-8 years ago, I haven't touched the stuff in over 20 years.

-Ray
I agree with your observations totally...RhodyRider
Nov 22, 2002 12:40 PM
Pot seems to have been turbocharged since I was a (regular!) user in college, c. 1983-87. Back then, I found dope to be a predictably good, mellow, fun buzz. I could do most anything while "under the influence": study, appreciate things, even perform reasonably at athletic endeavours.
Now...
I decided to smoke a bit at a party back in May, and took probably four hits off a dry pipe being passed around. Within 15 minutes (or so it seemed) I was completely off my rocker, stoned to the bejeezus, basically tripping out. From pot! Honestly, it was the most intense rush I'd ever experienced, from anything. I know the guy who supplied it, I trust him, and he swears it wasn't laced or anything. Just GOOD stuff. All the other folks who smoked that night are regular smokers, I was the only one who'd not smoked in many a moon (years). They did NOT react like I did.
My oh my, how times change. It was wheelchair weed, for sure. And made me realize, pot's not for me anymore, in my 37-year-old dotage; I'll stick with single-barrel bourbon! :-))
What Federal Agency did you say you work for?.... (nm)pben
Nov 22, 2002 7:32 AM
Not in yearsjtolleson
Nov 22, 2002 7:56 AM
I'd lie if I said I didn't in college and some in law school. Funny, as my life has changed I am not even around the stuff.

If reality were based on my mere perceptions, it seems like NO ONE smokes pot any more. Of course, I know that isn't true, so it really just reflects that I'm in a different segment of society.

I'm not particularly interested anymore, and I wouldn't risk my ticket (law license) on it.
why are you alarmed?ColnagoFE
Nov 22, 2002 8:24 AM
do you worry about beer drinkers and cigarette smokers too? i'd classify either of those habits as bad or worse for your body as smoking the occasional weed.
Odd question....joekm
Nov 22, 2002 8:25 AM
While I don't have any real expertise, the first thing that pops to mind is that to inhale any smoke (pot or tobacco) would expose your lungs to carbon monoxide. As I understand it, your red blood cells will pick up carbon monxide in a attempt to eliminate it (as they do with carbon dioxide) but won't be able to because the carbon monoxide can make a much stronger bond. That blood cell is now unable to deliver oxygen to your body.

Seems to me that, in a sport that requires good oxygen utilization ability, this would not be a good habit.

OTOH - I understand the pipes and cigars are not inhaled (and there is chewing tobacco/snuff). Can't really say for sure that they would have the same effect as actually drawing the stuff into your lungs.
instead, try eating...chrisbaby
Nov 22, 2002 9:11 AM
..yummy hash brownies !
AgreedUncleMoe
Nov 22, 2002 9:19 AM
Its amazing how different of a feeling it is. Just don't do what I did. A few years a go my roomate and her friend made some. I got home from work around 5:00 pm and they offered some. At first I was like, noooo. Then I thought I'd try it and I asked how much I should eat. They said they had two and that was perfect.

So I ate two.

An hour later the buzz kept coming and coming and coming. SO I asked them if they really had two. They said ya, but we started at 1:00 and had a half of one every hour, not all at once.

Quite a night. I was watching Seinfeld and simply had to go to bed at 8:15. None of the joke made sense, I thought my heart was going to explode outta my chest. I awaoke at 5:30 the next morning for work, still stoned. I got to work and a coworker took one look at me and asked quietly, "Sh!t man, did you light up a doob on the way to work"?
Very well, but.....joekm
Nov 22, 2002 9:20 AM
If your going to be in a paceline with me after eating those things, just stay off my rear wheel OK :)
Smoking during a ride...outofthesaddle
Nov 22, 2002 8:54 AM
This spring, at the Davis Double Century I saw a guy sparking up at a check point about 160 miles into the ride. I saw the same guy at the finish so I know he made it. He was pretty fast too. I was amazed.
I can't do hat.UncleMoe
Nov 22, 2002 9:15 AM
I can smoke a bit before going surfing. That is maybe the only sport I could do high. I have a buddy who I used to MTB with and he always smoked before a ride. He was also very slow. I tried it once before a ride and never felt comfortable.

I have no problem lighting up after a ride. It should be legalized. Then the gov't can regulate it, tax it, sell permits to grow it.
Why do you ask?grzy
Nov 22, 2002 11:07 AM
What's really amazing is the difference in people's ability to handle the stuff. Some are useless after a few hits while others are still amazing riders after several phat joints - I kid you not. Living in Santa Cruz I get to see it all. I know people who are Masters level road racers that place at the national level who light up and free riding MTBers that can clean stuff doing a wheelie stoned that I won't even walk across straight. It's best not to be too righteous and get all judgemental unless you're talking about someone who obviously has an addiction problem and isn't functioning in society. For all of those that flat out put it down, you'd be pretty surprised if you truly knew all of your friends that partake. Might as well ask about people's sexual prefrences. Ultimately you need to ask yourself who's life is it anyway?

To answer your question I've been known on occasion to enjoy a little bit of mother nature on rides.
re: anyone on this forum smoke pot?? i DO NOT, but.......aliensporebomb
Nov 22, 2002 1:37 PM
Nope.

Never wanted it anywhere near me.

Hate the hideous way it smelled at concerts I attended.
Expensive.
Illegal.

No point in it. It would prevent me from buying bike,
guitar and music stuff - i'd rather spend my cash on
that.

Besides, the meditation I get from riding or playing music
is a high of itself.

For me, no. For others - do what you gotta.
Rarely any more, unless offered . . .Steve98501
Nov 22, 2002 5:59 PM
Used it a bit during the 60s and 70s until I began a family. Roughly 80% of my generation is estimated as having used pot.

I think it's rediculous that our government still wages its losing drug war. The U.S. recently spent $23 billion a year fighting drugs compared to, say, $13 billion for the NASA space program. A few years ago the New Republic reported that more was spent per year on the war on drugs than was spent actually buying and using drugs (a crudely estimated comparison, of course).

If it was up to me, I'd legalize pot and every other drug. Prohibiting drugs has been nearly a complete failure. I think we'd be better off as a nation spending some on drug education and rehabilitation and let people decide for themselves. They do anyway. It would save billions and about half the people in prisons on the public dole would be out in society.

Making drugs illegal is good for two interest groups: those who engage in drug traffic and the DEA and other law enforcement p!ssing away public funds pretending to fight drug use. Legalizing drugs would put these two groups out of business, not to mention a near-complete elimination of all the crime that is perpetrated to support drug use and trafficing. Legal drugs would be so cheap that the enormous profits of the illegal drug trade would disappear. Legitimate companies (guess how tobacco companies would diversify) would supply it and compete to market high quality dope at discount pricing - you could get it as Costco. Of course, if drugs were legal, would they still be as attractive to so many people?

Guess I've strayed a bit from the original question.