RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


HowTo? Do a track stand?(8 posts)

HowTo? Do a track stand?gnailuh
Nov 19, 2002 6:18 PM
Always wanted to learn this... saw a guy doing this weekend on a ride... he was very good, standing almost still on flat road.

What's the best way to start learning this trick?

Thanks.
Re: HowTo? Do a track stand?czardonic
Nov 19, 2002 6:33 PM
These explanations are taken from trials oriented sites, but the principles are the same:

http://www.biketrials.com/how-to/index.shtml#trackstand
http://www.trials-online.com/techniques_b1.html

If it helps, I try to let my focus drift into the middle-distance, as you might do while juggling. It is one of those things that is easier to do if you do if you let your body sense what corrections to make. If that sounds a bit loony, you'll see what I mean when you realize how tempting it is to over-correct.
Practice, practice, practice...laffeaux
Nov 19, 2002 6:33 PM
At each intersection you come to try to stand on the pedals as long as you can. It's best to start out by unclipping, and having your unclipped foot on the pedal. Keeping the front wheel moving (ever so slowly) is the key to learning. It's a bit easier to do when going up a slight incline, as you can gently role forward and back allowing the front wheel to move. Otherwise, it's just practice and good balance.
Practice, practice, practice...gybeho
Nov 19, 2002 7:31 PM
I practiced in a steep drive way for a while until I got the hang of it. Turn the front wheel uphill and let the bike rock back and forth a bit and walah... This is the BEST way in the world to blow peoples minds at an intersection. I get goofy looks of bewilderment every time:) Plus, chicks dig it..........
re: HowTo? Do a track stand?dave woof
Nov 19, 2002 7:36 PM
use tennis shoes - and practice in grass on a slight incline. I get a lot of comments like 'good balance' and stuff from people. Keeps drivers from being pissed that I am taking up the lane at a light....

Dave
re: HowTo? Do a track stand?Kami
Nov 19, 2002 8:52 PM
Most people who ask me this, I tell them to go watch a roadie. They usually have a strange look on their face. Roadie??? But anyway, that's what you're doing, isn't it? =)

Well, since you're a roadie, I guess I should tell you to go watch a trials rider. I'm both, so I'll throw in my two cents.

First, find a hill. Point your bike up it, turn your wheel slightly, and apply gentle but steady pressure on your forward foot. Just enough to keep you in one place. DON'T lock your brakes! Instead, just feather them as best you can. Just enough to keep you in one place, but still able to rock the bike. After a little bit of practice on the hill, you should be able to slowly push the bike forwards with your pedal, then slowly let it roll backwards again. It's all about practice.

Once you get good on that hill, find another hill with less of a slope. Do the same thing until you're comfortable on that hill. Eventually move onto flat ground, still letting your bike roll back and forth to keep your balance. Practice, practice, practice.

Before long, you'll be a pro! Oh, and go check out those sites that were already posted. They have some good tips.
use the force luke.Frith
Nov 20, 2002 7:27 AM
seriously that's what it feels like when you start doing it. You stop thinking about it and let your body and natural instinct do the work.
RE: TrackstandsIronbutt
Nov 20, 2002 6:53 PM
Interestingly, this riding skill is named for what it is: a specialized riding technique that is reserved for the velodrome. It looks cool, and the other riders who can't do it will be in awe, but it should be reserved for the track. There are too many other things to concern yourself with when stopped in traffic than to risk falling over in front of an SUV being driven by someone concentrating on their cell phone conversation more than operating a motor vehicle.

That being said, on the track bike on the track, it's not all that hard and most track riders can do it almost indefinitely.