RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Polar Performance software users....(17 posts)

Polar Performance software users....SS_MB-7
Nov 19, 2002 11:32 AM
I'm using a Polar S-710 HRM with the accompanying Performance software and IR transmitter.

During a 55:00 minute Spinning class today at lunch, I had my monitor set for Limit 1 to be 138-158, which corresponds to 70-80% of my max heart rate (198 BPM). After the class, I downloaded the results to my PC and analyzed the results.

According to the monitor, I spent 38:15 in Limit 1 and 16:45 above Limit 1. However, according to the software "Distribution" and "HR Zone Summary" options, I spent 56.7% (31:15) between 70-80% and 43.3% (23:50) in between 80-90%. Can you please explain these results?



Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Damn! Thats cool!, I gotta get one of those!K-Man
Nov 19, 2002 12:27 PM
Who sells them at a discount?

KMan
Thought you'd like that....SS_MB-7
Nov 19, 2002 12:54 PM
I thought you'd like that being the techno-weenie that you are....like me ;)

I got it from my LBS that I race for. It wasn't cheap. MSRP on the monitor is $429CDN and the required IR interface is $60CDN....total = $489CDN (~$300US)....I received the HRM and interface at cost.

Just do a Google search on Polar S-710 and there will be tons of on-line shops you can buy them from. Heartratemonitors.com has it for $261US (not including the interface), as does Colorado Cyclist.





Ride Hard,
Mike B.
ThanksK-Man
Nov 20, 2002 7:19 AM
I have a request into Polar about trying to get a team sponsorship....we'll see.

KMan
Damn! Thats cool!, I gotta get one of those!frankamo
Nov 19, 2002 12:59 PM
I picked one up from clevertraining.com for $260 and it included the IR interface.

I love it!
E-bay is blowing them out...biknben
Nov 19, 2002 1:24 PM
I recently got the HRM + Cadence + IR Interface for $290US shipped.

There were even better deals if you just wanted the HRM. The S-710 can be had for $190-$220 if you're a good sniper.
re: Polar Performance software users....divve
Nov 19, 2002 1:49 PM
Right click the graph and set the "HR Limits.." to correspond with the Transmitter. By the looks of it Limit 2 is set incorrectly at 80-240, therefore the discrepancy.
I stand corrected....divve
Nov 20, 2002 2:38 AM
I now see that you haven't switched Limits in the software so my first answer doesn't apply.

After some checking between my monitor and the software data I also see a few discrepancies. However, mine are related to the total time not quite corresponding with the software. Therefore the resulting time differences in the software HR Zone Summary. The maximum error I've found so far is about 10 seconds during an almost 4 hour ride. Nothing in the range of minutes like yours. I think this is well with-in the operating limits of a Polar sporting device.

I'd say give it a few more exercises and make sure you have the latest software version from their website http://www.polar.fi. If the problem still persists you might have a defective unit....or something:)
Some additional info....divve
Nov 20, 2002 2:51 AM
In the software HR Zone Summary screen do you have "HR Limits" selected (right click mouse to view setting)? That's the only parameter that will directly correspond to the time in the S710 unit summary. The "Thresholds" and "HR Zones" options found in the same pope-up menu aren't related. Those results depend on settings that you enter into the Person Properties (Options menu).
Yes, in HR Zone Summary, HR limits is selected...SS_MB-7
Nov 20, 2002 4:48 AM
First off, thanks for you help. I've sent Polar in Canada and the US an email. Polar in Canada was very quick to reply and forwarded my email to a technician at Polar's headquarters in Finland.

Yes, in HR Zone Summary, HR limits is selected and has the following graph.



But, when reviewing the same file in my HRM using the File option in the watch, the following is displayed:
InZone 1 - 00:38:15
Above 1 - 00:16:45
Below 1 - 00:00:00

I'm not sure why Limits 2 and 3 are showing 80-240 on the HR% vs Time curve. According to my Exercise Set 2 (E2), Limits 2 and 3 are both "OFF" and Limits 1 is set to 138-158. I would have assumed that Limits 2 and 3 should be blank. At any rate, I don't believe this to be the problem.

The version of Polar Performance software I am using is 3.02.007. According to the Polar Support website, the latest version is 3.03.013 (updated Sept 25, 2002). I'm not sure if this will have any impact on the issue I'm having.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Yes, in HR Zone Summary, HR limits is selected...divve
Nov 20, 2002 6:19 AM
Hi Mike,

Looks like everything is set-up correctly. I'm out of ideas as well. Regarding the Limits 2 & 3 in the HR Curve table, you can hide them by double clicking the graph. At the bottom of the pop-up you'll see Limits 1-2-3 checked, just un-check the ones you don't want to see. Next, click on the Advanced tab in the same pop-up and check Save Settings on Exit. This will ensure that the Limits stay hidden the next time you open a new exercise.

BTW, Limits set in your HRM don't necessarily translate to the software graph. Also, when your HRM switches to another Limit the software doesn't automatically process it. You'll have to go in and edit the HR Limits Swap manually so everything matches up. IMO Polar sort of dropped the ball here. Hopefully they'll add this feature in a future software or HRM firmware update.

Regards,
david
Well, it appears the upgrade worked....SS_MB-7
Nov 20, 2002 6:24 AM
I just upgraded my Polar Performance software and the HR Zone Summary now matches (within 5s) what my watch has.



Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Good to hear it was an easy fix :) nm.divve
Nov 20, 2002 6:40 AM
Question for SS_MB_7 and other Polar usersTrekFurthur
Nov 20, 2002 10:45 AM
I just picked up a 710 (haven't been able to get the proper interface, so no cool graphs yet); I popped over and checked out Polar's site. Have any of you tried the Polar Performance Trainer website? What are your thoughts? Do I need it if I'm using the software, or would it give me even more options? Thanks in advance.
Never even knew about the Personal Trainer option...SS_MB-7
Nov 20, 2002 11:28 AM
Thanks. I never even knew about the Polar Personal Trainer option. I'm going through it right now.

Ride Hard,
Mike B.
Question for SS_MB_7 and other Polar usersdivve
Nov 20, 2002 12:09 PM
Personally, I haven't found much practical use for it. It's basically an exercises diary with a preset training program based on your personal profile. For the remainder you can find a collection of articles, tips, and some calculators such as BMI, Cal, Fitness Index, etc.
So, no better, no worse?TrekFurthur
Nov 21, 2002 7:01 AM
. . . than any of the other logs I'm using? Of note, the competitive option does not set up a training program based on your profile--they figure you've already got one that you can enter in.