RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


lookin for american flyers and breaking away?(11 posts)

lookin for american flyers and breaking away?Carbon fiber fanatik
Nov 17, 2002 11:54 AM
Found them both on moviesunlimited.com for $8.99 each.
Just thought I would share that with you guys..
re: lookin for american flyers and breaking away?The Human G-Nome
Nov 17, 2002 12:20 PM
speaking of bicycle movies, anyone know where to find Hugo's Magic Pump?
re: lookin for american flyers and breaking away?regulajo
Nov 17, 2002 12:57 PM
American Flyers on DVD $10.59 and VHS $9.99 Breaking Away on DVD for 14.49 both at www.Overstock.com
Thanks CFF, just ordered them both! My Christmas is coming! nmMVN
Nov 17, 2002 6:32 PM
Thanks CFF, just ordered them both! My Christmas is coming! nmRatite_Power
Nov 18, 2002 1:25 AM
I must apologize in advance to any "American Flyer" or "Breaking Away" fans, but I am incapable of pulling my punches when it comes to miserably gawd-awful cinematic stool samples such as these. I mean true, bike movies are few and far-between (dare I say nonexistent?) yet must we lower ourselves to the pathetic, grovelling aesthetic filth of late-seventies, nast-eighties crap??!! I mean c'mon people...at least get Pee-Wee's Big Adventure if ya want a bike movie. Breaking Away and American Flyers make me genuinely sad to be a part of the American cultural fabric. They are essentially unwatchable. Gorgeous loads of stinking feces. Don't do it, man. Sit in front of 2001, or Apocalypse Now, or even Blade Runner if you must (it has some bicycles in in) but don't slice off your aesthetic appreciation appendages. Fer cryin out loud.
Thanks CFF, just ordered them both! My Christmas is coming! nmCarbon fiber fanatik
Nov 18, 2002 2:58 AM
I can't help but wonder.. When was the last time I saw a "gorgeous? load of stinking feces".

Although your dialogue driven banter was entertaining, One gets tired of watching the same old tour videos over and over while stuck on a trainer during the nasty winters in northern Michigan. Oh yeah, I already have the other movies you mentioned.
Thanks CFF, just ordered them both! My Christmas is coming! nmjtolleson
Nov 18, 2002 12:50 PM
That seems a little harsh. I'd basically agree about American Flyers which is melodramatic high school drama level, but Breaking Away is a funny, poignant Oscar nominee and in my book, a damn good movie. It looks dated now (and that's reasonable enough) but I don't think the two flicks can be lumped together.
Thanks CFF, just ordered them both! My Christmas is coming! nmCarbon fiber fanatik
Nov 18, 2002 7:00 PM
actually, i dont think i was being harsh at all.. opinions are always welcome. I was just responding to an opinion that i recieved. IMHO? Cycling isn't just a past time, not just a sport. It became a part of my life a very long time ago and fortunately for cyclists, there are a billion different ways of expression. Gimmie a copy of breaking away.. goofy movie? yeah, prob so.. but at least it beats the %$&@ out of watching a lot of other different movies that plain ole suck. I think tomorrow nite while stuck on the trainer inside, ill toss in quicksilver.
Thanks CFF, just ordered them both! My Christmas is coming! nmMVN
Nov 18, 2002 8:50 PM
To each his own. I grew up in the 70's and 80's. Those are the times I remember and love. If you don't like them, so be it. I have all of the movies you mentioned (except Pee-Wee's Big Adventure) and watch them occasionally. You may consider the bike movies unwatchable, but not me. I like the race scenes, and I like looking at the older bikes. I can find things I like in just about any movie. I might add, I never was a fan of Pee-Wee Herman or his movie. That movie was drivel, couldn't find one redeeming feature.
My post was intended for Ratite_Power, not jtolleson (nm)MVN
Nov 18, 2002 8:57 PM
re: lookin for american flyers and breaking away?aliensporebomb
Nov 18, 2002 12:39 PM
I second the recommendation regarding Pee Wee's big
adventure - mainly because you find out the amazing
fact that his bicycle is stored in the basement of
the Alamo.

Okay, maybe not.

Yes, "breaking away" has some embarassing parts to it but
it's not nearly as bad as "Manos, The Hands of Fate", which
is probably the worst movie I've ever seen. I actually like
parts of "breaking away".

Never saw American Flyers though.

I liked "Beijing Bicycle" which would definetely appeal to
anyone who's suffered to keep their bike against all odds.