RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Check out the welds on this Colnago CT1(13 posts)

Check out the welds on this Colnago CT1Fignons_ponytail
Nov 15, 2002 5:52 PM
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1583302750

Not to bash Colnago (the C40 is still my dream frame), but those are some ugly welds.
re: Check out the welds on this Colnago CT1swvegg
Nov 15, 2002 7:27 PM
I always thought that the Colonago "craftsmenship" was way the hell overrated. Ugly welds, sloppy use of epoxy on the C40, running paint on the CT1, are all examples proving how overpriced those things are. You shouldn't have those kind of things happening on frames of those prices.
re: Check out the welds on this Colnago CT1DERICK
Nov 15, 2002 9:19 PM
I don't know if the welds are crappy or if it is the photo. Between the bike being dirty and the flash reflecting back it's really hard to tell. I do think he is asking too much and wouldn't buy something like that from someone with no feedback.
I have said the same thing about the CT1Lazywriter
Nov 15, 2002 9:35 PM
for the longest time and get crap for giving an opinion. Horrible QC on these frames time and again. This frame built up with high end components is over $4000 retail. Not even close in quality and workmanship to a Litespeed or Seven. However, I hear from their owners that these CT1s ride nicely. It is about the ride but aesthetics should matter at this level.
I have said the same thing about the CT1irregardless
Nov 15, 2002 10:44 PM
I have a Litespeed Ultimate and a CT1 and the ride of the Ultimate doesn't even compare to the CT1. Maybe you should worry a little less about the aesthetics of a ride you don't own but that owners agree is superb and well worth the price.
See this is why you people annoy theLazywriter
Nov 15, 2002 11:15 PM
sh#$ out of me. I said that the CT1 rides well and that it is about the ride and less about the aesthetics, but why doesn't Colnago pay a little more attention to detail and make everyone happy. Your CT1 to Ultimate comparison is like comparing a touring coupe to a race car. The Ultimate is a different breed and not suppose to ride like the CT1. Bottom line, the CT1 is a inferior Russian ti bike made by a bunch of gaudy guineas who have contempt for American consumers and send the crappy frames to the U.S.. Truth hurts, doesn't it?
See this is why you people annoy theirregardless
Nov 15, 2002 11:37 PM
The truth? The truth is it rides like a dream. Personally, buy it for the ride even if it had bubble gum for welds. And I can't tell the difference between Russian Ti and American Ti by riding a frame, can you? Except to say that this bike rides better than any other I've ever ridden, and I've ridden a few ther Ti frames (Litespeed, Merckx, Serotta, Merlin). Will that change your opinion? Probably not. But I really don't understand why you appear to be so obsessed about the aesthetics of a frame you don't even own or care to own. So what if the welds don't look great (mine do, by the way)? If you're not buying one for $4000, but the people who do love it, who are you to say it's not worth the price?
Damn Lazy, for once I agree with you! nmgogene
Nov 16, 2002 9:38 AM
i always find you in the middle of somethingishmael
Nov 16, 2002 10:52 PM
thats what I come here for...wait, am I angry at you..have you offended me too..probably..
Are you getting what you paid for?Duke249
Nov 16, 2002 9:03 AM
Basically, I believe the argument is that if you're paying a premium price for a (perceived) premium product, you expect very high quality. Think of it this way: if you were to buy a brand new BMW M3 and it is constantly rattling, or the body panels don't line up just perfectly, you'd most likely be upset. You're paying for what you consider a top end product and you expect everything to be done right with quality. While the car may be the best money can buy, you expect perfection, not poor construction.
Picture is blurred...Uncle Tim
Nov 16, 2002 9:28 AM
That photo is such poor quality that I can make no judgment about the welds.

I have a riding buddy who loves his CT1 and, as someone who can actually weld, I can testify that the welding on the bike is sound both structrually and aestetically. Personally, I really like the welds I see on Litespeeds, but that doesn't mean that the Colnago Ti welds aren't good, too.
re: Check out the welds on this Colnago CT1desmo
Nov 16, 2002 10:38 AM
Could be a throwback Italian thing. I know a guy who bought a Ferrari GTO in the early 60's. Although the performance of the car was far beyond anything else on the road he could not get over how sloppily some of it was put together. When he asked the man at the dealership why the window crank kept falling off, the straight-faced old Italian told him, "hey, you wanna go fast, or you wanna roll down the window". Not what most people want to hear, but some of us are still suckers for "character". The welds on my Ducati are ugly too, but that in no way makes we want to run out and buy a Honda.
Terrible photo, ast least on my screen.djg
Nov 16, 2002 7:51 PM
I cannot tell whether the crap around the joint is really an appallingly sloppy weld or just an artifact of the photo.

In any case, it doesn't look remotely like any CT1 I've seen, and I've seen more than a few. Maybe some really are just much worse than others. Or maybe it's the pic.