RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


mtn biking in Moab, Utah(10 posts)

mtn biking in Moab, Utahsilroadbike
Nov 15, 2002 9:24 AM
Has anyone ever been mtn biking in the Moab? Are there beginners bike trails and are they easy to find and follow?
never heard of itmohair_chair
Nov 15, 2002 9:37 AM
There are some good trails for lower level riders. I'm not sure what "beginner" means to you. A complete novice will probably not have much fun in Moab.

Off the top of my head I can think of a few rides for beginners:

Hurrah Pass (peek into Canyonlands National Park)
Klondike Bluffs (taste some slickrock, peek into Arches National Park)
Monitor and Merrimac (sand, sand, sand)
Poison Spider Mesa (out and back - don't do Portal!)
Gemini Bridges (fairly easy if you use a shuttle)

Do Slickrock, too. You'll probably walk some of it, but you can't go to Moab with a bike and not do Slickrock.

Everything else I can think of I would rate intermediate and above. The best trail in town is Porcupine Rim, but you'll need some technical skills to survive it unless you want to walk a lot. If I were you, I'd set Porcupine as my goal for the week. Ride the stuff above which has minor technical sections, build up your confidence on techincal, then go for it on Porcupine on the last day. Real men don't shuttle Porcupine, but (no slight intended) you might consider it as a beginner.

Check out the sister site, http://www.mtbreview.com/. Click on the Trail Reviews section
A wide variety of trails around Moab.Brooks
Nov 15, 2002 9:38 AM
Pick up one of the trail maps at Poison Spider bikes (or one of the other shops). A number of the beginner trails are used by off-road vehicles so they aren't necessarily single track. But they are easy to find and follow. The Practice Loop at Slickrock gives you a feel for riding on grippy sandstone. Two Bridges trail north of town is good although it's a hump at the start. Depending on the time of year that you are going, the weather can be great or really hot (summer).
Have fun!
Brooks
What do you call beginner...biknben
Nov 15, 2002 10:18 AM
I went there with a biginner/intermediate rider this year and was surprised by how much trouble he had. The first day we went on the Slick Rock Trail and it became very apparent he had a fear of heights. We were there for 4 days and he struggled in a lot of places.

There are trials that suit beginners as pointed out above. The place as a whole isn't appropriate for biginners.
yes & not really..._rt_
Nov 15, 2002 11:00 AM
yes i've ridden Moab: Klondike Bluffs, Porcupine Rim, Poison Spider, looked at but didn't have the guts to even walk Portal....

how beginner is beginner? there's a lot of climbing, sand, and rocks. i'd guess that Slickrock trail would be as close to beginner as you're going to get in that area (but i've never ridden it, so i can't really say from experience).

i'd definately avoid Porc Rim & Poison Spider. they are not for the faint of heart.

Poison Spider in March '99 (i'm in yellow)


rt
Plenty of trails for beginnersRickC5
Nov 15, 2002 11:41 AM
Not to reiterate what the others have already told you, but you can find a multitude of trails that are suitable for beginners. Buy some maps and ask some questions. You'll be fine.

One tip: If you decide to try the Slickrock Trail, just be prepared to say "no thanks" and return to the parking lot. Its tougher that it looks, IMHO.
re: mtn biking in Moab, Utahirregardless
Nov 15, 2002 11:42 AM
There are some great recommendations here. But be careful with Slickrock. If you are such a beginner that you don't know how to descend steep sections either fast or slowly using only your back brake, don't do Slickrock or you'll kill yourself.
AMEN! brotherRickC5
Nov 15, 2002 2:10 PM
I've been riding mtn bikes since 1982, and I REALLY don't care for the Slickrock Trail. It was designed and laid out by a Moab off-road MOTORCYCLE club. I first rode it when mtn bikes had NO suspension. I rode it again last year on a full-suspension bike. Better, but that trail REQUIRES skills that most people just don't have. I saw numerous crashes and lots of people with "sanded-off" body parts (road rash from petrified sand) limping back to the parking lot. There are so many other trails around Moab that I doubt I will ever bother to ride it again. Just not worth it to me.
AMEN! brotherirregardless
Nov 15, 2002 10:53 PM
I agree that it's very dangerous for beginners as well as experienced riders who have never ridden it before. The pitches are ungodly steep. Special skill is required to keep your front end down and your cadence smooth going uphill, and descending can be deadly for the inexperienced, particularly because the trail isn't smooth at the bottom of each dip. It's also the most tiring trail I have ever been on. Full attention is required all the time, and you are either over your handlebars ascending or off your seat descending all the time.
AMEN! brothersilroadbike
Nov 18, 2002 10:45 AM
I am not a technical rider. I have the endurance as I am a bike rider. Does anyone know any trails near the Lizard Hostel? I will be riding to the trails?