RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TN(29 posts)

Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:00 PM
The leaves are pretty so I took my camera for a ride yesterday. A little 30 mile course I ride once a month or so. I have been afraid to take my camera out of fear of breaking it. Hopefully I will be able to talk myself into riding with it more often. Perhaps on the R & R rides.

Out of Chattanooga, I head north along the base of Signal Mountain and Walden's Ridge. A severly steep road, Robert's Mill Road, makes it's way up Walden's Ridge; I wish the pictures did it justice. At the top, I make my way back south, along the top of the ridge, then make my way back to town by the "W" Road.

Happy riding,
Mike
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:05 PM
The steepest section is near the base of the climb. If you look closely at the upper right side of the picture you can make out just how steep it is.
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:08 PM
After the first curve it eases a bit but it is still steeper than any other road I've ridden around here. I can say I stopped just to snap this picture. . . I was really resting though.
yay, more wallpaper!(nm)rufus
Nov 15, 2002 9:21 AM
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:10 PM
Further up, looking back down. Even with a 27 on the rear it's tough going for me. I'm real glad (sarcasm) I decided to ride with a 25 this time, for a better leg workout.
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:12 PM
Some trees near the top.
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:16 PM
At the top of the mountain there is a cannon beneath the Stars and Bars. It's big for how old it is. I couldn't find a sign or anything to find out why it's there. The temperature is down to 48 so I put on my little shoe covers.
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:19 PM
A little closer, to show my bike. A project I started 5 months ago. I wanted to see if it would be possible to build a good, lightweight bike without spending a fortune. It's possible and everything is new. So here it is, a couple ounces over 16 lbs and less than $1500. I rides nicely and loves going uphill.
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:21 PM
My legs aren't really that skinny! And I'm not wearing a pilot's oxygen mask!
is that a monkey riding a bike?Frith
Nov 14, 2002 4:43 PM
seriously though this is a great picture. nice job!
Elefantino!PseuZQ
Nov 14, 2002 6:22 PM
Seriously, that is one super cool photo.
Really nice shot (and a very nice photo essay too). nmMB1
Nov 14, 2002 5:47 PM
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:23 PM
Looking South. Lookout Mountain to the right. Chattanooga is almost visable, left center.
So THAT'S what it looks like without the fog and rain!look271
Nov 15, 2002 6:36 AM
Nice job Mike. It just reinforces my desire to go down there agin to do 3mtn/3state again next year.Beautiful country and nice pics.Friday before the century I rode the battlefield with my friend I came down with. Nice place to take an easy spin.
Hey, Look271,Mike P
Nov 15, 2002 9:28 AM
I almost rode Burkaulter Gap and Lookout but decided against it because of my late afternoon start. I wouldn't have posted the view from Lookout your wanting to see though, you'll have to see that one for youself.

Mike
Hope to.look271
Nov 15, 2002 11:05 AM
I'm counting on being there. You're not going to wuss-out and do the metric are you? =) Don't know if my buddy Dave will make it this year but I'm going to go anyway. Hopefully I can recruit some poor b@#tard to come with me (hehe!). BTW-Dave is the guy that used to post the "Mechanicsburg connection" on their site. His wife is originally from Chatt so I got free lodging at his mom-in-law's. Nice southern lady.
I hear they are not going to schedule any fog this year!Mike P
Nov 15, 2002 11:51 AM
I finally made my 3 hour metric goal and I feel comfortable with the longer rides now so I will be doing the full 100.

I'll look forward to seeing you and some poor b@#tard soon!

Mike
Kewl!look271
Nov 15, 2002 1:10 PM
Now that I know that I can do the ride, I think I'll shoot for a sub 6 hr (on bike) ride. I didn't know what to expect last year, but it is definately doable in under 6 (considering some of those guys finished under 5!).
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:25 PM
Looking North. One of our nuc power plants is visable in the distance.
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:27 PM
More of Lookout Mountain. Burkhaulter Gap is there in the haze somewhere.
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNMike P
Nov 14, 2002 4:30 PM
Looking down from the top of the W Road. That's it real name. The car is on the lowest leg of the "W". It passes under this spot 3 more times, forming a "W". It's more fun going down so lets go. The sun is about to set and it's getting colder. I hope you enjoyed the little ride, your legs should be tight but happy.
I've never been to your area of the country, it's beautiful! nmgogene
Nov 14, 2002 4:47 PM
Great report and pictures. Too steep for me! -nmTig
Nov 14, 2002 5:31 PM
re: Some fall colors from Chattanooga, TNbrianmcg
Nov 14, 2002 5:42 PM
Great pics. Reminds me of the Three State Three Mt Challenge. Im from Cleveland Tn. I dont get down to ride in Chatt a lot but I always make it for that ride. I have to say whoever thought putting Hooper gap at the end of a century should be killed. But I cant wait till next year May 3.
Great shots & ReportScot_Gore
Nov 14, 2002 6:34 PM
Your big gun was likely brought in by Sherman between Oct 28th and Nov 23rd 1863 to protect the "Cracker Line", an important (and hard won) supply line for the Union troops during their preparation to capture Chattanoga. I don't recall that they brought any big guns in, but it's certainly possible. The Union liked to pull naval guns off boats and try to use them in field (never really worked much). BTW, a small detail, that's the Stars & Strips, not the Stars & Bars over that gun.

Thanks for the report, really enjoyed it.

Scot
No shoulder with guardrails on a 2 lane road.....SantaCruz
Nov 14, 2002 8:28 PM
... do you folks have big trouble with motorists or would you say it's kinda bike friendly. These kinds of roads generally scare me as the sports car enthusiasts love to go fast on twisty roads, especially as the surface appears to be so good.

Great photo essay, makes me want to come home to TN.
Not too much traffic on this one.Mike P
Nov 15, 2002 7:10 AM
I think we have the same common bike / auto problems as most areas. This road does not see heavy traffic but I normally only ride it on weekends, early in the morning. One of the "residents" living on top of the mountain made some fairly specific threats, by way of an editorial comment in the local newspaper, towards cyclists using "his" road.

They just finished paving about a month ago. Funny thing, the road is actually wider now in places than it used to be. I don't think there was even room for the white edge stripe before.

Mike
Great report!!JL
Nov 15, 2002 6:03 AM
Thanks for the pictures. Looks like a climb I'd like to try.

Happy riding.

John
Great essay, MikeTrekFurthur
Nov 15, 2002 7:11 AM
I pass through 'Nooga usually coupla times a year on the way to NC, and have friends there. May have to stop and look you up next time. I was going to ask if those roads were Lookout, but guess not if you were taking pictures from across the Gap. These are indeed steep rodes, but I'll definitely have to stop and ride 'em sometime with my flatlander legs; the Lake Lure area of NC also has killer climbs. Had to stand to turn over my 39x27!

'Nooga fan from MS