RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Unpainted Titanium Frame Owners -(11 posts)

Unpainted Titanium Frame Owners -Fez
Nov 13, 2002 3:09 PM
Do you prefer factory decals or a clean, non-decaled look?

I just got a brand new steed, and I am thinking of removing the decals. A certain leading Ti manufacturer has recently added a seat tube decal and a chainstay decal in bright yellow (in addition to the downtube decal).

So I was considering removing all decals for a clean look.

Good choice, or will my bike scream "bike messenger"?
re: Unpainted Titanium Frame Owners -roadcyclist
Nov 13, 2002 4:02 PM
I say "go for it" if it makes you happy. Who the hell cares what others think?
No rush to do it, give it 1000 miles & then decide. nmMB1
Nov 13, 2002 4:48 PM
No rush to do it, give it 1000 miles & then decide. nmFez
Nov 14, 2002 10:39 AM
LOL!

For you, that could be as soon as 2-4 weeks. For others like me, that could be longer than I care to admit.
Why do you care what we think?Kerry
Nov 13, 2002 5:05 PM
Do you want to do this or not? Do you think that the opinions of a bunch of virtually anonymous Internet geeks is more important than your own? Sheesh.
Why do you care what we think?Fez
Nov 13, 2002 7:52 PM
Ultimately, I don't really care what anyone thinks.

But I have not seen too many completely bare Ti bikes and was wondering if it looked too spartan or strange because we sort of have our eye trained to expect a decal on the tubes, especially the downtube.

And also, I wanted a few opinions because if I hate it, I'll have to order new decals and waste some time reapplying them.
Hey Fez, Consider this...odog
Nov 13, 2002 10:28 PM
have a hi-resolution digital pic' taken of the bike and use photoshop to 'erase' the decals, then see if you like how the bike looks. I think it's the next best way to know (other than actually removing the decals).

O
Hey Fez, Consider this...Fez
Nov 14, 2002 5:13 AM
Thanks, that's a great idea!
re: Unpainted Titanium Frame Owners -pmf1
Nov 14, 2002 5:13 AM
I have a brushed LS Ultimate. I kinda like the big yellow decals. Ti frames are so boring. That ugly grey battleship color doesn't go with anything. At least I can buy some yellow tires and bar tape that go with the frame when the decals are on it. Maybe even yellow bottles. If Selle Italia made a yello Flite, that would be on there too.

Guess it depends if you like the gladiator look, or the pimpin look. I go for pimpin myself.

Strangely, I immediately remove the decals from wheels the day I get them.
re: Unpainted Titanium Frame Owners -Fez
Nov 14, 2002 5:26 AM
"Guess it depends if you like the gladiator look, or the pimpin look. I go for pimpin myself."

I do the gladiator look on the bike. I do the pimpin look off the bike.

"Strangely, I immediately remove the decals from wheels the day I get them."

Did you do this for Ksyriums? I have a set and thought about removing those garish stickers on the side. The stickers on my Open Pros always seem to come off by themselves.

****

This is my 2nd Ti bike.

First one had one decal for brand, one for model. Reasonable size, good placement.

My new bike is shameless where decals are concerned. Larger size and on almost every tube. Whats with the www.abctitanium.com on the chainstay?

I did like the black Litespeed Vortex decals on some 2002 models, but they seemed rare. Most had the huge yellow ones.
re: Unpainted Titanium Frame Owners -pmf1
Nov 14, 2002 6:56 AM
I removed decals from both my Ksyriums and Spinergy Rev-X wheels. I don't bother with Open Pros, they're small and inconspicuous.