RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


LBS advice - idea for rbr.com(10 posts)

LBS advice - idea for rbr.comUncleMoe
Nov 13, 2002 9:33 AM
Considering the thread below about LBS employee advice, and poor service and such, has Craig and Francis ever considered a review section for LBS on rbr.com or mtbr.com?

I moved from CT to San Diego 10 years ago. In CT I had a great little bike shop called Scott's Cyclery in the Willimantic area. Not once did I ever leave there feeling stupid about bikes. Great owner, very helpful, never tried to over sell, etc. I think he spent 4 hours combined on 3-4 visits I made to the shop for my first bike purchase, which was simply a Trek 830, not exactly a huge sale but for me back then, $300 was a good drop of cash.

When I moved to San Diego, maybe it was the larger population, but I had the toughtest time finding a good LBS. I finally found one, or maybe they found me. My freewheel (or hub - not sure what the heck its called) came loose on a ride and bearing scattered all over the ground. It was 8:30 in the morning. Anotehr rider came along, stopped, set it up so I could get going and said, Hey my LBS is down the road on the left. I don't open until 10:00 but stop in and knock, I'll give you a loaner wheel to get you home and just come back tomorrow and we'll fix this wheel up.

That is Leaucadia Cyclery in Leaucadia, just north of Encinitas. I don't go there as much as I'd like because it isn't near work and they close before I get home. But whenever I have a very specific question or I think another LBS is giving me the run around, I always go back there. The owners name is Fred (go figure) and I will only go in on days where I know he is working.

My point is, wouldn't it be nice if we could rate LBS just as we do bikes and biking gear? I've had a few horrible experiences that I'd like to share, plus some great ones.

The only thing I wonder about is maybe they are concerned abut LBS's getting PO'd at them, people with some beef posting negative reviews, LBS owners or employees posting positive reviews for the hell of it. That sort of thing.
re: LBS advice - idea for rbr.comNo_sprint
Nov 13, 2002 10:00 AM
Yep, Fred is great. They're a huge Klein dealer, perhaps the largest volume in the nation. I bought one from him. Good deal and a great guy.
Good idea. Perhaps we could share our experiences.sn69
Nov 13, 2002 10:00 AM
I'd recommend sticking to what we like about particular LBSes, at least at first. It's easy to get angry and write stronger words than we intend sometimes, so perhaps the positive attributes should be heard first.

Scott
Not a bad idea. (nm)jtferraro
Nov 13, 2002 10:12 AM
re: LBS advice - idea for rbr.comClydeTri
Nov 13, 2002 10:02 AM
Years ago there was something similiar on mtbr.com There was a place where you could review online retailers and other stores...apparently it got out of control.. a couple of the stores spammed it with fake reviews and others went off on irrational rants..just became useless over time as I remember it..but, a good idea if it work..
Thats what I figured.UncleMoe
Nov 13, 2002 10:12 AM
A LBS has a lot more to lose or gain by having positive o negative reviews. Probably boosts the incentive to post a lot of fake reviews up there.

The only thing I can think of to maybe alleviate the problem would be to only allow registered users of 1+ year on the board to write LBS reviews?

Just an idea. Not sure if they even have it set up where something like that could easily be implemented. Also not an ideal situation, but at least the feedback would made by someone who is somewhat knowledgeable and part of the community. It would keep out lurkers or people who just pop online to vent or spam the board.
Spammers/BSers seem to reveal themselves as such.sn69
Nov 13, 2002 10:17 AM
...And while I miss certain humorous aspects of Radical Ron and Cosmically Conscious Eugene, the mean-spirited posters will always be there no matter what. Thus, I'm not sure that it would serve the public good by trying to limit who can post.

Maybe I'm being too naive (wow, there's a stretch...not), but if we can provide some simple ethical guidelines hopefully everyone can be adults and share the knowledge. Mostly, I'd like to generate a great resource for highly recommended LBSes located by geographic region.

Scott
I'm fairly new hereabouts, but ...Allez Rouge
Nov 13, 2002 10:07 AM
... doesn't the Good Trader - Bad Trader section provide the framework for this already? If I had a question or concern about a specific LBS, that's where I'd go to post it.
re: LBS advice - idea for rbr.comdzrider
Nov 13, 2002 12:43 PM
People do post questions about rides or things to do in areas that they plan to visit or move to. The responses are helpful and up to date. Shops get sold and keep the same name; help screws up once too often and gets fired; other changes occur that can make this kind of data obsolete and incorrect. We may be better off answering questions about specific shops as they come up.
Keep it simple - keep it trueGeoCyclist
Nov 13, 2002 7:50 PM
If you leave bike shop reviews to individual postings, in the discussion, you stand a much better chance of getting good feedback; i.e. no spam. I wish I had thought about doing this four weeks ago when I first logged onto rbr. I primarily used the equipment Review section to select my new bike components. I then surfed the net looking for a shop that could supply the frame, componets, and shipping requirements. Then I had to make sure the bike shop really existed (not a scam), and check the local BBB for complaints against the shop. The long and short, I was fortunate to find a really good shop with great service. My bike arrived two days ago and was just what I ordered. However, I sure would have slept a whole lot better (while I was waiting for my bike to arrive) if I'd know someone else had a good business experience with this shop.

Cheers,
Chris