RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


a question re: 12x27 cassettes(27 posts)

a question re: 12x27 cassettesmealex
Nov 12, 2002 7:56 PM
I was wondering if anyone has any experience with the shimano 12x27 cassettes?......I'm an old man, you see, and my knees seem to want a few more teeth to get me up the hills. My 11x23 seems to be now taking a toll.

i'm trying to stay away from adding a third ring up front.(pride silly pride)......has anyone used the shimano 12x27, or should I just swallow my pride and go with the 3rd ring?

thanks,
Alex
re: a question re: 12x27 cassettesyeah right
Nov 12, 2002 8:12 PM
the 12x27 has made a big difference for me, i can now do long climbing rides i used to not be able to. of course you could always throw on mtb derailure and get a 32 or 34 in the back. the only problem when you go to the 27 is that you loose a lot of gears in between, i.e. there are big gaps. it's a lot cheap than going to a triple, just remeber to add links to the chain.
re: a question re: 12x27 cassettessupercorsa
Nov 12, 2002 8:20 PM
greetings,

my knees aren't what they used to be either, so when i built up my new cinelli starlight i got a 12x23, a 12x25, and a 12x27 for it. set up my chain length so all 3 work equally well. very nice to be able to get exactly the gearing i want for any planned ride with just 5 minutes using a chain whip & lockring tool. the 27 is quite nice to have for both long grinding climbs and shorter but mondo steep climbs.

i wouldn't worry about pride going to a triple (heck, contemplated it myself) but the expense involved going from double sti to triple sti is substantial. if i ever do rides i don't think the 27 would be low enough for (really long & really steep combined) i'll just slap on a xt/xtr cassette & derailleur.

hope this helps, eric
Chain Length for 11x23 & 12x27 dual useGeoCyclist
Nov 12, 2002 9:41 PM
I just purchased a new bike with Dura-Ace and a 12x27 cassette. I was thinking about going to a triple, but didn't want the weight; as I still plan to race my bike on courses without the big climbs. My big concern was loosing the 11 tooth gear. I planned to change between a 12x27 and 11x23; however, I thought I would have to change the chain to make this work. Is there a lot of slop in your chain when you run the 11x23 cassette? Do you loose the crisp shifting with your 11x23? I haven't received my bike yet, nor have I purchased the 11x23 cassette, so any info you are willing to share would be much appreciated!!!

Cheers,
Chris
re: a question re: 12x27 cassettesSkip
Nov 12, 2002 8:26 PM
I really like my 12-27. Give it a try. I think your knees will like it.
Another suggestion...gogene
Nov 12, 2002 10:27 PM
.....if you find that you have to go beyond a 12-27 to climb the hills and be comfortable, is to have a XT (mtb) rear derailluer and cassette (11-32 or 12-34) installed on your bike. The gear inches in the small ring/big cog combo are almost the same as on the triple. Like another poster said, the gap between gears is a little larger, but when you need gears, you need gears!
I use one on my 'cross bike nmgreg n
Nov 13, 2002 6:36 AM
re: a question re: 12x27 cassettestarwheel
Nov 13, 2002 5:00 AM
I changed from a 12x23 to 12x25 and then 12x27. The 27 gear is really nice for climbing and made a big difference for me. I don't use it that often, but it's nice to know it's there. You really don't lose much going from the 12x25 to 12x27 -- the last three gears are 21/23/25 and 21/24/27 respectively.
re: a question re: 12x27 cassettesdickruthlynn
Nov 13, 2002 5:04 AM
I have a 12/27 DA on my Chissalo. I use a standard cage, not a medium length cage. I never use the 53/27 combination. The shifting is outstanding.
re: a question re: 12x27 cassettespmf1
Nov 13, 2002 5:19 AM
There is nothing wrong with using a 12x27. In a pride vs. knees contest, I'll choose knees everytime. I switch cassettes a lot depending on what I'm riding. 12x27 is a frequent choice for hilly terrain. I used a 12x27 and a 38 tooth chain ring for Ride the Rockies and Pedal PA bike tours.

Try the 12x27 first -- its cheaper than converting to a triple. If its not enough gear, go for the triple.
re: a question re: 12x27 cassettesnetso
Nov 13, 2002 5:47 AM
My wife has been using a 12 x 27 cassette with absolutely no problem. She loves it.
re: 12x27 cassettesChen2
Nov 13, 2002 7:18 AM
I've used a 12-27 for the last 5 years. But this year I converted it to a 13-27 which allowed the addition of a 16 in the middle. This makes a much more useable cassette. Now I alternate between a 13-25, a 13-26, and a 13-27 on three different wheel sets.
~Al
Where did you get a 13-26? nmTFerguson
Nov 13, 2002 7:39 AM
Where did you get a 13-26? nmChen2
Nov 13, 2002 9:28 AM
I built the 13-26 using the middle part of an XTR cassette, [18-20]-[23-26], along with individual cogs 13-14-15-16-17, either from www.sheldonbrown.com, or from other cassettes. I really like the close ratios I get from this combination along with some good climbing cogs.
~Al
i've got a 12x25 & a 12x27...._rt_
Nov 13, 2002 7:35 AM
that i use for mtn rides and i have no complaints. for non-mtn riding i use a 12x23. the 12x27 gave me a sufficient gear ratio to do the 6-Gap Century without a triple (10,000+ ft of climbing, including a 7 mile stretch that averages >10%)......and pretty much the only thing that DIDN'T hurt was my knees!

rt
i've got a 12x25 & a 12x27....CHRoadie
Nov 13, 2002 9:17 AM
A 7 mile stretch at better than 10% would rip your legs off and cause your lungs & heart to explode. According to their web site, it's a 7% average for 7 miles. Still darn tough, though!
whatever...._rt_
Nov 13, 2002 10:16 AM
it hurt like h3ll.

rt
_rt_, have a little mercy on the self-proclaimed 'old man'!JS Haiku Shop
Nov 13, 2002 10:53 AM
"mealex", what _rt_ doesn't mention is that she's a racer type weighing in at 100 pounds. the only reason she put a 12x27 on the bike for the 6-gap was the extra weight. otherwise, those georgia winds might blow her right off the mountain. :)

re: 12x27 or otherwise, i say go with the triple. if you're going to do any rides out of town, or on unfamiliar roads, or longer rides where inclines seem to get longer as the day(s) goes on, it's always good to have it and not use it than need it but not have it, in this case.

i've changed my outlook to more align with MB1's gearing philosophy: why let your equipment limit you?

personally, i rode the 6-gap with a triple and xt rear derailler with an 11x32 xt cassette, and used the 30/32 combo quite alot. not sexy, but i wasn't out there to be too sexy for my bike. i did ride past some very light, very expensive, very overgeared double-chainring bikes as they were being pushed, step by step, up hogpen gap.

if you're not a 100 pound race-type (grin), i'd say get what you're comfy riding. i'm no couch potato, but i'm also not a euro pro, and have no short-distance racing aspirations. at 6'2" and 200 pounds, i'm quite happy with my triple and 32-tooth cog in the mountains. i'm also pretty happy with my 52/11 combination on the downhills and flats.

-J

ps. it's not a permanent fixture. if it doesn't work for all conditions, how about getting what it takes for the home workshop to change out the gearing as appropriate?

good luck.
lol! not true...._rt_
Nov 13, 2002 11:14 AM
i'm just skinny & i needed every bit of that 27 to make it through.....especially the part where i was looking at ditches and thinking they'd be comfy napping spots! though the added weight was nice on those descents! ;-P

hehehe.

rt
Love mine.look271
Nov 13, 2002 7:47 AM
Truthfully, I probably use the 24 most, but it's nice to have the 27 when you are struggling or spinning up a long climb. If I have to stand with the 39-27 combo, it is WAY steep!
re: a question re: 12x27 cassetteskayak42
Nov 13, 2002 7:50 AM
I asked this question about a year ago. Skip the 12-27 and go with a 13-30 "century special" from Sheldon Brown. It shifts fine with the standard road derailuers. Do you need a 12? I sure don't miss it. Believe me having a 30 and spinning is the way to go on steep hills or less steep hills after hours on the bike.

My lowest gear was a 42-21 from 1983-2001. Now biking is so much better with the proper range of gears! I used to mash at who knows 70rpm and now spin 85-90. Much better.

Good Luck,
BrianH
re: a question re: 12x27 cassettesRode Warrior
Nov 13, 2002 7:57 AM
I have both, with a 7-speed cog. I don't let pride keep me out of the smallest ring when I'm climbing the mountains.

My bottom line is - why try to hurt yourself, when you could be enjoying the ride?

Later,
Steve
re: a question re: 12x27 cassetteslaffeaux
Nov 13, 2002 10:30 AM
I guess I'm a raity in that I use a triple and a 12-27 on my road bike. The rear cassette works fine, and I don;t notice any "major" jumps between gears. The triple has a 42 middle ring, so the 27 makes accelerating from stop lights easier (especailly those on hills). I only use the triple when things get really step for an extended period, and the 30/27 combo is welcome when you hit a 16% grade at mile 75 of a ride.
Why do folks think triples are fine on ATB's but not on road bikes?MB1
Nov 13, 2002 11:14 AM
If a triple shifts fine while bouncing around in the dirt, mud and muck (and covered with same) why do people feel they don't shift well on the road?

Perhaps it is from our riding so often SS and fixed (I have finally learned to spin and grind it out too) but I feel no need for close ratio gearing. If I raced perhaps I would feel otherwise but I don't race and I have no problems keeping up on training rides with those who do.

One advantage of wide range gearing in the back is that you don't need to change chainrings as much as someone running closer ratio gearing.

I run 30/42/52 with either 12-32 or 12-34 on all my geared bikes now.

Want to try one of our rides with a close ratio? Enjoy your walk.
Using a 12x27, a triple, and proud of it...PeterRider
Nov 13, 2002 2:39 PM
... and hope to be in shape for the Death Ride next july !

Pierre
Details of expense of double->triplePeterRider
Nov 13, 2002 2:44 PM
bought a triple drivetrain 175$ shipped off the rbr classifieds: bb, front and rear der, chain, cranks. Drivetrain was 3 months old and supposedly less than 500 miles on it (it arrived in very good shape, and the chain was almost not stretched). Sold the double drivetrain 153$ on ebay - around 1800 miles on it. I cleaned it perfectly and the buyer was very happy with it.

Conclusion: switching from double to triple is not all that expensive. And it's definitely the best change I've made to my bike. It's going to help during many more centuries !

Pierre
the "old man" says thanks,mealex
Nov 13, 2002 7:14 PM
Thanks for all of your help......I've a lot more options/considerations to ponder, now.(so many, in fact, that I think I have a headache).

You sure are a helpful bunch of folks.

Again, thank you all, very much.

Alex