RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Critique My Positioning(59 posts)

Critique My PositioningPsyDoc
Nov 12, 2002 10:15 AM
Since this is the time when the off-season begins for many, I thought I would get some advice regarding my positioning. I am most interested in what you have to say about "reach" as I am not sure whether my elbow should be bent a little or a lot. Also, I am not sure I am stretched out enough to allow my mid-section to expand :)
First of all...WrigleyRoadie
Nov 12, 2002 10:19 AM
That remote is WAY too far off the front! What shop set you up? You're likely to strain your back if you reach for that thing with any amount of force.

Overall, it looks good. Nice choice of componentry, although I prefer salt & vinegar myself.
Bad arm angle/position...biknben
Nov 12, 2002 10:21 AM
Shouldn't your hand be in your pants?

Also, the reach may be a bit long. Reaching for that soda may put excessive strain on your neck and back.
Thanks for the advice...PsyDoc
Nov 12, 2002 10:24 AM
...I do not think that the shop-guys really knew what they were talking about when they set me up in my current positioning. I do know that after long periods of time (> 2 hours) I do tend to get a little neck strain and my back is a bit tender when I stand up.
re: Critique My Positioningjoekm
Nov 12, 2002 10:22 AM
Positioned too far from TV remote. Will either require getting up of facing back to back episodes of Gilligan's Island (if not worse).

;)
LOLNo_sprint
Nov 12, 2002 10:23 AM
I'd say that due to the size of that remote, you're likely riding a single speed. My Record 10 type theater setup requires two or three big remotes in front of me depending upon what sort of terrain I'm looking at.

I'd say you need some spray some chip fragments around. Where's the Coors Light pyramid?
Wait a second....WrigleyRoadie
Nov 12, 2002 10:26 AM
I hope that's not a VANILLA coke. That'd be like putting Sora on DeRosa Merak.

Would someone please get this man some Schlitz?
I think that is a Record remote. It looks carbon from here. nmDave Hickey
Nov 12, 2002 11:28 AM
See? A recumbent - far more comfortable. nmWinona Rider
Nov 12, 2002 10:30 AM
Couch-to-table height seems awfully high....Stinky Hippie
Nov 12, 2002 10:31 AM
....My advice would be , if you can't raise the table any further (use no more than a local phone book for safety reasons) you might want to try a table with a steeper rise. If you can't stand the looks of a steeper rise table, consider thinner couch cushions.
I can't tell how far back your couch is from the bars in this photo, but you might also want to fiddle with the fore-aft position.

KOPS (Knee Over Playstation) is a good starting point. While seated on the couch, drop a plumb line from the center of your knee cap to the floor. The line should run right through the center of the playstation console. If not, adjust accordingly.

Hope this helps

Feel the gin
YOU look pretty good, but ...Allez Rouge
Nov 12, 2002 10:39 AM
... that fixed-position, wooden remote/snack/drink stand is sooooo Nineties. Replace it with one of those fully-adjustable unobtanium stands from either The Sharper Image or Brookstone, and you'll be all set.
I agree, but I was thinking something from IKEA :) (nm)JL
Nov 12, 2002 11:33 AM
IKEA??!! This guy needs and deserves a custom couch - nmdzrider
Nov 12, 2002 1:09 PM
Yeah! IKEA is just rebadged Taiwanese stuff, like Scattante. nmNo_sprint
Nov 12, 2002 1:13 PM
I was talking about the componentsJL
Nov 12, 2002 1:26 PM
from the prior post. He's does have Baked Lays though. Does he deserve a custom? I will give him that he's eating the non-baked though.
That frame is probably wood for chrissake!dzrider
Nov 12, 2002 1:36 PM
A guy his height needs steel. His neck won't last an hour in that position. His leg is bent way more than 12 degrees. Get that boy on a Brent Slackman or a Roland Della Sofa and he'd be much more comfortable!
re: Critique My PositioningPMC
Nov 12, 2002 10:45 AM
I find a two cushion couch to be more forgiving than a three cushion model for extended touring duties. That being said, it doesn't appear you're ready for touring distances with that coffee table (no lower rack for newspapers or magazines).

I completely disagree with LA's statement "it's not about the couch"
Newbie couch potato - need help with good entry level modelUprwstsdr
Nov 12, 2002 10:51 AM
I am just getting back into couch-potatoing after 15 years of trying to lead an active lifestyle. My last couch was acquired in college and while it was more than sufficient then, I feel that at this point in my life I can take advantage of new technologies and materials. I don't plan on entering any competitions, more likely long recreational rides, sometimes with a group. But, I would like a couch that is of competitive quality in case I change my mind. All recommendations are appreciated. I would defiantely like to buy new from my LCS as I recognize (from reading earlier posts) that fit is critical, and wouldn't buy a used couch unles I was able to try it out first. Also, material recommendations are apprecaited as well. I am leaning towards cotton, as I am a traditionalist, but am willing to listen arguments for other materials - leather, felt, wool etc. Thanks in advance for your experienced opinions.
Look pretty good...Fez
Nov 12, 2002 10:56 AM
You still have those freakish tan lines from shorts, shoes, gloves and jersey. Its going to take a little more chilling on the couch to get rid of those.
Your position isn't bad but.......PEDDLEFOOT
Nov 12, 2002 10:57 AM
you need to work on the toe pointing.Seems to me you run the risk of cramping after a few hours in that position.Try to flatten the extended foot a little.Also work on the hydration .Nothing less than Sam Adams will do.A German import would be the better.
Wait, I think picture is staged...Fez
Nov 12, 2002 10:57 AM
Its a fake. No guy would put a coaster under that can of Coke.
That's even worse than the rider dies jumping fakes!!!!! nm.No_sprint
Nov 12, 2002 11:01 AM
And another thingTrekFurthur
Nov 12, 2002 11:26 AM
Are those the baked Ruffles? AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAH!

Where's the bean dip? the seven layer dip? the French diP? the undescribable dip you found in the back of the fridge in a faded tupperware container marked "Lunch" in faded Sharpie on a piece of masking tape?
NiceTan Lines!!! nmRubberbandman
Nov 12, 2002 11:12 AM
you people are killing me (nm)JS Haiku Shop
Nov 12, 2002 11:21 AM
your legs should be elevated...merckx56
Nov 12, 2002 11:47 AM
to keep the blood out of them. The chip bag angle is very poor as well. You looking at a serious case of BBQ chip elbow if it's not changed. You should also think about moving the couch so it's positioned better in front of the TV...or at least switch ends every so often to lessen the risk of neck problems.
Proper training clothes..........................Dave Hickey
Nov 12, 2002 11:55 AM
saw one of those at my last MTB race.up_hiller
Nov 12, 2002 12:36 PM
the guy wasn't kidding, either. he was a clydesdale and a half, at least.
where do you get one of those?(nm)rufus
Nov 13, 2002 9:07 AM
re: Critique My PositioningMike P
Nov 12, 2002 11:56 AM
From what I can tell, it looks like your eyes are at a sharp angle to see the TV. You might want to have your head at the other end of the couch to decrease eye strain and to be more conducive to falling asleep.
Camelbak?WrigleyRoadie
Nov 12, 2002 12:04 PM
Filled with suds? Just a suggestion for those really long events when you might be worried about dehydration.
Wheres the helmet....PEDDLEFOOT
Nov 12, 2002 12:34 PM
we here in the Chicago area have found that watching our teams play while on the couch will eventually cause us to loose conciousness and roll of the couch risking head injuries on the coffee table.If you are fortunate enough to live in an area with PROFESSIONAL sports teams you may be able to go without but I'm not sure I would.
Don't eat pretzelsms
Nov 12, 2002 12:40 PM
Remember President Bush's sofa accident last year?
You're all wrong. It's perfect form. (nm)Crankist
Nov 12, 2002 12:35 PM
re: Critique My Positioning53T
Nov 12, 2002 12:53 PM
Your windows are less than 18" from the floor. Do you have tempered glass? BTW, pass the baked lays, please.
you're all f*****'d up!!!trekkie1
Nov 12, 2002 12:53 PM
First, where the hell is the beer? You expect to be a half-decent couch potato on Coke??? You need a cooler filled with Bud on the floor beside you. To go along with that, you need a big plastic cup to pee in, so you don't have to walk to the bathroom.

Yup, that remote is way too far away.

A little porn within reach would be nice, too.

You need a few more snacks in reach, particularly Pringles and pork rinds.

Finally, where's the chick giving you a massage?
You need to angle the couch someJL
Nov 12, 2002 1:07 PM
as someone else may have said so you can look more forward in relation to your body. You're covering your left ear and could blow out your right ear drum due to high volume on different commercials. Unless, you have TV that levels the volume appropriately and then you'll be fine just turning up the volume.

Also, the clicker should never leave the free hand unless you're scratching something or taking a drink. This allows you to shift channels faster as you don't need to get up. It also allows you to jump between shows much quicker, thereby limiting commercial interruption.

Happy couching.
You definitely need a shorter reach coffee table..Ouch
Nov 12, 2002 1:23 PM
By the time you get to that third bag of chips, you are going to have to roll over and strech to get it. I see major pulled muscle in your future. Maybe later in the season, when you have worked up the toe strength to grab the bag with your right foot, that table might be OK.

LOL - very funny.
Couch Rider dies jumping Great Wall!The Human G-Nome
Nov 12, 2002 1:37 PM
Still not funny (nm)PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Nov 12, 2002 1:53 PM
heaven forfend you should ever discover FARK.com...lonefrontranger
Nov 12, 2002 2:01 PM
geez, lighten up.
Still funny as hell in my opinion!! LOL nm.No_sprint
Nov 12, 2002 2:04 PM
I agree... classic silliness! -nmTig
Nov 12, 2002 2:21 PM
Love it! That's great. (nm)Spunout
Nov 12, 2002 3:55 PM
This has now achieved RBR cult status! nmtrekkie1
Nov 13, 2002 6:52 AM
That couch is fine for beginner base miles, but...Tig
Nov 12, 2002 2:19 PM
...You'll need something with a much more aggressive geometry for next year's spring lounging, like this glove-soft Italian leather Shiatsu massaging recliner. $2500 may be too much for a beginner couch potato, but who cares if elitists call you a "poseur". All real snoozers know that leather is real! Anyone who lounges should be commended for their lack of effort. There is just too much elitist attitude going on in here. We need to embrace all couch potatoes since they aren't clogging up our roads and trails with calorie burning bicycles!

Flame away!!!
OH YES...PsyDoc
Nov 12, 2002 2:30 PM
...I NEED to get one of these. Do they come in custom sizes? I guess it really doesn't matter anyway as most would fit fine in the off-the-shelf stock configurations. I guess my son does not have to go to an ivy league school anyway...he'll do just as well in the local university.
Just send your son to community college and get one of these tooTig
Nov 12, 2002 2:39 PM
This way you can train 24 hours a day for ultra-endurance events like RAAM (Rest Across America).
YUMMY!No_sprint
Nov 12, 2002 2:33 PM
No doubt a C40 or TF1 or KG486 with Lews.

jyzzfest
What Would Really Help Me Out...PsyDoc
Nov 12, 2002 2:34 PM
...would be to see how others are set-up in their positioning. So, get out your digital cameras and have at it...
learn from the prosScottland
Nov 12, 2002 2:50 PM
Well if you want to hang with the pro'sKristin
Nov 12, 2002 4:24 PM
Then you must train like the pro's. None of this mamsy pambsy 1-2 hours a day. If you want to beat the best, then you should be resting your butt 6 hours a day like good 'ole LA (Lazy B. Airtime).

Lastly, don't think anyone is going to take you seriously with that Suntour table of yours and those Shimano 600 sofa's. You need to update your equipment! I recommend upgrading to the CP Lazisaurous 3000, all in one snack station with built in tap (pictured below).
go retro babySpirito
Nov 12, 2002 4:35 PM
for less than the price of an IKEA sofa you can still get something classic

ciao
Ouch!ms
Nov 13, 2002 8:23 AM
That sofa looks like a torture machine. I live in a house full of antique furniture -- and like it. But, I have yet to find a comfortable antique sofa. Is this one the exception that proves the rule?
heart rate monitorstik__boy
Nov 12, 2002 5:06 PM
necessary, with alarm...... to let you know if you're too active of course.
also...OTG
Nov 12, 2002 5:55 PM
...to let you know if your heart is about to stop.

-owen
FINALLY, a replacement for Seinfeld:"RBR.com" nm.roadmeister
Nov 12, 2002 7:55 PM
Words of CAUTIONSkip
Nov 12, 2002 8:59 PM
Overall, not too bad, but be careful in certain situations:

1. While viewing certain DVD's, a condition called osteopornosis, (a degenerate disease), could result.

2. If used for extended spells, viewing re-runs of "The Beverely Hillbillies", you might be reintarnated.

3. For that early morning CNN viewing, before it's off to work, try inoculatte (taking coffee IV), for that running late boost.

4. Be careful, not to look toooo... cool, you might get hipatitis.

5. And ALWAYS be vigilant and leary of suggestions from an ignoranus (a person who's both stupid and an a$$hole!).

Best of luck PsyDoc, and carry on.
Gregg I think we got ourselves a new hot topic!!!PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Nov 13, 2002 7:53 AM
Showing RBR.com's finest! jk :)

Nick