RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


sad news re Burke(18 posts)

sad news re Burketrekkie1
Nov 8, 2002 9:24 AM
http://www.velonews.com/news/fea/3211.0.html
Unbelievable and very sad. His contribution will be missed (nm)outofthesaddle
Nov 8, 2002 9:29 AM
Remember the PMP Crank? An anecdotal storyAllisonHayes
Nov 8, 2002 11:24 AM
In 1992 USCF's Technical Director, Ed Burke completed a study on the most efficient pedaling motion in the history of cycling. His conclusion: that P.M.P. cranks are the way to go. He purchased the last available P.M.P.cranks at collectors' item prices (rumored to be $500+ per set), much to the dismay of Campy and Shimano.

Ed Burke has written or edited seven books on the subject of cycling and was renowned for translating the latest scientific research into practical applications for cyclists. He coached the 1980 and 1984 U.S. Olympic Cycling Teams and was the director of sports science and technology for the National Cycling Team from 1981 to 1987. Ed held a doctorate in exercise physiology from Ohio State University and was an associate professor in the Department of Biology at the University of Colorado. He is survived by his wife, Kathleen.

An Elegy for Ed Burke...

Shakespeare knew about suffering in the saddle: 'I am bound upon a wheel of fire,' cries King Lear. Dr. Burke knew this only too well.

"I must write the strange world cycling and the marvels of the road-racing in the mountains," wrote Hemingway in The Sun Also Rises after watching the Tour du Pays Basque and his account of the races he watched in the Vel d'Hiv around 1925. Ed loved riding in the mountains.

In Gray's "Elegy in a Country Churchyard" there is a line that seems intended cyclists:

Along the cool sequester'd vale of life
They kept the noiseless tenor of their way.

i for Edmund R. Burke, who dedicated himself to his sport, we will miss you and your contributions.
OMG!!! I just spoke to him via email!MXL02
Nov 8, 2002 9:38 AM
I "cold called" an email question to him about bike set up, just looking up his email address at UCCO directory, and he very kindly emailed me back with some great advice. What a loss!
Uh Oh, you're next!!!! LOLLazywriter
Nov 8, 2002 2:19 PM
Uh Oh, you're next!!!! LOLMXL02
Nov 8, 2002 2:56 PM
I usually don't respond to trolls, but since I did have a recent personal interaction with this man, his passing was more than something of passing interest, and your sophomoric, moronic, and totally reprehensible post in a thread of this seriousness is just too much. We all know you are a troll and a jerk, but using someone's death, especially someone who has contributed so much to this sport, is cruel and asinine. Have a sh%$tty day! :-(
What a terrible loss. His contribution to theJL
Nov 8, 2002 9:43 AM
cycling community will be missed by many.
remember Jim Fixx?trekkie1
Nov 8, 2002 9:56 AM
Sort of the same scenario. Sounds like it's dangerous to write a book about your sport.

I really enjoyed Burke, as he was very objective and informative.

Life is short. Have fun while you can.
re: Jim Fixx?Straightblock
Nov 8, 2002 11:11 AM
It's true that Fixx, a guru of the jogging & aerobic training boom, died of a heart attack at a similar age while running. His family history, though, showed many of his male blood relatives died in their 30's & 40's from heart problems. Apparently genetics caught up with him, but very possibly running bought him some extra time.

One of my old teammates used to say, "Cycling may not add days to your life, but it will add life to your days."
So cycling killed him?LC
Nov 8, 2002 10:02 AM
I know many people followed his book religiously. Do you think it was that one ride that did him in, or was it more of an accumlative thing that was done with the wrong training techniques.
Nope, genetics. nm.No_sprint
Nov 8, 2002 10:11 AM
Cycling may have extended his life (nm)irregardless
Nov 8, 2002 10:18 AM
It's hard to say without knowing exactly what caused the reported "heart attack." He may have had a heart defect or hardening of the arteries. If it was the latter, his cycling may have slowed down the process.
Re: So cycling killed him?bsdc
Nov 8, 2002 11:14 AM
I don't think so but it does make you scratch your head. On one hand an sedentary smoker may live into his seventies and then a relatively fit 53 year old dies of a heart attack while bicycling ... it's frustrating.
Very sad. Nice guy. I had an opportunity to...PaulCL
Nov 8, 2002 10:14 AM
...listen to a lecture of his while at the Carpenter/Phinney bikecamp. The next morning, he rode up the Loveland Pass with our group. He was riding a Moots with the rear suspension on the seat stay.

Nice guy. Too young to go. My condolensces to his family. At least he died doing what he loves.
If you gotta go,...Not a bad way to do soInhighgear
Nov 8, 2002 2:54 PM
I hope I die while riding at a beautiful sunrise..not in some nursing home bed with bedsores covering my arse.
Very sad. Our loss. At least he died doing what he loved. -nmTig
Nov 8, 2002 3:12 PM
Ed Burkejjohnson05
Nov 8, 2002 3:32 PM
I knew Ed when we were both in Indiana in the early 1970's. He had pretty strong opinions and so did I. We frequently disagreed, but he was right more often than I was. The combination of his passion for cycling and research produced great benefits for the sport and will be hard to replace.
Bummer, so young... I peruse his book often..sorry..nmrwbadley
Nov 8, 2002 8:41 PM