RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.(32 posts)

Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.Juanmoretime
Nov 8, 2002 5:20 AM
Im sure there must be many throttle twister's out there. Lets here from you. My main bikes are a Litespeed Vortex and a 2000 Harley Davidson FXST. Pictures would be great!
re: Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.GileyD
Nov 8, 2002 5:24 AM
Everything on two wheels is cool!!!!!

No pics I'm afraid, but my main road bike is a Litespeed Sirius, main MTB is an Orange Sub5, and my motorbike is a '97 Honda VFR750.

What to ride to today, decisions, decisions!!!!!!
re: Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.theeatkins
Nov 8, 2002 6:45 AM
I drive a Calfee Tetra and a Yamaha R1. Fast with control !
Forgot - Also a Specialized Enduro Expert (nm)theeatkins
Nov 8, 2002 6:50 AM
re: Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.Eager Beagle
Nov 8, 2002 7:08 AM
Bunch of Bikes, but mainly riding my Coppi, Gazelle XC, Jake and Monoc.

Arfica Twin, fairly recently changed from a VFR800. Can't beat the build and reliability of a Honda.
re: Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.nelson
Nov 8, 2002 7:37 AM
Too many to list, but highlights are: Custom Pegoretti w/ Record, couple of Derosa's, couple of Pinarello's.
Fat Chance Yo-Eddy, Phat chopper, 1883 BSA Ordinary, Rideable Replica's Ordinary, Motorcycles - 1969 Norton Commando S, 1975 Norton Commando MKIII
'88 Paramount & customized '70 Honda 750rwbadley
Nov 8, 2002 7:48 AM
Calfee Tetra Pro, Serotta Hors Categorie & '82 Yamaha XV920 Eurogogene
Nov 8, 2002 7:58 AM
made the decision at 16 to stay away from motorcyclesgtx
Nov 8, 2002 7:59 AM
I had too many friends getting hurt on them, and decided one dangerous sport (bike racing) was enough. At speeds over 50 I prefer to surround myself with 3800 pounds of 60s era American steel. ;)
Moser TK1, Stumpjumper M4, Honda MB5Uprwstsdr
Nov 8, 2002 8:05 AM
re: Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.tmotz
Nov 8, 2002 8:19 AM
A 80s Fuji ,97 Ironman mtb and a 83 Yamaha 750.None of them fancy but good deals.
Colnago CT1 and the fading memory of my trusty old KZ1000djg
Nov 8, 2002 8:37 AM
The wife mounted a major campaign to get me off the Kawasaki (and no, not onto a more modern bike) when she was preggers with our first kid. I caved pretty quick--in part because I thought her position wasn't crazy. 16 years until the little ones go to college. We'll see what's available then.
Sigh.....look271
Nov 8, 2002 5:41 PM
I gave up my GPZ 750 for similar reasons. For now I'll have to be content with my Look kg271 and HOPE that in the future I can get my leg over another Japanese "crotch-rocket", preferably a Kawasaki-love those bikes!
re: Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.Galligruppo
Nov 8, 2002 8:57 AM
Mondonico Futura Leggera (Chorus 10V) and a Triumph Sprint ST.

GG
'03 Trek 5900 and an '02 Triumph Speed Four (nm)hirevR
Nov 8, 2002 8:58 AM
TriumphSteveS
Nov 8, 2002 2:40 PM
I got the urge for a Triumph Thunderbird and sprung it on the family. Their opposition was so strong, I had to give up the idea.

So, I bought 3 new bikes frames in the last two years.
re: Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.hoopshot
Nov 8, 2002 9:17 AM
I have a 2001 Bianchi Campione in retina-searing red and
a 1999 Aprilia Scarabeo (50cc two-stroke motor-scooter)
upgraded to 70cc. I guess I like Italian!

--Will
Motorcycle deprived . . .Look381i
Nov 8, 2002 10:00 AM
Look 381i, Colnago Dream Plus, Guerciotti Neuron, Motobecane Le Champion (1972), Cannondale F700, Cannondale tandem, but no moto.

My dad's motto was "Buy your son a motorcycle for his last birthday." My wife's is "I think I'd rather you had an affair." I have and had many friends with motorcycles. All have had serious or fatal accidents except one. He got his moto last summer.
re: Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.RC51
Nov 8, 2002 10:17 AM
Mid 80's DeRosa SLX (Recently referbished by Tom Kellogg)
2000 Honda RC51

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Trackday_1(1).jpg
re: Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.RC51
Nov 8, 2002 10:20 AM
Mid 80's DeRosa SLX (Recently referbished by Tom Kellogg)
2000 Honda RC51

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/Trackday_1(1).jpg
re: Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.Picshooter
Nov 8, 2002 4:50 PM
A Strong, 2 Marinoni's and a CBR 600
I gave up the motorcycles but ...Humma Hah
Nov 8, 2002 11:11 AM
I've owned

2 Kawasaki F7 175cc street/trail bikes
1 Can Am Qualifier 175cc enduro bike
1 Honda XR200 enduro bike
1 Suzuki GS460 street bike

The Schwinn cruiser pre-dates them all. Riding it off-road as a MTB was what kindled my interest in dirt motorcycles.

The '74 Paramount is just a bike I would always have liked to own, from the cruiser's early days.

The 99 Diamondback Sorrento is my off-road bike for now.
re: 02 Giant TCR2 and 82 BMW R100RSMrRoss
Nov 8, 2002 11:54 AM
02 Giant TCR2 and 82 BMW R100RS
No road bike yet, but...Neluan
Nov 8, 2002 12:48 PM
I already have these two to play with:
'01 Yamaha TDM-850
'02 Specialized Stumpjumper Fsr-XC
re: Friday poll: What's your bike and motorcycle.trekster
Nov 8, 2002 1:15 PM
Early 90's Trek 2300, Jamis Dakota AL MTB, '99 Honda aero and a Suzuki RMX dirt bike.
'52 Bianchi (Coppi TdF spare bike) and '52 Vincentvindicator
Nov 8, 2002 2:39 PM
I have a thing for '52 I guess.

Actually, I have neither, but it'd be a hell of a stable, wouldn't it?

I ride a Viner Competition (steel) with Ultegra and don't have a motorcycle. I am curious, though, as to whether anyone gets the musical reference or can provide any info on Vincent.
Hell of a stable, alright ...Humma Hah
Nov 8, 2002 3:32 PM
... interesting enough topic line to make me look -- POSEUR! ;-)

Vincents are kinda out of my league, but I remember a couple of stories about 'em.

My father helped a guy build an airplane powered by a Vincent engine, sometime in the early 1930's.

Second story, related in a motorcycle magazine some years ago, the writer was on his way to Daytona Motorcycle Speedweek, riding his custom monster powered by an automobile V-8, one of those ridiculously over-powered things that doesn't need a kickstand because you just lean it over to rest on the transmission, and hope you never have to corner very hard. So he's tooling along one of those arrow-straight roads thru the Everglades doing about 120 mph when a Vincent Black Shadow in immaculate condition pulls along side, they exchange glances, and the Black Shadow rider cracks the throttle open and pulls away like he's late for work or something. The custom bike could not keep up.
Thanks for the infovindicator
Nov 12, 2002 8:36 AM
Sorry to pimp you with the subject line!

Great story about Florida.
Serotta Legend Ti, C'dale Jekyll, & Honda Valkyregrzy
Nov 8, 2002 4:20 PM
OK, so the Valkyre belongs to my brother in law, but he left it with me for the winter and I can ride it whenever I want! I swear that thing is bigger than some cars I've driven and planes I've flown.
never enough of either....stik__boy
Nov 8, 2002 6:23 PM
trek 4900 disc mt. bike
lemond zurich

2k gsxr 600
2k2 honda shadow 750 ace
2 honda cb350's
2 honda cb360's
& a honda rs125 on the way. (race bike--- gp)

have had- ducati, kawasaki, honda, yamaha, suzuki.... several. mostly racing. cycling is CHEAP compared to racing motorcycles. cool rc51 pic. what track?
Loudon NHRC51
Nov 11, 2002 9:15 AM
2 Trek 5200s, K2 Disco Monkey, Kona Hei Hei, Suzuki GSXRR-750RAtombomber
Nov 8, 2002 8:13 PM
A true suicycle. Ready to race, right from the factory.