RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Giro Pneumo "Sale Sample Only" Helmet Safe to Use??(14 posts)

Giro Pneumo "Sale Sample Only" Helmet Safe to Use??Herkwo
Nov 7, 2002 6:10 PM
Need some help. I purchased on e-bay what was advertised as a new never worn Giro Pneumo helmet that turned out to be a "Sale Sample Only" helmet. It was clearly marked on a small sticker along with "Not for Resale". Is this helmet any less safe to use than a standard helmet? Are these "Sale Sample Only" helmets inferior in construction or in any other way unsafe to use?
All I can say is...Ahimsa
Nov 7, 2002 7:05 PM
It's your head.

Contact Giro for more info.

A.
All I can say is...Herkwo
Nov 7, 2002 8:27 PM
Thanks, did that before posting this...
And...Ahimsa
Nov 7, 2002 8:29 PM
What'd they say?

A.
Giro's replyHerkwo
Nov 8, 2002 2:21 PM
Received a fairly quick reply but nothing definitively saying that it is unsafe. Should receive some additional info later. Here what they had to say:
"Thank you for your email and inquiry.  I contacted our marketing manager about this.  He suggest that you do go back to the seller for a refund.  He also suggest that you please post your feedback on Ebay about your experiance.  Giro marketing is in the process of checking this out and we appreciate you bringing this to our attention.  Samples should not be sold, as they are not for resale. 
 
Again, we appreciate you bringing this to our attention."
I could have guessed,TJeanloz
Nov 8, 2002 3:23 PM
That's probably BS. Giro has too much liability involved to have a little sticker waive it. It was probably a sample they gave to their rep, who sold it. They wouldn't be happy about this- and they'd want you to raise a stink to keep him from selling more.
re: from my experience...Akirasho
Nov 7, 2002 11:23 PM
... it would be cheaper to place a "Sale Sample Sticker" on a fully functional Giro, than to make a batch of lookalikes for a retail sales case...

The fundamentals behind EPS and other expanded foam helmets make them essentially cheap to produce... the expense coming from the molds themselves.

Also, while I advocate the use of a helmet, it's not a guarentee of safety per se... if push came to shove, wrapping your head in bubble wrap is probably safer than not... if the price is right... and you want it... buy it...

OTOH, the Pneumo is getting old... wonder when Giro will replace it (and clear out the old Pneumos)?

We abide.

Remain In Light.

Be the bike.
re: from my experience...I Love Shimano
Nov 8, 2002 12:40 AM
I hope they still keep the Pneumo. if they make a enw model, my Pneumo will be "obsolete" hehehe
Even cheaper to use defectives for displays. -nmSnowBlind
Nov 8, 2002 2:11 PM
re: Giro Pneumo "Sale Sample Only" Helmet Safe to Use??Ian
Nov 8, 2002 9:00 AM
Is it safe to wear? I can say maybe, or maybe not. But I will tell you that it is most likely not a fully functional helmet that was marked as a sales sample for display only. It is probably just what it says it is, a sales sample. Manufacturers produce products before they are ready for the market and before they are tested so that they can be shown to potential buyers. For example, Giro would produce a bunch of Pneumo's for Interbike (bicycle industry trade show), for their sales reps and so on. They would have produced these before the Pneumo was tested and met CPSC standards. So, the question is, what if any changes were made to the Pneumo between the time these samples were produced and the helmet passed CPSC testing? You will never know. And I can guarantee Giro will only take one stance on this issue; that the helmet is not safe to wear.

By the wording of your post, I assume the seller did not notify you that what you were receiving was a sales sample. I would contact Giro and after they inform you that the helmet is not safe to wear, contact the seller and demand a refund. Be polite, but firm and make sure to mention Giro's postion on this issue. If he does not budge, then I would bring up that you will post negative feedback on E-bay about your tranaction. And as a last resort, I would inform him that you will wear the helmet, but his contact information will be stored by you, and should you ever receive a head injury while wearing this helmet he will be hearing from your personal injury attorney.

Ian
CPSC sticker is an adequate guidelineTJeanloz
Nov 8, 2002 3:42 PM
I think that if there is an ANSI/SNELL sticker in the helmet, you should be O.K.- I don't think they could legally put a sticker in a helmet that wasn't legit.

If they don't have the sticker- I don't think I'd wear it.
CPSC sticker is an adequate guideline -- NO STICKER! --NMHerkwo
Nov 9, 2002 6:28 AM
Giro Sample Helmets sold on eBay - More info, please!buffalo_tom
Nov 13, 2002 2:20 PM
Can you please provide more info:

the user id of the seller
the completed auction id number

I am in the process of trying to figure out who is selling this stuff. Thank you.
I wouldn't wear it, myselfAllez Rouge
Nov 13, 2002 2:47 PM
Not sure one more opinion/guess matters at this point, but here's mine:

I agree with the poster who said that it would not make economic sense for Giro to have produced a separate design for sample purposes only. Far more likely that this is either (1) a helmet that was not put through the usual inspection process so it could receive the proper stickers, or (b) a helmet that WAS inspected, but failed for some reason. The latter might even be for something like a small cosmetic blemish -- i.e., turning the helmet into a "second" that is actually perfectly safe but does not meet all the QC standards -- but there's no way you can know that for sure. Which means you shouldn't take the chance. I'd ask for a refund.