RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Felt road bikes(9 posts)

Felt road bikesMxRacer56
Nov 7, 2002 1:56 PM
What's the word...good? bad? Specifically the F15R.
i'd think felt would be kinda soft and fuzzy - - -liv2padl
Nov 7, 2002 3:25 PM
steel would be a much better choice for a bike frame. :-)
I like mineniteschaos
Nov 7, 2002 4:30 PM
When you look closely at it next to a Cannondale you realize that they share downtube size and geometry for less cash. I love mine.

Don't let the clowns on this site fool you, material is only one aspect that determines the frame's character (think size, shape, alloy).
I think a pun of the word felt was being made. nmJuanmoretime
Nov 7, 2002 7:00 PM
I like mineMxRacer56
Nov 7, 2002 8:54 PM
I've actually been looking at the R3000 Cannondale. If price were equal, which would you go with?
its a toss upniteschaos
Nov 8, 2002 11:24 AM
I'm not to familiar with Felts warrenty, I think it is 3 years for the frame, but with Cannondale you can upgrade at any time in the future and the components look to be the same as on the Felt.

If you want to be unique, go with Felt, I've never seen another one on the road yet.

If you want smooth welds and Cannondales engineering background go with it.
here is a review....Bruno S
Nov 7, 2002 8:09 PM
not of that specific model but it talks about the whole company:

http://www.bikesportmichigan.com/reviews/felts22.shtml

BTW a have a friend that has one. He bought it from a Mercury rider and its has Fuji decals on it (Fuji sponsored Mercury). He likes it very much and after racing it in 2002 he plans to repaint it and keep racing on it next year.
love my f50rbm
Nov 8, 2002 12:07 PM
i had questions before i bought my first roadie, FELT 50r. i hadn't seen them in LBS or in catalogs. i got feedback from other people who rode them or were just very interested.

(this may have already been posted, i don't know). jim felt, the designer of the frame worked for easton aluminum. easton has a long history of aluminum work, and i think they're designing their own frames now. . . anyway, i've heard the felt frames are quality frames . . . and by the way, 105 to DA frames are pretty much the same, so you can get a great frame with less expensive components.

the prices are great, for the quality and components. they've been rated a 'best buy' in bicycling mag. i especially like their 2003 models. since they're becoming more popular, felt has added more features - like campy components and triples.
Thanks...MxRacer56
Nov 9, 2002 1:54 PM
Thanks to everyone who responded...I think it will come down to which bike I can get the best price on.