RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Getting a trainer: Opinions on my situation and experience with Minoura Mag trainers(8 posts)

Getting a trainer: Opinions on my situation and experience with Minoura Mag trainersSwat Dawg
Nov 6, 2002 6:03 PM
I am a college student and am getting a trainer so I can keep riding through the winter cause it is too dark when I get out of class. Anyway, I was looking at getting the Minoura MagTurbo Ergo. There are two models: One, has a remote and one doesn't. I have found the one without a remote at River City Bikes for $98.00 with free shipping. The remote one I've found all over the web for $110 or so, but I would have to pay oversized shipping cost which is like $20. So my question is this, should I just buy the nonremote one use it this winter and look to upgrade later, or is the remote control worth the extra $$ up front? Also, please give me your opinions on Minoura products, as I don't want to by a complete POS. Thanks
re: Getting a trainer: Opinions on my situation and experience with Minoura Mag trainersgtx
Nov 6, 2002 7:22 PM
I've had one--think it's a great trainer for the money. Don't see any need/use for the remote (you still have gears). But I'd consider rollers--not as boring, and you improve you spin and bike handling skills.
re: Getting a trainer: Opinions on my situation and experience with Minoura Mag trainersupandcomer
Nov 6, 2002 10:06 PM
I'd go for the non-remote model. The increase in resistance you'll experience is linear on a mag trainer, until you adjust the resistance either by hand or remote. Personally, I welcome the small breaks on boring trainer rides like small adjustments such as changing a mag setting.
good valueI Love Shimano
Nov 6, 2002 10:50 PM
one of the cheapest trainers out there, and they last long too. Used to use mine 4 times a week for more than a year, and it is still working. Quite noisy, but who cares..just ride while watching TV.
good valueJuanmoretime
Nov 7, 2002 2:00 AM
I've had mine for 4 years now and going strong. Get the non remote. If your not happy with the resistance, you stop pedaling, get off, change it, get back on. It takes a whole 10 seconds max. I never have changed my setting in about 3 years. I just use the gears if I want to work harder as another poster mentioned.
another non-remote voteJS Haiku Shop
Nov 7, 2002 5:59 AM
i've had the magturbo ergo w/remote for over a year. i use gears instead of the remote. no problems with the trainer. purchased for $100 after shipping from nashbar on sale. check the hot deals forum on this site for a new 10% off coupon at nashbar and price it there. shipping for me was $13, if i remember right (and the trainer was around $85).

re: rollers vs. trainer, i have no first-hand knowledge of rollers, but would like to give them a try. there is so much other bike stuff screaming for money right now that a set of rollers is not in the near future.

re: night riding vs. trainer, a bad ride at night is better than an ideal ride on the trainer, IMHO. cheap headlight, good rear blinkie, and a well-lit & lightly traveled industrial park with good roads = recipe for all-winter night riding.
Contrary viewpoint herebrider
Nov 7, 2002 9:24 AM
I use BOTH gears and the remote adjustment. Gives me a greater range of options. I hate getting off the bike on a trainer ride -- they're supposed to be short duration and fairly intense.

Minuora makes quality stuff, and contracts for a lot of other companies as well.
Contrary viewpoint here toohayaku
Nov 7, 2002 7:30 PM
I have the remote and think I would hate training without it. Sure it dosent take long to get off and change the resistance... but ya gotta get off, with a remote you don't have to. I think that's worth the extra.

I like my trainer but I have had a large amount of problems with it. Miroura has replaced my trainer both times it broke, without any charges but they took a long time to do it. Where I live that meant time not riding and that's badbadbad.

If I'm doing LT work, it just gets too hot and has melted the plastic shell.

The rim driven system doesn't hold well enough for my taste. I can use my hardest gear with the highest resistance setting but I have to get up to speed slowly, otherwise it just slips. This is only a problem when doing standing work or sprint type workouts.

It's advertised as silent but it sounds like a Jumbo jet taking off at LT pace, and a jumbo jet warming up at a medium pace.

All these problems but I like it... It's a great tool to improve your fitness and increase the quality of you workouts. I would recomend it but would suggest buying from somewhere that will back you up in the event of a break down or some other problem however.
M.