RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Lunchtime ride report(12 posts)

Lunchtime ride reportTig
Nov 6, 2002 11:54 AM
When the temperature is in the 60's and the sky is blue you just have to ride, even if for only an hour. Here's the entrance to a short MUT in the suburban town of Nassau Bay with a nice view.
Water CrossingTig
Nov 6, 2002 11:55 AM
Just when you think its safe, a water crossing appears. I don't think I'll try it again on a fixte!
Waterfront driveTig
Nov 6, 2002 11:56 AM
A scenic drive with a view of Clear Lake. Watch out for the giant manhole cover! Back before he faced bankruptcy, Willie Nelson had a house about 100 yards to the right of this picture.
Waterfront drive fixte shotTig
Nov 6, 2002 11:58 AM
A shot of the budget fixte conversion with a lighthouse in the background. An old 27" front wheel with a Record hub works great and provides a magic carpet smooth ride.
"Houston, we have a problem"Tig
Nov 6, 2002 11:59 AM
NASA's Johnson Space Center with the old Saturn V rocket displayed in the background.
Obligatory Texas longhorn shotTig
Nov 6, 2002 12:01 PM
Also located on the NASA grounds are these longhorn cattle that are tended by the local FFA chapter. Sometimes the best sights are in your own back yard.
Gig'em Aggies!!!bsdc
Nov 6, 2002 12:29 PM
Whoooooop!
Nice shots, Texas has some nice scenery. . .js5280
Nov 6, 2002 1:59 PM
besides the pretty Texas women.

Here's a nice shot I got off of Barton Creek in Austin. Check out these links for MTB ride reports over at MTBR. . .

Barton Creek:
http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.ef7ae7c

Emma Long/City Park:
http://forums13.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.ef7ae39
Austin is a great place to rideTig
Nov 6, 2002 2:48 PM
It can vary quite a bit there. The guys who were from Colorado never made it to the hillier trails (can't remember the names) that I raced on a bunch of years ago. There were some lung-busting climbs and wicked, twisty descents! I remember the best part of MTB racing was how it exposed you to so many different and beautiful trails across the state.

I'll bring my road bike to Austin during Thanksgiving when we visit my sis. She lives on the west side off of Bee Caves Road, which is where Lance and company like to train in the hills during the off season.
Nice shots, Texas has some nice scenery. . .AFrizzledFry
Nov 6, 2002 7:00 PM
hey, is Barton Creek in Austin? in the picture you posted at 10:09 on that link, i think i know know where that is. is that cliff on the right for climbing??? any info you can give would be great...b/c i can't remember the name of the place i went to climb down there for the life of me, and i think that that's it!

thomas
*bump*AFrizzledFry
Nov 7, 2002 7:42 PM
ahoy hoy!
I did 2.5 hours on our trail this evening.MXL02
Nov 6, 2002 4:05 PM
Rode from 3 pm to 5:30...finally got a nice day and had to go. My scenery wasn't nearly as nice...rode the Braes Bayou MUT...strip malls and rusting grocery carts in the bayou. Thanks for the picts!