RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


What should I my Replace Ultegra Shifters with?(18 posts)

What should I my Replace Ultegra Shifters with?homec
Nov 6, 2002 10:54 AM
My ultegra 9 shifter for the rear derailleur stopped working. I noticed on the product review message boards that most complaints were for this problem. Is there anything more reliable that I can use instead?

The shifter just stopped shifting. Something inside broke. I have a 1999 shifter - the one with both computer buttons on the same shifter that doesn't shift anymore
re: What should I my Replace Ultegra Shifters with?JS Haiku Shop
Nov 6, 2002 11:02 AM
I don't suppose '99 is still under warranty, but i remember reading that this was resolved in the last year or so. i had this problem on two 105 shifters (two different kits), one within one month and one within 6 months, both pre-2000 kits. i think it's a spring that actuates the return thingy that goes bad, or something, but don't get me telling lies.

if you get any other supporting info that this has been fixed in more recent (than '99) ultegra shifters, and were happy with your shifters before the problem, i say get another ultegra shifter (set).

-J
Among STI, only Dura Ace is probably more durable.Ray Sachs
Nov 6, 2002 11:09 AM
Depending on how addicted to STI you are, though, 9-speed barcons or downtube shifters are available for a small fraction of Ultegra or DA level STI shifters and they might just outlive you.

I have STI on one bike, but have barcons or downtubes on my others. With barcons in particular, the ONLY disadvantage I can find relative to STI is that it's tougher to shift while standing. When I have the STI bike, I tend to do that - when I'm on a different bike I don't really miss it. If you do a lot of standing shifts, bite the bullet and get another Ultegra or Dura Ace shifter. Otherwise, barcons are pretty bullet proof.

-Ray
Dura-Acesoup
Nov 6, 2002 11:10 AM
It's the perfect time to upgrade-- much better shifting, from what I hear. This is a pretty good deal, and from one of the RBR advertisers:

http://www.bikesmart.com/?menu=browse&pgid=52&cid=SHT&ssid=PAHMOAFJGKCEKDOK&afid=3

I've been looking at them myself, and my Ultegras are still working!

soup
Dura-Acelaffeaux
Nov 6, 2002 11:13 AM
Much better shifting? What exactly is "not good" about Ultegra? It shifts great.
Perhaps smoother and quieter thanks to the bearings. -nmTig
Nov 6, 2002 11:25 AM
Dura-AceSnyder
Nov 6, 2002 11:26 AM
I've read several times about Ultegra shifters rattle-ing and have experienced it myself for the past year or so. Does the Dura-Ace also have this problem?

-Snyder
ultegra shifter rattle...Lon Norder
Nov 6, 2002 12:23 PM
Here's the fix:

http://www.chainreaction.com/noisystilevers.htm
Homec, how about another set of Ultegra?Sintesi
Nov 6, 2002 12:26 PM
Supposedly the rattle problem has been fixed. The added a robber thingy ( I don't know: Bushing?, Bumper? Buffer? Rubberbabybuggybumpers!?) between the two levers to dampen the rattle. People seem to be pretty happy with it but it's hard to tell how long they'll last. Two years seems to be the limit before the right shifter sh!ts the bed. If you know what I mean. But maybe they fixed that as well.

I upgraded to Dura-Ace this year and like it lots. The action has a more solid feel but I don't think it performs head and shoulders above Ultegra. However it is supposed to last longer. They don't call it DURA-Ace for nothing. The price difference is ~$60. I guess it depends on how much you want to spend doesn't it?
Dura-Ace better deal.look271
Nov 7, 2002 6:20 AM
From supergo, a partner store. (It'll save you about $50!)
http://www.supergo.com/itemdisplay.asp?compflag=1&parentid=8211&company=Shimano&secid=7559&subid=1814
Try downtube friction shifters...very reliablescary slow
Nov 6, 2002 11:27 AM
great adviceFez
Nov 6, 2002 11:34 AM
although a few rides up hills will make you change your mind.

most people don't go back from STI shifters to downtube shifters.
great advicescary slow
Nov 6, 2002 12:11 PM
oh, believe me I don't plan on going back. but if you want reliability you can't argue with downtube shifters...or a fixed gear...now there's reliability for you. personally, i've never had any problems with ultegra sti. i've got a set of old 600 sti's on one bike and they are still going strong.
Dura-Ace!bsdc
Nov 6, 2002 12:28 PM
I have bikes with Ultegra and Dura-Ace. The Dura-Ace shifters have a shorter, crisper lever action. If I were to upgrade one piece on my Ultegra bike it would be the STI shifters.
re: What should I my Replace Ultegra Shifters with?koala
Nov 6, 2002 3:46 PM
Full Campy chorus!
Ultegrabenja15
Nov 6, 2002 7:48 PM
New Ultegra is good stuff. DA is so much more. buy a replacement at a good deal and even if it breaks youll probably be able to afford relpacing it again without comming near the DA price.
Maybe try fixing it.trekster
Nov 7, 2002 3:30 PM
I took mine apart and fixed it. It was the inside lever that didn't work anymore. There is a little pivoting pawl inside that is controlled by a spring. This spring is what broke. There is a 90 degree bend on the end of the spring that hooks on the pawl. It broke right at the bend. I took a pair of needle nose and bent a new end on the spring. It ended up taking a couple hours to take apart and put back together, but it worked fine after that. Good luck
re: What should I my Replace Ultegra Shifters with?homec
Nov 7, 2002 6:16 PM
Thanks for all the great input. I ordered Dura Ace shifters. Now that the weather is bad, I don't feel so bad about dismantling my bike.

Do you know how water proof the shifters are? I have heard of headsets getting flooded and ruined during one ride in heavy rain. Do shifters have the same problem?