RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Rolf question(8 posts)

Rolf questioncydswipe
Nov 5, 2002 4:44 PM
Aside from year differences like 1999 to 2000. Are there differences between Rolf Vector Comps? My Comps are aero with bladed spokes from '99. I've seen other Vector Comps that are different. How come? There are a lot of folks on this board who HATE the Rolf's. Some, like me, who have never had a problem. What's the deal?
How different?Lone Gunman
Nov 5, 2002 5:02 PM
Don't think there was any difference other than rim color between the years. Rolf autographed my wheelset, 2 weeks ago Trek warranteed them because a Trek Rep broke them trying to repair them for the second time this season because water got into the hub and destroyed things inside. That was my only complaint, I am gentle on equipment. They were always true and could take a pretty good hit, I always liked them but the design of the rear hub allows water to get in and make a mess of things.
interesting info.........CARBON110
Nov 5, 2002 7:01 PM
In fact, Rolf is on the come back.The designers plan on releasing two new wheels this year. One is carbon the other aluminum. They are 34 mm deep and have he paired spoke technology. It was stated that Trek apparently would not allow this design when they owned it and now the CEO's are attempting to re-introduce Rolf to bike world. A little late in the game considering how many wheelsets are available now BUT the aluminum 34 mm deep aero wheel is .... 1400 +20-20 grams. Thats impressive for any clincher.
Rolf's are good wheelsUncle Tim
Nov 5, 2002 7:02 PM
Although Rolf's are no longer supplied on new bikes (I think 2001 model Treks were the last to offer them), I think the consensus is that they have been a success. There are still lots of guy and gals out there riding and racing on Rolf's. And the Bontragers we see today appear to be clones.

My review of the Rolf Vector Comps is that they are good wheels. Yeah, they're heavy by today's standard but they are very strong and dependable. They are very stiff, good for racing but not quite as compliant as a traditional 3X laced wheel.

The hubs are good, maybe not great, and they are well sealed. I know of guys who are putting tons of miles (10,000 -20,000) on them without even servicing the bearings. I'm riding on a set that I plan to wear out before replacing with a new handbuilt set. I've gotten well over 10,000 miles on them with absolutely no problems. I won't be building that set of wheels anytime soon.

The bladed spokes are strong and once you get the spokes up to the proper tension, they should provide thousands of miles without truing. Just keep an eye on the spokes and don't let them back out and loosen up on you. But once those bad boys are locked in when everything is right, you should have no problems.
Info on new RolfsJambo
Nov 6, 2002 6:42 AM
I don't know about the Comps, but I had a set of Vector Pros and I loved them. I would definitely buy another set.
Check this out. Rolf is back, and it looks like a couple of guys from Trek joined with him.

http://www.freewheel.com/rolf/press-release.htm

http://www.rolfprima.com/
BearingsTrekFurthur
Nov 6, 2002 6:58 AM
There were differences in the bearings used in very early versions; as such, replacements are not easily found, if at all. Unfortunately, Trek does not warranty worn bearings. Again, these were early versions; the later ones (2000-2001) all seem to have good reputations, outside of the odd broken spoke.
Bearings under warranty?Uncle Tim
Nov 6, 2002 7:43 AM
It's never occurred to me that bearings would be under warranty. I've never had any trouble finding bearings. All you need to know is the size and the quality you desire.

Let me add a comment about Rolf Wheels:

I've been around enough to see that the Rolf Wheels are good performers. I've seen riders who've put them through incredible tests of dependabilty.

That said, I am not so sure I buy all the hype about the greatness of "paired spoking". It looks good and it adds a sleek factor to the design, but in terms of practicality I see no true benefit. The spokes used are simply stronger, especially the bladed ones. That takes away the need to cross, not the "paired spoking". Even with the reduced spoke count, the wheels are still heavy.

Besides, the primary weakness of limited spoking and paired spoking is that a broken spoke is a major event.
Bearings under warranty?TrekFurthur
Nov 6, 2002 10:43 AM
The particular type of bearings to which I refer are cartridge and literally cannot be found anymore. You are out of luck if you own this era of Rolf wheels; got a buddy now who's probably going to have to buy a new set of wheels.