RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Hydration and caffinated drinks. . .(10 posts)

Hydration and caffinated drinks. . .js5280
Nov 5, 2002 2:02 PM
Alright, had to bring this up as I sit and drink my Diet Coke before a ride. Does drinking a caffinated drink count as hydration? The argument goes that caffine is a diarrhetic. So if you drink a 12oz drink with caffine, is the hydration reduced, say like drinking 8-10 oz of water or does the caffine totally negate the liquid intake. I can't believe it would be the later. Anyone ever heard studies on this?

I guess the same thing could be said about alcohol. If I drink a beer, do I at least get some hydration benefits. I willing to accept multi-million dollar grants to study the subject if needed. I might need JS's help too ;-)

Do forget to vote JS5280 for Benevolent Dictator!
re: Hydration and caffinated drinks. . .gala7516
Nov 5, 2002 2:50 PM
diarrhetic (n.)
Tending to increase the discharge of excessive and frequent evacuation of watery feces

The caffine will reduce hydration if it leaves your body in a mess of watery feces!

I think that caffine is a diuretic. Interesting question.
True, I restrict morning coffee on ride days (eeeeww) NMSpunout
Nov 6, 2002 5:00 AM
re: Hydration and caffinated drinks. . .brider
Nov 5, 2002 2:55 PM
When caffiene is ingest just prior to or during exercise (in moderate amounts), the diuretic effects are lessened dramatically. However, when ingesting them at normal rest, they DO tend to negate SOME of the hydrating effect of the beverage. Best advice? Drink as much water as you do caffienated beverage or beer (while you're drinking it) in addition to your normal hydration.
I've read, but don't really KNOW...retro
Nov 5, 2002 3:04 PM
...that caffeine reduces the hydrating ability of the drink by about one-third. Seems high to me, but what do I know? When I was a marathoner, 20 or so years ago, there was a school of thought that you should have a cup of coffee before a race; supposedly it improved performance. I couldn't drink carbonated stuff when I was running (too much jiggling?), but it doesn't bother me on the bike. I'm a conscientious hydrator anyway, and I enjoy a nice cold Diet Coke after a workout.
Definitely! Replace Coke with Beer! (Mmmm, Coopers!) -nmSnowBlind
Nov 5, 2002 8:59 PM
re: Hydration and caffinated drinks. . .TrekFurthur
Nov 6, 2002 7:03 AM
Drinking caffeinated beverages right before riding is not going to harm hydration that much; if you're not hydrated by then, it's too late. However, on a regular basis, drinking lots of caffeine will probably interfere with hydration (on the order of a six-pack of cokes a day, or the equivalent of coffee), but I've read recently that the effect is not as bad as was previously thought. Even now, though, I try to limit my coffee to no more than four cups (one of the few vices left) and try to drink 2 liters of WATER a day.

You've probably got a better chance of the carbonation given you a hard time on the bike rather than the caffeine when drinking a coke right before riding (the pros drink flat coke). Remember, caffeine is a performance-enhancing drug.
re: Hydration and caffinated drinks. . .VVS
Nov 6, 2002 7:17 AM
For me, it's a diuretic. An a.m. ride after drinking coffee (vs. the same volume of non-caffeine liquids) requires an extra pit stop. Any performance benefit is lost by the side of the road.
Living in the past......Tunji
Nov 6, 2002 8:45 PM
You guys that have posted thus far are living in the past, as far as the caffinated drinks that are available. I've been running marathons since 1979 & cycling. While it is true that the caffeine in coffee is a diuretic, you can still attain that boost that you get from coffee from other sports beverages, without the deleterious effect on the body you get from coffee (w/ cream & sugar?). If you must have it, I suggest drinking 1/2 can or more of Adrenlin Rush or Red Bull, followed by your favorite electrolite replacement drink (GatorAide). Pour a can of A.R. or R.B. into your hydration system along with a gatoraide type drink and water or both. We've done this without any noticable affect on our heart-rates. There are also some nice Gels with caffine. (Power Gel Tangerine (double caffine) GU, also Cliff Gel. We drank' cola back when Frank Shorter & Bill Rogers were running. Tell me what you think!
Living in the past?TrekFurthur
Nov 8, 2002 11:12 AM
Guess I didn't make my point clearly enough, as I was trying to say what you're saying. There are a number of other health issues, besides performance, related to caffeine intake, but I like a little caffineated CliffShot while on a ride, and the one time I drank a RedBull just before a ride I thought I could have ridden to the moon. Man, is that stuff scary!

His specific question, if I remember right, was would the caffeine hurt him by drinking it right before riding. I would say no. If anything, the bubbles would maybe cause gastrointestinal problems, but the caffeine would help his performance presumably.