RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Need New Tires!!(25 posts)

Need New Tires!!Kunfoochi
Nov 4, 2002 4:52 PM
I just realized with my new bike coming soon, I'm going to need new tires, as I'm going to want to ride it as soon as it gets here...I don't have much experience buying tires, and I'd like to get something fairly cheap that will give me good performance and longevity. Any suggestions?

Thanks
axial carbonweiwentg
Nov 4, 2002 5:32 PM
I use those. however, my experience has been limited to Michelins. I've heard good things about Conti Ultra 2ks and Conti Gatorskins. there are people who train on the higher end tires like Axial Pros, GP 3000s, Vredestein Fortezzas and whatnot. at your weight, don't do that.
axial carbon--second!Andy M-S
Nov 5, 2002 2:33 AM
I'll second the nomination. I've used a variety of tires, and the Carbons have held up the best of any. You can get them for around $25 each at www.lickbike.com. An odd place, but they're good.
--third: Lots of miles. Pro Race great, but thinner. NMSpunout
Nov 5, 2002 4:47 AM
axial carbon--second!Kunfoochi
Nov 5, 2002 6:06 AM
I've decided I don't really want to spend $30, and Nashbar/Performance won't pricematch Lickbike on the Michelins...How are the Michelin Axial SuperComps? I'm thinking of using the Road Tire - Buy 3 and Save deal at performance.

Thanks
AVOID Supercomps. Have you read Reviews here? NMSpunout
Nov 5, 2002 6:42 AM
Axial Supercomps--not so hot.Andy M-S
Nov 5, 2002 7:24 AM
Bought 6. Had 'em. Tried 'em. Lumpy, flat-prone. I returned them to Performance, who won my gratitude by refunding my money for all 6, including the one with a hole in it.
Price range?Kerry
Nov 4, 2002 5:53 PM
You can get Michelin Pro Race and Conti GP 3000 for around $30 at various retailers who have web sites. For cheaper tires, Conti Ultras, Panaracer, Performance Forte all seem to have their supporters.
Price range?Kunfoochi
Nov 4, 2002 6:13 PM
I'd like to spend around $30 a piece.

Thanks
Conti GP 5K miles and still going on mine.PEDDLEFOOT
Nov 5, 2002 5:14 AM
re: Need New Tires!!pmf1
Nov 5, 2002 5:42 AM
Its worth spending money on quality tires. You'll get less flats that way. Saves money on tubes and ends up a wash compared to buying cheap tires (except you get to practice fixing flats with cheap tires).

I've had good luck with Michelin -- either Axial Pro or Axial Carbon. The latter wear really well. Vredsten and Hutchinson are also good. I've had less luck with Continental -- nice tires, but wear fast and are prone to getting cuts.

www.labicicletta.com has good deals on tires.If you can swing it, maybe with a friend, their case prices are great deals.
re: Need New Tires!!Kunfoochi
Nov 5, 2002 6:19 AM
I agree with you, but as some of you may know from my bike buying process, I like to get a lot for a little!:)...how are these? I read the reviews, some of them say it's great some say it stinks...but they're only $15.

Thanks
Need more infopmf1
Nov 5, 2002 6:26 AM
What tire are you asking about?

And hey, nothing wrong with looking for bargains. I've never paid retail for anything cycling related.
Need more infoKunfoochi
Nov 5, 2002 6:28 AM
http://www.nashbar.com/profile.cfm?category=121&subcategory=1085&brand=&sku=3403&storetype=&estoreid=

Nashbar has the Conti Ultra 3000s for $17...how's that?
Buy em'.I'm ordering mine right now!!PEDDLEFOOT
Nov 5, 2002 6:33 AM
Need more infoKunfoochi
Nov 5, 2002 6:34 AM
http://www.nashbar.com/profile.cfm?category=121&subcategory=1085&brand=&sku=3403&storetype=&estoreid=

Nashbar has the Conti Ultra 3000s for $17...how's that?
Need more infopmf1
Nov 5, 2002 7:08 AM
I've never had great luck with Conti tires. They are great riding, but made of soft rubber that gets sliced open easily.

That said, for $17, how can you lose? I'd probably buy some myself except that I have a dozen or so tires sitting in my basement (4 of which are Conti GP 3000's -- yellow and I figured would look pimpin on my Colnago). I got a great deal form that UK site (sdeals?) before it closed up.

At $17 each, get 5.
sdeals website is back up--very good tire prices (nm)djg
Nov 5, 2002 7:20 AM
COOL!pmf1
Nov 5, 2002 7:38 AM
This place has some amazing prices on tires. Seems like their inventory is a little less than it used to be, but still, where else can you get Vreds or Conti GP's for around $20?
They are the heavier wired bead not the Kevlar....Juanmoretime
Nov 5, 2002 9:13 AM
from Nashbar. I haven't ridden them yet although many of my friends have gone to Veloflex and love them. I still have a stash of Michelin Axial Pro lights, which are my favorite tire.
addendumpmf1
Nov 5, 2002 9:22 AM
I didn't notice that they are wire beaded. I usually avoid wire beaded tires. They're heavier and less puncture resistant than kevlar beaded tires. They are also a pain in the butt to take on and off the wheel. $17 is not such a good deal for these. I'd look for a foldable kevlar belted tire if I were you.
My experience with Contis is the oppositeAllez Rouge
Nov 5, 2002 9:23 AM
I've ridden nothing but Continentals for 10 years, first plain old Ultras and more recently Ultra 2000s, and they've done so well that every time I needed to buy tires and thought about trying another brand, I ended up getting Contis again. They wear well, ride decently, and I literally cannot remember the last time I had a flat out on the road. Five years? At least that.

That said, I do recognize that by sticking to one brand I probably don't know what I'm missing, so I hereby pledge to try something else the next time my bike needs new shoes ...
more info on ultra3000'sBenR
Nov 5, 2002 8:19 PM
Ultra 3000s have been discontinued. Basically, they are an Ultra 2000 casing with the softer, stickier, racier, supposedly faster silica rubber compound from the Grand Prix 3000 slapped on top. Thus, the rolling resistance and ride characteristics are almost identical to the Ultra 2000 with a better grip, but they will wear & slice up faster. The GP 3000's will actually last longer than either ultra 2 or 3000 because they have more rubber and a Kevlar puncture resistant belt underneath, so you can run them down to chords before discarding. They also have a more expensive casing which = better ride and lower rolling resistance. Ultra 2000's and especially 3000's, with the softer rubber, will start flatting as your rubber runs out. Ultra 3000's never really had a niche in the market - they weren't a high-mileage training tire but they weren't a great race tire either. I would still get a bunch for $17 each.

If you can find Grand Prix's cheap, they would be my first choice, since they have the nice Grand Prix 3000 casing but have the less sticky, longer lasting rubber compound that is also on the Ultra 2000. Very nice riding tire, very long life. For that reason, they are hard to find on sale, even in Europe.
re: Need New Tires!!BenR
Nov 5, 2002 5:54 PM
If you aren't worried about weight or storage convenience, you can pretty good deals on wire-bead tires. They are no more or less puncture resistant than the equivalent Kevlar BEAD (has nothing to do with a puncture belt) model. They are heavier, sometimes a bit more difficult to get off of a rim, but less variation in difficulty than between some brands.

I've been using wire bead Continental ultra 2000's for 4 years and think they are great. I've been getting them from my LBS for $20-22 which seems fair. I'll keep supporting him since their shop has been very service oriented. These tires are a good compromise between durability and performance since I still like to at least feel like I can still race in the winter! For 1/2 the price they are slightly rougher, slower, and less sticky than the Conti GP 3000 and last just as long. I haven't tried the Michelin carbon comp or whatever it is called - lot's of people seem to swear by it as a training tire. I tried Michelins a long time ago and found them to be short-lived and rough riding - but that seems to have changed. Stay away from Vittoria or Specialized since both produce inferior products for high prices and have quality control issues. I don't know anything about other brands - maybe look at Veloflex???

My all-around favorite tire is the Michelin Pro Race. It's silky smooth and very secure feeling in the corners. Also very low rolling resistance - not as low as ultra-thin tires, but still impressive. It's better than any clincher that Continental makes and I can't seem to wear my current set out. Continental's top end tires still have a lovely road feel that I can't describe which is really noticable on a high-end steel frame. If you are riding aluminum or are strictly concerned about performance, I would go with Michelin. check out www.sdeals.com - You can get high-end tires for dirt-cheap prices, if you aren't in a rush to get them. those euros can be agonizingly slow sometimes.
re: Need New Tires!!Kunfoochi
Nov 6, 2002 2:08 PM
I figured the better I bought, that longer they'd last...so I went ahead and bought the Continental Grand Prix 3000s. When they get here I'll let you all know how they are...

Thanks!!