RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


OLN Rant(27 posts)

OLN Rantdave woof
Nov 4, 2002 2:22 PM
Argghhhh

What the heck is up with OLN? They advertised the World Championship at 4:00 eastern - 2:00 Az time yesterday. I sit around waiting for it and at 2:00 some stupid outdoor show is on. I've been to the OLN web site and dloaded the cycling schedule - so far I've only caught one cycling broadcast, that was the review show for bike stuff.

Are they screwed up or am I all wrong about the scheduling?

Dave Arggghhhh
OLN has been screwed upms
Nov 4, 2002 2:35 PM
I came home from a ride yesterday around 3:45 p.m. EST, looked at the TV Guide listing on television (the cable station with the rolling TV listings) and saw that the Worlds were on at 4:00 p.m. When 4:00 p.m. came around, I saw the same stupid outdoor show. About a week or two ago, I was channel surfing, stopped on OLN and saw cycling coverge when they had advertized that the Louis Vuitton Cup was going to be shown. Go figure.
Cut 'em a little slack . . .Look381i
Nov 5, 2002 2:31 AM
The LV races have been scheduled almost daily for a long while. On 10/24, after the TdF announcement and route show, the LV race was cancelled because of foul weather. Instead of running another yachting or fishing show, they had the good sense to rerun the 2002 TdF summary.

The OLNTV website is usually correct for my area, but not always. Because much of their coverage is live, OLN has to improvise on occasion.
re: OLN RantOuch
Nov 4, 2002 3:40 PM
They seemed to have been a bit flaky on cycling coverage after the Vuelta ended. I've yet to catch cycling as scheduled on the web site.

O Arrrrgggh.
re: OLN RantJaeP
Nov 4, 2002 6:42 PM
I live here on the west coast and I was able to tape the Worlds. Instead of seeing 'Cipo capture the rainbow jersey I saw a Botero win the time trail. Sigh. The Women's elite road race is slated for Nov. 7th. That should be interesting.
Yeah, I caught that tooGregJ
Nov 4, 2002 7:15 PM
And they broke for commercial every 3 minutes.
What the hell was that?El Caballito
Nov 4, 2002 11:36 PM
Yep, saw that too. I was all psyched to watch the lion king, instead they threw on the time trials. It would've been alright if not for the terrible coverage. OLN pretty much showed them start and finish in a hurry.

I said oh well, at least they're going to show mountain biking XC championship after. No luck instead they showed them stupid preppy boat races. WHAT THE HELL WAS THAT?
re: OLN RantTunji
Nov 4, 2002 9:15 PM
Obviously, OLN considers shooting a dear or a moose more important to there viewers than cycling. Yes, I was disapointed when the L.V. boat race was being shown as opposed to the WORLD ROAD! I guess that more of their viewers own yachts than own bikes. It's too bad, they were doing so well. We should all email this page to OLN.
re: OLN Rantadamo18
Nov 4, 2002 9:53 PM
During the Tour de France, if I heard that Lincoln Navigator commercial one more time, I swear I would have gone sterile. You know the commercial with the women at the grocery store racing to the cars before it rains. Its a great commercial once, not 176 times.
I love OLNScottland
Nov 5, 2002 6:08 AM
I taped all of the Giro, TDF and Vuelta, plus some smaller races and mountaing biking. I love Phill Liget/Paul Sherwen tandem (Bobke too). I just cut comercials. It is a pain in the a$$, but man I just watched Cipollini takes last stage in the Giro. Ecstatic.
Plus I do own Lincoln Navigator and I guess I'm traveling well.
lighten up, and get a life.husker
Nov 5, 2002 4:02 AM
It is simple. No OLN, no cycling, period. How much coverage did you have before? Yeah, thats right, CBS once a week in July. I hate the Navigator commercial as well, but at least OLN is showing cycling. Stop whining about it, you sound like a bunch of spoiled, rich teenagers.
You Ba$tard, wait 'till I tell my Daddy about you ;-) (nm)Spunout
Nov 5, 2002 4:56 AM
fisherman are protesting, tooScottland
Nov 5, 2002 6:16 AM
and imagine the fisherman or yaht owners. How much they hate: "freedom, that's what I need(om)" or adevertisements for TDF every ten minutes in July.
I can live with most OLN problems, but Bill Patrick has to goms
Nov 5, 2002 6:45 AM
The posts above are right. We sound like spoiled teenagers, without OLN we would see very little cycling on TV, the fishermen and hunters probably see red every time they turn on OLN and see skinny, non-manly men wearing lycra and riding bikes, etc. BUT, there is something about which all OLN viewers should be able to agree -- Bill Patrick has to go. I watched the Worlds TT last Thursday and then saw the lead into the Louis Vuitton cup before I changed the channel. Bill Patrick was doing the same kind of intro to the LV cup as he did for the Tour de France. I know nothing about yachting, but Bill's intro seemed as lame as his Tour commentary. Why does OLN keep inserting this guy where he does not belong. Does he crop up in the hunting and fishing shows, too?
Agreed, Bill Patrick is no Phil Liggett, but ...Allez Rouge
Nov 5, 2002 6:58 AM
... it seems like EVERY network has at least one talking head who is a Jack Of All Sports and A Master Of None. I think announcers like Patrick fill in when there's no one else available: after all, a small, specialty network like OLN can hardly afford to employ the world's best for every sport it covers. The situation is hardly unique, and could definitely be a lot worse (I'm thinking here of certain on-air personalities on The Big Three networks, but won't name names because my momma always said, "If you can't say anything nice about someone ...").
At least he's got presentation skills...VertAddict
Nov 5, 2002 7:09 AM
He's got a "presence" at least, unlike Frankie Andreu, who's segments in the last TDF were like nails on the chalkboard for me. I know he was a good cyclist, but someone get that guy some training in interviewing.
I agree with you on Frankiems
Nov 5, 2002 7:22 AM
A few weeks ago I was home sick and watched several days worth of TdeF tapes from OLN. Frankie definitely was a low point in the coverage. I also agree with you that Bill Patrick has presence. But, is he necessary? I think that the Giro and Vuelta coverage was far superior to the TdeF coverage, with all of its filler material. Maybe OLN feels that it has to "dumb down" the TdeF coverage for a broader audience with things like Bill Patrick's commentaries and Frankie's interviews. I would be curious to know what the ratings and viewer demographics for the TdeF were as opposed to those for the Giro and Vuelta.
Good question about the "dumbing down" thingAllez Rouge
Nov 5, 2002 7:42 AM
For all three grand tours, I taped the live broadcasts each morning and watched them that night, rather than watching the taped and edited versions as they aired in prime time. I did, however, catch a couple of the prime time shows on the weekends and noticed that they contained a LOT more filler, and less actual on-the-road action, than the morning shows. This was particularly true for Le Tour. Perhaps OLN felt that a casual prime-time viewer might look at the peloton cranking along a nondescript piece of road and think, "I don't get it. They're just riding their bikes. When will they start racing?" IOW, it's similar to the reaction many people who don't understand baseball have when they're watching a no-hitter: to them it looks indescribably dull, but to a knowledgable fan it's as good as it gets.

Thanks to Lance's success, even Americans who have not been on a bicycle since they were kids have at least heard of Le Tour, so maybe OLN did "dumb down" the evening coverage in an attempt to appeal to a wider audience. Which would not be a bad thing in the long run, come to think of it. But I'm glad they didn't water down the live morning shows -- the more actual racing I get to watch, the better.
this years live tour coverage...rufus
Nov 5, 2002 8:10 AM
was a bit watered down compared to last year. last year, during the morning live show, they didn't insert the pre-taped bobke soliloquies, or interviews with the riders, or features on equipment. they saved those for the evening coverage, and kept the morning's live coverage focused entirely on the racing.

unfortunately this year, they felt they had to insert frankie's and bob's bits even during the morning coverage, which i didn't care for at all. if they want to do that, please keep it to the nighttime coverage, where they can be slotted in, but don't cut away from live events to show us frankie talking about helmets, or bobke imbuing us about "the fetid breath of death" or whatever. and i liked the vuelta or giro coverage much better, when they cut right to phil and paul instead of having another announcer do voiceover first.

also unfortunate if i'm recalling correctly from when he was on espn, but i'm afraid that my alma mater and its broadcasting department is responsible for the presence of bob patrick. sorry.
sorry, ....BILL patrickrufus
Nov 5, 2002 8:12 AM
A valid complaintMel Erickson
Nov 5, 2002 7:43 AM
The complaint isn't about the coverage or lack thereof or about the quality of the coverage. The complaint is about getting their schedules right. Is it too much to ask that a major national cable network get their schedules right? These guys are suposedly professionls. Getting a schedule correct seems pretty simple in comparison to all it takes to produce their shows.
Yes, it is a valid complaint.Allez Rouge
Nov 5, 2002 7:56 AM
Consider, however, that when the stages of the grand tours ran overtime when they aired live each morning, OLN stayed with the race, and the podium ceremonies too, every day, without exception. This happened several times during the Giro and TdF, and almost EVERY day of La Vuelta. On those days there were no doubt a lot of hacked-off hunters who had tuned in to watch "Hunting With Hank" only to find a bunch of goofy-looking guys on bicycles filling their screens. So we've got to take the good with the bad. I think the comment that there's going to be some last-minute changes when dealing with so many live broadcasts is on the money.
Live coverage is not an issue hear.Mel Erickson
Nov 5, 2002 3:05 PM
The complaint is about showing a taped outdoor show instead of the Worlds. It's not a case of a live show running over. Their schedules have been very screwed up when it comes to cycling. Most of the mistakes are not because of live shows. I really don't understand the problem. I enjoy many outdoor shows too and some of their schedules are screwed up too. Seems to me they need a bit more organization.
Live coverage is not an issue hear.Allez Rouge
Nov 5, 2002 3:14 PM
Okay. The only scheduling screw-ups or changes I have *personally* noticed were related to the LV Cup races, as discussed in this thread. If there's more to it than that, I stand corrected.
Spoiled Babiesnoveread
Nov 5, 2002 8:22 AM
I'm sorry, but this bashing of OLN is very dstasteful. I've been waiting for the WC and have been carefully watching OLN's promos for it. I knew the race would be the TT. They have repeatedly said: TT-WRR-MRR.

As for you people who think OLN ought to show just cycling coverage, get a clue. We're lucky to have it at all. This country isn't exactly made up of cycling fans.

As for complaining about the outdoor shows, get over it. You don't like them, fine. But those who do most likely don't care for cycling either. Can you imagine what they thought of our sport during the Giro/Tour/Vuelta? I'm pretty sure they didn't care for all the hours upon hours of cycling coverage that was shown every single day.

As for the LV cup. I love it. I marvel at those boats and what they can do. And I love OLN for showing coverage. And I am also looking forward to the FIS world cup.

OLN is great. They offer great programming for a bunch of sports that I enjoy at least watching, if not participating in. I'm sick an tired of listening to spoiled cyclists/anglers/hunters/whatever complain that OLN either doesn't show enough of their sport or how they tuned in expecting to get cycling and they get bullriding.

And the commercials. Yeah, perhaps during some 30min segments we are not getting our typical 22min of programming, but very rarely do I ever encounter this. Especially over the course of an entire broadcast if it is over 30min. I think maybe twice this year I came up with less than 22min average on cycling shows, and I would know, as I typically tape them and edit out the commercials so that I can use them as training tapes during the long winters here in WI.

Yep, this is a rant, but people around here do way too much bashing of OLN and not enough praising.

Hate to say it, but cyclists don't seem too tolerant of other sports/activities. And that is sad since so many claim such righteousness.

Andy
Well said, Andy.Allez Rouge
Nov 5, 2002 8:51 AM
Saying that CYCLISTS don't seem too tolerant of other sports or activities is maybe a bit harsh, I think the same can be said of virtually ANY group of people that has one main interest, but I take your point.

I bought a satellite dish for one reason and one reason only: OLN. It was not available on the local cable system and when the TdF rights went from ESPN to OLN, I got on the phone to DIRECTV. OLN's coverage may not be perfect, the unannounced scheduling changes are frustrating, seeing the same five commercials nine thousand times over the course of a three-week tour does get old. But it's still waaaaaay better than the 30-minute highlight shows we used to get on ESPN, fully half of which was a recap of what had happened the day before. And we don't even want to think about the alleged "coverage" of Le Tour that CBS provides on Sundays.

One other point: major kudos to OLN for signing Phil Liggett and Paul Sherwen. It just don't get no better than those two fellers.
We love Phill. Phill's saintScottland
Nov 5, 2002 12:58 PM