RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


since we're talking about numbers, care to share?(15 posts)

since we're talking about numbers, care to share?JS Haiku Shop
Nov 4, 2002 1:20 PM
so far this year, for J:

total miles: 5343.65

total time hrs/min: 292:20

overall average speed: 17.09 mph

maximum distance: 209.02 miles

minimum distance: 2 miles

fastest ride: 20.6 mph for 34.45 miles

slowest (recorded) ride: 12.5 mph for 7 miles

longest solo unsupported ride: 100.62 miles

longest solo supported stretch: 120 miles (out of 180.65)

longest ride in time hrs/min: 13:09

longest single speed ride: 73 miles 16.1 mph 42x16

shortest ride in time: didn't record

earliest departure: 1:30 AM

latest return: didn't record it

longest drive to a ride: 432.8 miles

most punctures in one ride: 3 (55 mile ride)

most climbing in one ride: reportedly 10,700 feet over 100.2 miles (6-gap century)

2002 firsts: first road race, first double century, first solo century, first >20 mph ride over 15 miles, first year
leading club rides, first year over 5000 miles, first sub-6 hour century, first almost-5-hour century (missed it by 4 minutes), first time doing any substantial night (dark--night or early AM) riding, first time changing puncture using peanut butter wrenches, first time riding >100 miles with one stop and with only what's on the bike or in the camelbak, first middle-of-the-night-solo-ride-to-watch-meteors-with-a-liter-of-burbon-and-a-2-liter-bottle-of-coke-in-my-backpack (actually late nov 2001), first time "liberating" a 3x3 =heavy= street sign using only a crescent wrench and a mountain bike (for shame!!!), first time wearing fancy-dancy I-talyun shoes, first time to ever get a hankerin' for a recumbent (another sign of the apocalypse).

you?
Ok.look271
Nov 4, 2002 1:37 PM
Total miles so far; 4000 + (a first for me)

longest fixed gear ride-100 miles @ 18+ mph

Longest drive to a ride-12 hrs +

Most vertical feet of in one ride; 7500 3/3 century.

Need more time for more numbers!
My Strange Stats.Gregory Taylor
Nov 4, 2002 1:41 PM
Distribution of Bike Rides - By Bike

Fixed Gear: 47.5%
Bianchi: 34.2%
Cannondale CAAD3: 17.8%
Dean Cuebra CTI: .5% (Wrecked on Maiden Run)

Distribution of Bike Rides - By Destination:

Commute to Work: 163 trips
Mason Neck with the Guys: 14 trips
Telegraph Road Loop: 7 trips
"Other" destinations: 16 trips
Road Races: 2 races

Coldest Ride This Year: 18 F. Degrees (January 2, 2002 - commute to work)

Number of Times Hit By Car: 1 (June 15, 2002)

Number of bikes destroyed: 1

Number of Times Asked "When Will Your New Bike Get Here?": Countless
re: since we're talking about numbers, care to share?merckx56
Nov 4, 2002 1:45 PM
miles:7902
hrs:???
avg:???
Max dist:101.1miles
Minimum: .45 miles to play poker at a friends house around the corner.
Fastest: Tuesday night crit--26.9 mph for 55 minutes.
slowest:see poker ride
solo:don't do it!
Longest ride time: 4:35
Single speed:??? no computer on fixed bike
Earliest depart: 7:30am
Latest return:@9:15pm wife calling cell phone wondering if I was dead!
Longest drive: 1 Hour! more than that and it's too bad!
Most punctures:not telling! that's bad luck to talk about!
Most climbing:6600 ft in 101.1 miles in north carolina. not bad for a 180 pound sprinter!
From memory (Since I'm on the road).Len J
Nov 4, 2002 2:28 PM
Milage (Pre accident) 7,200 + or -.
Hours: ???
Longest Solo: 125
Shortest: 5 miles with my wife (Who then flatted w/o a wrench to remove back wheel)
Fastest Ride: 22.4 for 35 miles (Wed night hammerfest)
# of accidents: 1
# of ambulance rides: 1
# of times a cute nurse cut my riding pants off: 1
# of weeks (so far) off the bike : 6 (GRRRRRRRRRRRRR)
Most climbing: 30,000 +ft in 300 miles over 3 days in the Tour de Montes in Late June
# of seats tried and discarded this year: 5
# of times I've had to true the first set of wheels I ever built: 0 (Including after hitting a car at 20mph. (I'd rather be lucky than good anytime).
# of times I've gotten nervous thinking about riding on the road again: Too many to count.

Len
Ave day 47.86 miles. Ave Century( 63 of them) 117.02MB1
Nov 4, 2002 3:48 PM
Days off 1 so my average ride is 48.01.

Longest fixte ride 131 miles.

Longest stretch of fixte riding 921 miles in 15 days.

Biggest month July 1709 miles.

2000+ estimated miles Miss M is ahead of me this year (she is not telling)
For those of you mathematically challanged.....Len J
Nov 5, 2002 4:40 AM
this is over 14,500 miles with 2 months to go.

You guys are animals.

Len
:-) nmMB1
Nov 5, 2002 4:59 AM
re: numbersbianchi boy
Nov 4, 2002 8:02 PM
total miles: 6067
total time hrs/min: 352:27
overall average speed: 17.2 mph
maximum distance: 100.5 miles
minimum distance: 16 miles
fastest ride: 20 mph for 27.5 miles (19.3 for 87.5 miles)
slowest (recorded) ride: 12.1 mph for 20 miles
longest solo unsupported ride: 54 miles
longest solo supported stretch: ??
longest ride in time hrs/min: 6:04
longest single speed ride: n/a
shortest ride in time: 1:00
earliest departure: 6:30 AM
latest return: 9:30 p.m.
longest drive to a ride: 900+ miles (NC to Wisc.)
most punctures in one ride: 1
most climbing in one ride: ??
highest weekly mileage: 451
highest monthly mileage: 951
2002 firsts: 20 mph ride, 900+ mile month, tire blowout, learning to change cassettes and chains

tarwheel/ bianchi boy
Don't use a computer, but here's what I've broken:swvegg
Nov 4, 2002 8:59 PM
1 Campy Proton rim (cracked down the weld)
1 C'dale full carbon fork (twisted dropouts)
1 Fizik Poggio saddle (rails seperated from shell)
2 DA STI shifters (one under warranty)
1 C'dale Hollowgram spider (bent, not broken) from the C'dale crank on the CAAD 6/7 bikes
1 T/A Specialties 52 tooth chainring (bent)
1 C'dale 39 tooth chainring (bent)
I don't have as many numbers, but. . .Mike P
Nov 5, 2002 4:41 AM
Just over 5650 miles so far.
335 hours.
Avg 16.8 mph.
My average speed is down this year as compared to last year, as expected, due to concentrating on the hills a lot more.

Smallest week: 15 miles.
Biggest week: 265 miles.

# of bikes broken: 1.
# of bikes built: 2; with one more frame on the way now.

Most enjoyable ride: 6 Gap Century.
Most painful ride (2nd most enjoyable): Cherohola Challenge.

My goals for the year changed in June. I was looking at riding only metric centuries until some time in June when I was talked into riding a century, solo 1st 40, with 3 others the last 60.

So this year I have ridden 4 centuries, Cherohola Challenge in 7:41/6:20, (total time/on-bike time), 3 State 3 Mtn Course (not the organzed ride date) in 7:00/6:30, 6 Gap in 6:21/6:10, and Sequatchie Valley Century, with 2 flats, in 6:35/6:15. Only one Metric, 3 State 3 Mtn, made it in 3:15 or so.

Overall, this year I feel like I have made more overall improvement in my riding than any other. Looking forward to next year!

Mike
Almost embarrassed to admit..4bykn
Nov 5, 2002 12:26 PM
I'll finish the year under 2000 miles.

Longest day: 71 mile "metric century"

Most fun: Hilly Hundred

Best memory: passing someone riding up Mount Tabor (I easily had 50 pounds on her)
Doesn't matter how much you ride as long as it is fun.MB1
Nov 5, 2002 3:16 PM
There is always someone that rides more than you, you always ride more than others.

It should always be about how much you enjoy your riding.
Amen MB1..n.m.koala
Nov 5, 2002 5:51 PM
most punctures in one ridenn23
Nov 5, 2002 6:55 PM
most punctures in one ride: 3

The 3rd was within 8 miles of the 1st. It was a pinch flat that happened because I was too bored to inflate to full pressure with the mini after fixing my 2nd flat ;)