RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anyone use shoe inserts?(22 posts)

Anyone use shoe inserts?Alex-in-Evanston
Nov 4, 2002 9:22 AM
My feet grew a bit recently and after a year of fighting the fact that my $200 Carnac's no longer fit, I picked up a pair of Northwaves. They fit great, but they've got a carbon sole and very thin a thin insert. Point being, I could use a little cushioning. Any suggestions on a good product?

Thanks,

Alex
Superfeet. nmNo_sprint
Nov 4, 2002 9:30 AM
don't be too quick to get those superfeet.Frith
Nov 4, 2002 10:12 AM
Alot of sales-people and alot of people in general rave about superfeet and try to reccomend them to everybody. I'm sure they work for some but I hate them... find them completely unconfortable. My feet aren't abnormal... average height arch, average width etc. I think superfeet are designed to be corrective, which means they attempt to change the shape of your foot. This can be potentially damaging so BE CAREFULL. The insoles I like the best are the dr. scholles(sp?) "sport" sole. I find most insoles on the market to be far too exagerated, perhaps because they are made to compensate for really high or really low arches. If your feet are pretty normal and you just want some shock absorbtion/cushioning try the dr. scholles... You can find them in most drug stores.
they work great for me.No_sprint
Nov 4, 2002 10:16 AM
Normal and narrow feet. Good arch from lots of good shoes. I've had other insoles and prefer these. They're great for sport and I recommend them for ski boots too.
Blue Superfeet work fine for my normal feet. (nm)Spunout
Nov 4, 2002 10:25 AM
Superfeet not correctiveTrekFurthur
Nov 4, 2002 11:52 AM
There are different type of feet, so not everything will work for everybody; also, there are different type of Superfeet (the blue signifying lower volume). It's possible you got another code--grey, for instance, would be high volume--but you don't say; of course, it's possible that your foot shape just doesn't work with their design. I know lot so folks who love Specialized's Body Geometry insoles and lots of folks who hate 'em.

Bottomline, insoles are like saddles; you may have to try a few. BTW, I just blue Superfeet in my road shoes, and grey in my MTB shoes.
Grey versus BlueGMS
Nov 4, 2002 12:25 PM
I went to Superfeet's site once and they seemed to indicate that their Grey ones were made especially for cycling, but everyone I know uses Blue ones. Which are thicker? What are the main differences?

Thank you.
Grey versus Blue53T
Nov 4, 2002 1:34 PM
I tried on the grey in Sidi G4s as instructed, but they felt too narrow, I could feel the edges under my foot. The blue had no such problem, so I went with blue. I've only got about 20 miles on them, since this is my off season. They take more volume than the stock liner, so the straps must be looser. The pains in my feet are different now than before, so they must be doing something. I'll reserve final judgement until after I get them broken in.
bzzzt, try again...merckx56
Nov 4, 2002 12:11 PM
Superfeet are NOT designed to be corrective. They are designed to, after a short time, confrom themselves to the natural shape of your foot. I have ridden and sold Superfeet for more than five years and never heard a complaint from anyone who has purchased them. You probably rode yours for a week and found them to be uncomfortable. That is the only complaint I've heard. True, they are very stiff and flat when you first begin using them, but after about 500 miles, they have conformed to your foot and are very comfy. After that, no more complaints!
Do you recommend a specific color for cycling shoes?Alex-in-Evanston
Nov 4, 2002 1:25 PM
Or does it depend on foot shape?

Thanks,

Alex
Do you recommend a specific color for cycling shoes?No_sprint
Nov 4, 2002 1:39 PM
I use the grey. I like them. I have narrow feet.
Blue for cycling and green for running!(nm)merckx56
Nov 4, 2002 4:04 PM
more specifically...Frith
Nov 4, 2002 2:15 PM
I found that the arch extended right across the midsole to the outside of the foot, and it was the that caused pain on my non-arch side.
I admit I only used them for about a week. I just could not get comfortable in them. I think mine were green, and I used them for hiking not cycling.
you were using the wrong insoles...merckx56
Nov 4, 2002 4:07 PM
While Superfeet maintains that any insole can be used for any purpose, the blue and grey are really cycling specific and the green are for running, walking or hiking shoes. I use green in my crosstrainers and they all but stopped my siatic (did I spell that right?) nerve pain!
No I wasn't...Frith
Nov 4, 2002 9:05 PM
I said I used green. I said I used them for hiking not cycling. You just said yourself that this is their intended purpose. Perhaps you should have read my post more carefully.
Sorry, I assumed you were using them for cycling...merckx56
Nov 5, 2002 7:31 AM
since this is a CYCLING board, not a freaking hiking board!
10 seconds of reading...Frith
Nov 5, 2002 12:40 PM
would have rendered your assumptions false. Read more. Assume less.
or you could have posted the disclaimer...merckx56
Nov 5, 2002 3:01 PM
that your post had little to nothing to do with cycling. Your post was akin to a bowhunter going on a duck hunting board to talk about the relative merits of 4-prong tips when someone asked a question about birdshot. Dope!
And speaking of assumptions, you said you thought Superfeet were custom orthotics. Ten seconds of research on their website would have nixed that bright idea! I hope no one asks you a question about Campy stuff! They'll likely get an answer about Suntour!
this is my last post on this thread.Frith
Nov 5, 2002 4:43 PM
You are making yourself look worse everytime you respond. From superfeet's website: "Superfeet provides this feature to correct over-pronation" I said that I thought they were corrective. I didn't think they were custom orthotics like you said I did. Another case of your lack of reading skills causing you to look like a fool. I'm sorry if you were offended by my dislike of superfeet. I realize that alot of people really like them. I don't. By the way not every post has everything to do with cycling. Questions originate from cycling and draw on whatever real world experience that can be applied. Your most recent post had absolutely nothing to do with cycling except for the ridiculous campy analogy that you no doubt threw in there to avoid being such a hypocrite. I'm done commenting on this subject now so if you choose to post more misinformation I will not be responding.
REI sells a bunch of insoles...Silverback
Nov 4, 2002 9:30 AM
REI (for one) has a big selection of insoles for all kinds of outdoor uses. I bought a couple after I read a story that said that's a place where athletic shoe manufacturers cut costs. Mine are thickish, for walking and running, but the local REI had some thinner ones that should work in cycling shoes.
If there's an actual shoe store left in your neighborhood (as opposed to shoe departments in bigger stores, or crapmongers like Payless), they sometimes have stiff, thin leather insoles that might work, too.
Superfeet Blue work for me <eom>Ogalthorpe
Nov 4, 2002 11:09 AM
Peterson Powerbed works for meDaveG
Nov 4, 2002 2:52 PM
I've been using the Peterson Powerbed insoles for several years and they work well for me. I don't use them so much for cushioning but for arch and heel support. I notice a distinct difference in comfort