RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Well, here it is...finally! =)(21 posts)

Well, here it is...finally! =)jtferraro
Nov 2, 2002 1:46 PM
Sorry the pic isn't the best, but it's the company's digicam and I'm happy just to be able to borrow it ocassionally!

I know, I know...its the poser USPS edition, right? I wasn't in love w/this paint scheme initially, either, but it has grown on me a bit. I had my LBS remove the Volkswagen logo and emblem from the left chain stay but, as you can see, kept the Shimano sticker on the right chain stay. Anyway, I got a super deal b/c this frameset was a left over '01. My LBS said they'd build it up w/Dura Ace(rather than Ultegra) and all other components identical to the '02 5200 for only $2100. I figured if I'm going for a carbon frameset and Dura-Ace components, I'd also like to go for a top wheelset. So, instead of going w/the Bontrager Race Lite wheelset, I decided to go w/the '03 Bontrager Race X-Lite wheelset, which now have the cutouts/shaved sections between spokes and are supposed to be lighter than the Mavic Ksyrium SL's. Their red trim matches the frameset's stickers quite nicely, too. ;-) I pretty much just paid the difference between the two wheelsets for the upgrade($300). The LBS didn't have the Bontrager Race X-Lite tires at the time so they installed the Michelin Pro Race tires, instead(from which I hear are maybe better overall than the Race X-Lites). They also supplied a ti railed Selle San Marco Aspide USPS edition saddle(the 5200 comes w/a chrome-alloy railed saddle). Overall this bike is closer to a 5500 now, rather than a 5200. The only parts I plan on replacing are the Bontrager Race seatpost, stem, and hbar. I'm thinkin' of swappin' out the post for a Thompson(or maybe something lighter) and once I figure out what length, and angle stem I want, and how much spacer height(if any), upgrade to a nicer/lighter stem and hbar. Also, right now the bike has Shimano SPD M-515 mtb pedals. This is only temporary, as the only shoes I presently own are SPD mtb shoes. The LBS gave me a decent deal on the pedals, at $35, so I didn't also have to invest in new road pedals and shoes right away. I have a VETTA V100 computer/heart rate monitor on order from my LBS, too and some nice water bottle cages. The head unit I ordered is in the red/white/blue USPS scheme, too. I know, I know...but it just goes better than the black or silver ones! The cages I have ordered are Blackburn's top of the line. I believe they are called the "chicane". They are supposed to be really light stainless steel(I think) and supposedly don't ruin your bottles. We'll see... We weighed the bike before it had it's bar tape installed(but did have the mtb pedals installed) and it weighed in @17lbs., 5 ounces(58cm - 56cm c-t) frame.

I think I made out well for my first real road bike purchase! Maybe I'll own a Colagno, Pinnarello, DeRosa, or a Richard Sachs someday, but I'm more than happy w/starting out on an OCLV! Thanks to all you great roadies out there for all your advice and words of wisdom! This board is great!! Now that I finally have a road bike, I hope to be able to contribute more, too! =) Speaking of contributing, I want to go for a ride but it's damn cold in Connecticut! This is supposed to be a cold weekend - maybe even a record setter for early November. :(

-Jeff
Have fun with it.Ride safe.TREKY
Nov 2, 2002 2:32 PM
Be a man. Go outside and ride.look271
Nov 2, 2002 2:56 PM
You know you want to =). Nice bike. Have fun!
Be a man. Go outside and ride.Scottland
Nov 2, 2002 3:24 PM
Congrat. Nice bike.
And yes go out and ride
(just came back from ride equiped with all the baklavas, lobsters and whatnot)
Man! Baklavas,lobster gloves,etc,where r u? How cold was it? nmjtferraro
Nov 2, 2002 6:02 PM
Agreed, got out and ride until they salt the roads......spc15
Nov 2, 2002 3:34 PM
...then get on rollers and ride indoors some more; until spring that is!!!!!

Congratulations, nice bike, it should bring you many miles of smiles...
MOUNTAIN BIKE PEDALS!?!?!weiwentg
Nov 2, 2002 3:54 PM
just kidding, I assure you. I ride MTBs myself.
good to see you got the stem length issue sorted out. it does not look too short. if you have a Dura Ace BB installed, buy the BB tool and grease it often. you'll see many negative reviews on the BB in the review section. if you take care of it properly, none of that will come to pass. just grease it quarterly, unless you ride in truly foul weather.
my advice? don't worry about the stem and handlebars too much if your position is OK. I might upgrade the post; Thomsons are utterly indestructible and very secure. but the stem and handlebars, so long as they don't break, aren't going to slow you down.
Heyyy...weiwentg...jtferraro
Nov 2, 2002 5:58 PM
Really? You ride mtb pedals on your road bike? Is that just a temporary thing or do you prefer mtb pedals over road pedals? I still have yet to figure out what type of road pedals(and shoes) I want.

The stem presently is a 100mm. I think I'm in between a 90mm and a 100mm - guess a 95mm but I don't think they make them in that size, right? Fortunately, I'm used to be stretched out on my mtb and hope to stay w/the 100mm stem. I also hope to reduce my 30mm of spacers and maybe even go...eventually...w/a stem that is parallel w/the floor(-17 degrees?).

Yup, I have the Dura-Ace BB installed(as far as I know...I should). Hmm...that might explain why Klein uses an Ultegra BB on their top of the line bikes! Thanks for the advice in taking care of it. I plan on heeding to it! When you suggest I buy the BB tool, is that to remove the BB to regrease it?

Thanks again,

-Jeff
Heyyy...weiwentg...weiwentg
Nov 2, 2002 6:35 PM
95mm isn't a common length. you could find out what the reach for your handlebars is, and get a pair of handlebars with different reach. I know Salsa makes custom stems. but road bike position is definitely different from MTB position. ride the bike a bit more. see how everyone else is fit on their bike, but DON'T copy them blindly.
yes, the DA BB tool will enable you to remove Dura Ace and XTR (M950) bottom brackets. you just need to remove the adjustable cup, which is on the left. spray degreaser in, wait overnight, wash it out, and regrease. if you're lazy, like me, just regrease. I assure you I haven't had problems in the 6 months I've had the BB.
here's Park Tools' instructions: http://www.parktool.com/repair_help/FAQadjbb.shtml
I know that Performance sells the tool, but I'm sure the LBS has it. incidentally, Lemond and Sampson Sports also use Ultegra BBs. some madman on MTBR's weight weenie forums once asked about using a DA BB on his MTB, which is going a bit far. the sealing is poor.
I don't actually ride my Egg Beaters on the road bike, but I did during the summer, so I could get used to them. now, they alternate between the cross and mountain bikes. very nice pedals, but I wouldn't use them for road riding. I prefer the Speedplays.
a -17 degree stem will be parallel to ground. remember, though, that comfort comes first: if you're in great pain, it is difficult to go fast. the racing position with 2" of drop or more is just that: a racing position. if you have the flexibility, and you decide that you want to race and adopt that position, then great. but you don't have to go so low even if you do race. it's a matter of personal preference. don't worry about the stem yet.
if you like light, double-sided pedals, and do not have huge feet, I can definitely recommend the Speedplays. but pedals are an intensely personal choice. the Time Impacts look to provide a large platform at a relatively low weight, but can get costly. Campy Pro-fits provide a platform roughly the size of a Look, but are lighter (and let's admit it, they look nicer). as for shoes, Sidis are REALLY comfortable, but fit narrow. as with pedals, choice is very personal. you'd be best advised to try pedals and shoes on personally. I got Speedplays sight unseen, and I got lucky. imagine if I hadn't...
Heyyy...weiwentg...jtferraro
Nov 2, 2002 11:13 PM
Regarding stem length...I notice that sometimes when I look down, the hbar is totally blocking the front hub, but other times I can see some hub sticking out behind the hbar, and even ocassionally in front of it. I guess it has a lot to do w/my positioning on the seat & hoods/drops/tops, obviously. Overall, I think the 100mm stem will work.

Which Speedplays do you have? I have yet to figure out what pedals/shoes to go with. I've heard good things about Speedplays and LOOKS. Actually, Performance has a good deal on the LOOK PP-396 Jalabert pedals(50% off = $99 for "Team Performance" members). I know the LOOKS have a larger platform than the Speedplays. Any other advantages? I wear a size 10 "street" shoe, usually, but ocassionally a 10.5. Yeah, I definitely plan to try several manufacturer's shoes on before deciding which to go with.

Thanks,

-Jeff
Speedplays...divve
Nov 3, 2002 6:39 AM
I have size 11.5 and have found no hot-spot problems with Speedplay Zeros in combination with Sidi G4 shoes. Like with all Speedplay road pedals the cleat will become a supporting part of the platform when you click in. With decent shoes the small surface area really isn't an issue.
Don't sweat the spacers12x23
Nov 3, 2002 7:33 AM
I wouldn't sweat the spacers. I use 3cm of spacers on my oclvs with -5* 120mm Ritchey WCS stems. I ride 60's and favor the Postal paint schemes myself. Treks have aluminum steerers for your model year, and steel on the older models, so flex isn't an issue. Let the spacer police bitch and whine .., it's your ride, be comfortable. Fwiw, a certain Postal rider uses ~3cm of spacers and it appears he's ok with it .., though, those unruly fans who were yelling at him on the Ventoux might have been "spacer cops." ;-)
Don't sweat the spacers12x23
Nov 3, 2002 7:37 AM
Oops. The Ritchey's are -6*.
Hah!!jtferraro
Nov 3, 2002 11:50 AM
>>though, those unruly fans who were yelling at him on the Ventoux might have been "spacer cops." ;-)<<

Hahh...lol!

Yeah, I've heard "that special someone" uses 3cm's of spacers but I find that hard to believe, judging by this pic:

http://www.cyclingnews.com/photos/2002/tech/probikes/usps/bar_stem.shtml

Granted there is a considerable amount there - maybe 2cm's? Either that or maybe it is 3cm and just hard to see in that pic, as the angle isn't right on. He also uses the VETTA V100HR which I've ordered. =) Actually, I think he has the wireless one, too.

Thanks for your words!

-Jeff
Hah!!12x23
Nov 3, 2002 2:31 PM
I believe you're right. But, looking further I see where he and his trusted mechanic are trying to figure how to add one more cm of spacer. ;-)

http://www.cyclingnews.com/photos/2002/tech/probikes/usps/measuring.shtml
much nicer than the pseudo-custom Treks out nowhycobob
Nov 2, 2002 4:23 PM
I was an inch away from a 2002 5200 and got away unscathed. The more I see that naked black carbon the less I like it. I have always liked that red, white, and blue color sceme though...kinda patriotic; even before if was cool to be America Proud. You'll like the bike...I agree with tossing some of the OEM stuff too. Get what YOU want. After all, you're paying for it.
Thanks...jtferraro
Nov 2, 2002 6:07 PM
I hear ya' - part of me really likes the nude/black carbon framesets and part of me doesn't. I like them b/c you can see the carbon fibers and they have a "stealthy" look. However, they also look "dusty" at times. I actually have a friend who approached the bike, at the LBS, and wiped the TT w/his hand b/c he thought it was dusty. Yeah, that red/white/blue is patriotic...and you're right - it was out in fall of '00, BEFORE it was especially cool to be "American Proud".

Thanks for your thoughts!

-Jeff
More info...jtferraro
Nov 2, 2002 10:58 PM
Things I forgot to mention:

1.) The VETTA V100HR I ordered is wireless w/wireless cadence - thanks, Smoothie.

2.) Glad I missed the boat on buying a stock '02 "smoke carbon" 5200 for $1930 when I bought this bike w/the '01 frameset for $2100(before adding in the $300 for the wheel upgrade). That's a difference of only $170 for the upgrade to Dura-Ace! Granted the frameset was a year older, but it certainly hasn't changed much. I believe Trek decreased the bike's wheelbase by .3cm's from '01 to '02 and by another .2cm's from '02 to '03, as well as some other small geometry changes for '03.

If/when I buy an Italian bike...someday...I think it would also be time for Campy. Shimano goes better on a Trek, whereas Campy goes better on a Colagno, Pinnarello, or DeRosa!

-Jeff
Even more info...(not that anyone cares!) ;-)jtferraro
Nov 3, 2002 6:58 AM
44cm hbar
172.5mm cranks
12-23 cassette(wondering if I should have gone w/a 12-25).

-Jeff
Even more info...(not that anyone cares!) ;-)Smoothie
Nov 3, 2002 2:08 PM
Nice ride jeff! I hope you enjoy it! You have done your homework and your parts selection looks sweet!

I agree with what people have been saying about pedals. IMHO having a platform doesn't really matter that much if you get a nice shoe. I really like my Speedplays - light, double-sided, and ultra smooth entry/release.

And yup that's a wireless Vetta - you can tell by the large vertical receiver thingy the head unit attaches to.

Enjoy and ride safe man!
Thanks...jtferraro
Nov 3, 2002 2:57 PM
What shoes do you have?

Yeah, I thought it was a wireless VETTA. I wonder if he also uses the wireless cadence?

Thanks again for the V100HR recommendations. I'll let you know when I get it, as I'm sure I'll have some questions for ya'! ;-)

-Jeff