RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


surviving a cycling rite of passage (blood involved)(19 posts)

surviving a cycling rite of passage (blood involved)_rt_
Nov 1, 2002 12:23 PM
everyone has always told me that there are 2 types of roadies: those who have crashed & those who are going to crash. until today i was in the latter group....but i guess today was my day to move up (well, so to speak)

i have a ~12 mi road loop that my employers are kind enough to allow me extra time at lunch to go ride. so off i went into a beautiful sunny 55 degree day at 11:45 am (to avoid the lunch rush on the busier roads i have to travel to get to the quiet neighborhood that makes up most of my ride).

about 2/3s of the way through my route there is a sharp right followed, within maybe 20 meters, by another quick right. i'd been thinking about the fact that i often lose time in both races & rides coming out of turns and was working on starting to pedal earlier coming out of my turns. i made the 2nd right turn and didn't see the sand on the road until it was under my wheels. at the same instant that the sand registered in my consciousness the bike when skidding out from under me and i went down hard & fast, skidding on my chest and smacking my chin on the ground!

happily the bike is fine, with the exception of some cosmetic damage to both brake levers and some lost plastic off the right pedal (less weight to carry around!).....my body & clothes, on the other hand, have seen better days!

shortly after the crash, after i had picked myself & the bike up and moved to the side of the road, some kids (about age 16-17) came by on a golf cart (don't ask me where they got the golf cart or why they were toodling around the neighborhood on a friday afternoon rather than being in school. some things i just don't want to know!), stopped & asked if i was ok. they then offered to let me clean up at one of the guy's house and, throwing caution to the wind, i said yes. many, many thanks to these kids. i washed up, they gave me some (stars & stripes!) bandaids, and offered whatever tools they had that i might need. (luckily i had everything i needed & what was mostly needed was some muscle to push the brake levers back into place).

i headed back to work the most direct way possible and made a beeline for my supervisors office. she used to be an ER doc and i knocked on her door and said, "hey Robin, do you think i need stitches?!" we decided no stiches were necessary and i went and raided the first aid box, got a bag of ice, and am now sitting in my office in my riding shorts & my sweater i wore to work earlier. strewn about the floor are my riding shoes, my jersey, my polypro, my knickers, and the wrappings from about 15 bandaids!

damage:
road rash on my right elbow (glad i was wearing a long sleeve polypro!)
road rash on my right knee & leg
chunks of skin missing off my left thumb, right pinkie finger & that spot where your pinkie finger and palm meet
1 destroyed pair of gloves
1 scratched up set of ultegra brake levers
1 utterly mutilated jersey (must have skidded on my chest & stomach since there's no material left along my zipper!)

BUT
no teeth lost
no bones broken
no bike parts destroyed

lesson learned: aleve is good stuff.

rt
re: surviving a cycling rite of passage (blood involved)PEDDLEFOOT
Nov 1, 2002 12:30 PM
Glad you're OK.Hope you get back riding as soon as possible.Ride safe.
planning to hit the trails tomorrow_rt_
Nov 1, 2002 12:50 PM
no sense in letting a little lost skin & blood stop me. ;-)

thanks!!

rt
planning to hit the trails tomorrowkoala
Nov 1, 2002 12:54 PM
THATS THE SPIRIT.After my last crash it took an extra day because my shoulder was quite sore. But the first ride after a good smack on the pavement can be liberating. Ride safe, glad your O.K.
thanks...._rt_
Nov 1, 2002 12:57 PM
the only crashes that took me off the bike for longer than a day or 2 were when i shattered my pelvis (mtb) and was back on the bike in 11 weeks and when i broke my neck (also mtb) which required a very long 5 months off the bike.

loss of a little skin is no excuse to stay home! ;-)

rt
Plan on being stiff and sore. nmBrooks
Nov 1, 2002 4:10 PM
ture dat!! nm_rt_
Nov 4, 2002 6:42 AM
ouch!
good to hear you (and the bike) are okJS Haiku Shop
Nov 1, 2002 12:32 PM
at least there's no professional medical service involvement. any ride that doesn't require an orthopedic visit afterward is a good ride.

or was this a ruse to keep you off Brasstown Bald on Turkey Day weekend? you will not escape!!! reheheheheheheee!!!
c'mon, 3 miles is not really that far, even if it is only 18%!

-J
drat! you figured me out!_rt_
Nov 1, 2002 12:52 PM
note to self: the crashing ploy isn't going to work. must come up with better plan to get out of that 3 mile 18% grade thing......hmmmmmmmmmm

;-)

i agree. any ride that requires neither the ER nor a PT is a good ride.

rt
Welcome. nmSintesi
Nov 1, 2002 1:01 PM
welcome to the club...scary slow
Nov 1, 2002 1:04 PM
it is one of those clubs you never wished you joined, but ride long enough and it will happen. glad to hear you're ok.
thanks. it took 3 years but....._rt_
Nov 1, 2002 1:05 PM
i think i initiated with style. ;-)

rt
thanks. it took 3 years but.....look271
Nov 2, 2002 4:12 PM
The chin was a nice touch. =) Glad you're OK. I had a Lemond jersey that was cursed. Nothing good ever happened when I wore it. It's climactic event was to be torn to shreds as I slid across street after hitting some especially nasty RR tracks. That was my initiation into the club. FWIW- You WILL be sore. Go out and ride anyway.
good thing you properly disposed of that jersey_rt_
Nov 4, 2002 6:52 AM
it got what it deserved! ;-)

yup, i had no idea how sore i'd be......my S.O. spend the weekend calling me "trainwreck".

rt
my first road crash was similar, right on the chinTomS
Nov 1, 2002 2:23 PM
But I think it was black ice, not sand, and when I asked someone at work if they thought i needed stitches they just offered me a ride to the er :-) Took some xrays too, nothing broken, but I was eating soup and smoothies for a week because my jaw was so sore.

My wife went to pick up my stuff later in the day and was grossed out because apparently I had "leaked" blood all over my desk and bag...
soup IS good food...._rt_
Nov 4, 2002 6:50 AM
as is ice cream, yogurt, and anything else that just slides down without effort!

my boyfriend was thrilled by all the blood! thought it made me the coolest. mmmmmmm, carnage!

rt - luck to date another cyclist
Atta girl!katie1
Nov 1, 2002 3:51 PM
Good for you getting out tomorrow. The pain tomorrow will be worse than today after you stiffen up some. Glad to hear you and the bike faired well overall. Now...will you make your debut on the airport ride Sunday?
Damn kids and their golf carts. . .js5280
Nov 2, 2002 10:10 AM
being all helpful like that ;-) Glad you're okay.

js5280 reporting from the Land o' Lance (mtb pix from Austin next week on MTBR)
thanks. looking forward to the pics...._rt_
Nov 4, 2002 6:53 AM
living vicariously through pic for another day or 2.

rt