RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Hey Look271(9 posts)

Hey Look271mainframe
Oct 31, 2002 6:34 AM
I'm considering buying a Look (carbon) frameset. I've read some complaint about the seat clamp bolt and, of course, the 25mm seatpost issue. Can you comment, are these items serious drawbacks? Any further comment/impressions on Look frames will be appreciated.
Absolutely no problems with mine....Dave Hickey
Oct 31, 2002 6:41 AM
I have three LOOK frames and have never experienced a problem with the seatpost clamp. What have you heard? The 25mm seatpost is not a problem either. There are many options. There is the LOOK model, American Classic, ITM, USE, and the older Campy and Dura Ace posts.
No problems at all with my 361. I love it. Awesome ride. nmBrianNYC
Oct 31, 2002 6:52 AM
No problems.look271
Oct 31, 2002 7:01 AM
Highly recommend one. As Dave said, there are many options out there as far as seatposts go. Selcov also makes one. I have an American classic. Works great and was about $40.
No problems.mainframe
Oct 31, 2002 7:27 AM
One of the reviewers on our site made mention that the seatpost bolt sucks. He gave no detail and I, of course, wasn't sure what he was trying to convey. I'm quite pleased to hear of many seatpost alternatives; I thought it might be a case of $160 or bust. Can any of you recommend a good source for purchase? The 361 is the one I'm after. Also, will a Reynolds Ouzo, 43 rake, work with that frame, I have one on my current ride? Thanks.
No problems.neil-qcw
Oct 31, 2002 9:03 AM
I have a kg281, the seatpost clamp is not an issue. But I got a use alien post; skip it. get the am classic. the use sucks. you can find a 361 at excelsports for like $899. great deal. I love my 281.
Kidnapped by an Alien??Look381i
Oct 31, 2002 3:06 PM
Both the Look clamp and Alien Carbon work fine for me . After all the discussion I read about setting up the Alien, I was a little leery. I followed the simple directions carefully and everything went so easy I thought maybe something I had overlooked something. I hadn't and all systems have been go ever since. I think it helped that I had all my measurements (saddle to bars, saddle tilt, etc.) from my other bike to work from, so there was no need to readjust the Alien.

The clamp is very simple and holds the Alien fine with very little torque. Before my Alien arrived, it held an alloy post just as easily.
Doesn't it come with a Look fork?look271
Oct 31, 2002 1:57 PM
Most Look frames do. I got the Am classic from Colorado cyclist. Not sure if they still carry them yet, though. It is a great post and works quite well. You WON'T be disappointed in a Look, as you can tell from the responses.
I had problems when I usedJohnG
Oct 31, 2002 7:47 AM
I have a carbon Alien post in my KG281 and the "wedgie" clamp doesn't really work too good. The post kept turning on me. I haven't had the problem recently because the frame's busted and temporarily retired. :-( CS bump broke one of the seatstays.

JohnG