RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


skewers, quick releases(20 posts)

skewers, quick releasestarwheel
Oct 30, 2002 6:41 AM
Since I haven't spent any money on my bikes in a while, I've been itching to buy something not too expensive and have settled on some new skewers to replace the cheesy Ultegra quick releases (which have to be the chintziest looking thing Shimano makes, although they function fine). Dura-Ace would be the logical choice, but I have a soft spot for Salsa products and their Flip-Offs look rather stylish and supposedly are one of the "top" QR's according to one web site.

Any other good candidates for new QR's? And one question about the Salsas -- on the lickbikes web site, it says the rear skewer is 35 mm long and has to be cut down to 30 mm for road bikes. Is this true for any Salsa Flip-Offs, or did Lick just get stuck with a bunch of mountain bike QR's? If I have to cut it down, do I just take a hack saw to it?
the extra length is no big deal .......Spirito
Oct 30, 2002 7:03 AM
they are a little longer in the front as well so as to accomodate the wider ALU drop-outs of MTB bikes and some road forks. as you can see in the pic below i left mine as is although a LBS said they take a grinder to them for roadies who dont dig the extra length.

i always carry my bici on my right shoulder going up stairs and such so that i dont scratch myself or even worse run a ladder in my stockings .. er ... i mean tights.

as you can see i love my classic hubs but tossed (ok, ok - ebayed) the original skewers out as soon as i got them. i have the highest praise for Salsa skewers. They work well but i opted for the steel ones as im a little conservative about using Ti on places where i would hate to see a failure. a few $'s less, a few grams more. I haven't heard of failure with their Ti skewers ... but hey im just wimpy and can live with a few grams.

ciao
Topic Creep...sorrysn69
Oct 30, 2002 7:15 AM
Spirito,

Didn't you once mention that you were either a professional photographer or an enthusiast? Regardless, the detail, depth and clarity of your pictures are always remarkable.

What type of camera do you use? If not digital, what type of film to you prefer for these photographs? If your media is digital, how do you configure the camera?

Thanks in advance. Your photos are always a pleasure to look at.

Scott

OBTW, Salsa skewers are great.
I agree....nice shot [nm]jagiger
Oct 30, 2002 7:45 AM
thanks ... (long)Spirito
Oct 30, 2002 9:08 AM
I used to do a fair bit of paid work with camera in hand but very little in the last year or so.

the camera i actually used for the shots posted here is a now discontinued and probably forgotten Leica Digilux. all of 1.3 megapixels (1280 x 1024), single length lens of 35 (which also doubles if you use the digital zoom? at 70mm), but most importantly has a very usefull macro feature which i can use to get to about 8.5cm. It was actually made by Fuji for leica and is the same except for a few external differences as their also outdated and no longer made fuji mx-700. i think i bought it used from a local ad in LOOT last christmas for $150 with case, all books and such, 3 memory cards, a smart reader with usb link, 2 batteries and the recharger. they pop up on ebay now and again but the fuji version generally goes for a little less.

http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/compare_post.asp?cameras=leica_digilux&method=sidebyside

there is one Fuli on ebay now but i dont think its good value unless the charger and a few bits come with it.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=1392533438

its so 'outdated" compared to todays digi camera's but i feel marketing has a hold on to many people's beleifs about needing to constantly upgrade and that new is the only option. for web shots all that resolution and $ is a waste in my opinion. i also like fixed length lenses - zooms do well but are never as good optically or anywhere near as compact. 35mm focal length is fine for most stuff.

i REALLY like its looks, its not to big or small which is important as too light a camera or too tiny can be a detriment in terms of operation. it also feels a little more solid or well made than all the new models i was thinking of buying. it has a pretty good lens and enough little features to make it usefull for most pics. conveniently the flash is either on or off and pleasingly weak enough that should i use it in daylight it seems to be perfect for "fill" and taking away a little contast and shadow. the shutter lag is slow, it chews batteries pretty fast if the lcd screen is used often and even though ive never actually made a print of any of the images im sure it would be Ok for 4 x 6's or perhaps printing at less resolution (maybe 200 dpi) for 5 x 7's at a stretch.

more importantly its slim enough to put in a jersey pocket and cheap enough to not worry too much should i fall or get soaked.

i dont know how every on else shoots their digi-pics but i always try to use natural light when available. i will go out in the middle of the day and shoot in the shade (the side of a light colored building). even light is important as direct sunlight is often too contrasty and most simple camera's dont read all that information too well. i will often use the exposure functions to set the white balance at "clouds" or lighten the exposure a little.

i do a little cropping and small adjustments in photoshop. i never get too carried away as i would rather shoot it again than waste more time than its worth behind the 'puter.

in all i have more than paid for the cost of the camera when using it to list stuff for sale. the most important thing is light and using it to your advantage - the camera is a tool and a little experience and practice makes good pics not loads of money and doo-dads of functions. if you wish to print big pics then the extra resolution then is needed.

no surprises i guess that i am a retro-grouch when it comes to camera's as my leica rangefinder is as good as it gets if you ask me. i still love film and all but processing the film at home i do the rest via scanner, mac and printer. very rarely will i print traditionally but if i do i hand over a edited image on disc and inkjet proofs to a lab so i can keep a little control.

but my cheapie and lowly digi cam gets used MOST and is invaluable for just snapping - ill often get ideas for a proper set up shot and i can quickly see res
thanks ... part deuxSpirito
Oct 30, 2002 9:43 AM
but my cheapie and lowly digi cam gets used MOST and is invaluable for just snapping - ill often get ideas for a proper set up shot and i can quickly see results. for posting a web pic i think anything else is too pricey and complicated as 72dpi is all that matters.

above all a steady hand and a little thought before shooting is far more desirable than spending big $'s on camera's. cycling as a pursuit or interest can look really cheap compared to photograpghy. sometimes cheap is better - the pic below is with a plastic pinhole-esque Holga ($27.50 + tax)

ciao
thanks ... part deux53T
Oct 30, 2002 10:06 AM
Amazing, you could get more than $27 for that print alone.
thanks ... part deuxsn69
Oct 30, 2002 10:31 AM
I appreciate the commentary and advice. I just bought my first digital, a Sony sumthin' or other. It's great, and I'm sure my old Nikon SLR won't see much action for a while.
Spirito, do you post on Photo.net?Spunout
Oct 30, 2002 11:28 AM
That is nice. You could show the Leica user's group a thing or two. Admittedly, I am there too (Two Nikons) although I've moved to an old F3. But, that camera will NEVER fit in a jersey pocket.

Definitely, though, a digicam for snaps (2MP max) is warranted.
err ..... i actually shy away from photo forumsSpirito
Oct 30, 2002 12:00 PM
i sometimes read a few but usually fumble my way through looking for some info and such.

the cheap leica digi lets me get around the leica m series inability to close focus and also keeps my snob value intact as it has that little red badge.

if im being paid to shoot ill use whatever format and brand is best for the job and luckily in NYC rentals are really cheap for everything i could possibly need. sold all my other gear long ago as even after a tax writeoff i still found it hard to justify.

most of the reason i dig the M series leica stuff is actually how it fits and feels in my hands. sometimes i miss the satisfying sound of a shutter and mirror clunk and the F3 is as about sexy as it gets. in all i found that losing all the fancy bells and whistles gear actually improved my pics and helped me think more about the image. as a consequence i shoot less and nail the shot in 2 or 3 frames rather than rolls.

the digilux has added great fun and opened my style up
as well. sometimes ill use it as a faux polaroid just to help me clarify the image before shooting. i am always amazed how well it meters and works as a simple point and shoot and i am glad i bought it.

ill check out photo.net

ciao
what, were the red Flip-Offs a little over-the-top for you?tarwheel
Oct 30, 2002 7:23 AM
bici is italian for bike, right?
ooooo, nice pic... pretty bike nmrwbadley
Oct 30, 2002 7:41 AM
Ti vs Steel skewer concernssam-g
Oct 30, 2002 2:42 PM
Great pics, I too am considering adding Salsa skewers this winter. However I question some of the comments regarding the durability of Ti shafts. Has anyone had a Ti skewer fail or heard of an actual case of Ti skewer failure? It seems that the only force applied to the shaft is that of tension, if the wheel is properly seated. Therefore the failure rate should be no different than any "screw" type Ti component.

If I'm spending money on an appearance item, I might as well pick up a weight savings for a little more $$. Anyone want to weight in on this?

Sam G
Ti vs Steel skewer concernsSmoothie
Oct 30, 2002 4:58 PM
I dunno i've never personal seen Ti skewers fail. Most of the stories I hear start along the lines of "my wife's brother in law's cousin's uncle had one break" :)

I run Ti on my road and mtn bike and don't really don't think much about it. A skewer is a skewer...

be interesting to see the replies though
The only Ti skewer problem I've heard of is real wheel slippageTig
Oct 30, 2002 7:14 PM
I have heard from a few riding buddies that sometimes when they stand when leaving from a stop, the rear wheel slips and rubs a chain stay. My guess is that the Ti shaft stretches slightly under the heavy load, but I have no factual explanation. I've done the same thing with steel skewers that weren't tight enough or were on chromed dropouts.
re: skewers, quick releasesSmoothie
Oct 30, 2002 7:13 AM
The Salsa flip-offs are nice - i've never heard of having to cut them down. You should be able to just buy the road bike version.

There are many lightweight skewers out there, off the top of my head: Extralite, FRM, Amclassic, Tune. All nicely made!

Be careful with Ti skewers, many people say they flex too much and affect steering. For the small weight saving most people just stick with steel. I've never had a problem with Ti QR but your mileage may vary.

Another option is a pair of bolt-on skewers. By far the lightest option out there. A PAIR of STEEL bolt-on tip the scales at an amazing 60grams!
I don't care about the weighttarwheel
Oct 30, 2002 7:20 AM
I would be switching purely for style. I just think the Ultegra quick releases look cheesy. I would get the stainless steel skewers because they are less expensive and I also wouldn't trust the ti ones.

How about some of the better Mavic QRs? They aren't quite as stylish as the Salsa, but I do have Mavic rims.
Ksyrium mavic QR are niceSmoothie
Oct 30, 2002 7:45 AM
I liked the QR that comes on the Ksyrium wheelsets. Nice lever and strong clamping action. You should be able to pick up a pair from LBS or ebay.
I don't care about the weightBeaver
Oct 30, 2002 8:15 AM
I've got a pair of silver Mavic skewers on one set of wheels. Nice skewers, the cam action. All Star Bike Shop in Cary had some black and silver ones the last time I was in there 3 or so weeks ago.
I have these skewers. I think they're the best.Sintesi
Oct 30, 2002 10:40 AM
Great looking, light, excellent gripping power. What more could you want?

Put them on and tighten down as you normally would. Take your sharpie pen and mark the excess thread poking out. Hack saw this off and file the burrs off. Done.

Just make sure you don't trim the threads so low they can't reach the plastic thread-locking ring in the nut.

I have the mavic skewers as well (came with Ksyriums) nice but not pretty enough.
That is all.