RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Poll: What brand and color handlebar tape do you use?(40 posts)

Poll: What brand and color handlebar tape do you use?Fez
Oct 29, 2002 2:19 PM
And what color is your bike?

Just switched from grey w/ white lettering Litespeed tape to ALL BLACK Off the Front bar tape and it looks real dark. Going to take some time to get used to. I think light grey or off-white tape stands out the least.
black deda tape on everything!merckx56
Oct 29, 2002 2:22 PM
Colnago Orange...I am a slave to my LX-23. nmMXL02
Oct 29, 2002 2:24 PM
Cinelli Cork Ribbon, Black (nm)Cima Coppi
Oct 29, 2002 2:24 PM
White DedaWrigleyRoadie
Oct 29, 2002 2:28 PM
It looked so nice on the pros bikes... but then, they get free tape, and someone to change it, and wash it, and love it.....

Oh, and my bike is blue/light blue, with a white saddle.
Cinelli black (but thinking about blue) (nm)laffeaux
Oct 29, 2002 2:33 PM
the amateur racer's standardlonefrontranger
Oct 29, 2002 2:33 PM
Cinelli black cork ribbon. Takes all the abuse you can dish at it, looks and wraps smooth, doesn't show dirt.

Pro racers only use white tape because their mechanics wash their bikes daily and change the tape once a week (or more often as abuse and crashes warrant).

Black cork ribbon is the everyman's equivalent to a little black dress at a cocktail party; functional, stylish, understated, won't show spills and looks great on any kind of frame :)
A little black dress is'nt THIS mans attire at a cocktail party!Mel Erickson
Oct 29, 2002 2:59 PM
I'll bet it looks better than the flowered one that you wear.laffeaux
Oct 29, 2002 3:29 PM
I only wear flowers in my hair.Mel Erickson
Oct 29, 2002 6:30 PM
and black cork tape, similar to Elaine Tierney on the December page of the 2002 feminine frames calendar.
My red and white Moser came with white Cinelli ...Uprwstsdr
Oct 29, 2002 2:35 PM
thinking about switching to red or a red/white. Any opinions?
Try the red white.(nm)TREKY
Oct 29, 2002 3:16 PM
Cinelli cork tape - celeste (nm)Iwannapodiumgirl
Oct 29, 2002 2:42 PM
Double wrap, Black Deda on top NMShad
Oct 29, 2002 2:46 PM
Was Cinelli black. Now synthetic red.PseuZQ
Oct 29, 2002 2:59 PM
Started out with black cork, now have red synthetic stuff that holds up a lot better and actually looks a little better. (It's on a silver Trek with red anodized Rolfs.)

Changing the bar tape of course meant I needed to get red bottle cages.
Scott Proper wrap.brider
Oct 29, 2002 3:06 PM
No adhesive, stays put. Easy to unwrap and re-wrap. I use a double layer on the drops, and a single layer on the tops. On my Pau Barkley, I have two sets -- Drop the Fly and Cowhide. On the Ti rig, I have a red/white/black combo wrap (also Scott Proper wrap).
Cinelli Cork, Black (nm)Chen2
Oct 29, 2002 3:10 PM
Cinelli cork yellow blue splash.Yellow bike with blue decals.TREKY
Oct 29, 2002 3:13 PM
did use black Cinelli, now I use black Bontragergreg n
Oct 29, 2002 3:25 PM
It's got the same feel as Cinelli but it's more durable for re-wraps and minor scrapes.
Cinelli Cork, Orange. (nm)czardonic
Oct 29, 2002 3:29 PM
re: Poll: What brand and color handlebar tape do you use?PMC
Oct 29, 2002 3:32 PM
Cinelli cork
red on my red bike
white on my purple and pearl bike
black on my black bike and a white bike
cork under black cloth tape on a red/yellow CAAD3 (nm)rtyszko
Oct 29, 2002 3:37 PM
Silva cork in red... with "Eddy Merckx" branding of course!Tig
Oct 29, 2002 3:59 PM
The bike is white/silver with red accents, so red works out well. Otherwise, I like black for the low maintenance. The Silva tape has held up better than my old Cinelli cork ribbon so far.


Black Cinelli but look........flying
Oct 29, 2002 4:00 PM
Check out this stiched white leather on a Casati
also a complete shot of the bike..... Dedacciai EOM 16.5 steel tubeset,

http://gallery.consumerreview.com/webcrossing/images/GKcasati3.jpg
cool, but the freakin' saddle is crooked!(nm)merckx56
Oct 29, 2002 5:10 PM
It's obviousMel Erickson
Oct 29, 2002 6:33 PM
that the man dresses left.
It varies in color, but it's always Cinelli cork.look271
Oct 29, 2002 4:17 PM
Currently I have all black, but I'm going to put some black w/white stripes on. I've also used the black/yellow splash, but not recently. Bike's black and yellow. I think the black/white striped is my fave =)
Look carbon fiber !!!quadzilla1
Oct 29, 2002 4:26 PM
Just ordered it last week from Colorodo Cyclist. Plan on a double wrap over top current black Cinelli. Should look sweet on my new Cinelli Solido Magnum bar with carbon in the middle...yummy
Blue Colnago(nm)spc15
Oct 29, 2002 4:38 PM
Cinelli cork Black. nmJuanmoretime
Oct 29, 2002 4:41 PM
no Benotto, c'mondesmo
Oct 29, 2002 4:47 PM
my LBS still has stock of the tri-color Mexican flag colors (you can pretend it's Italian but the green is way off). even has those silly plastic caps for plugs.
Anything on sale-usually black so I can patch it with electrical tape. nmMB1
Oct 29, 2002 4:53 PM
Cinelli Blackrwbadley
Oct 29, 2002 5:02 PM
re: Poll: What brand and color handlebar tape do you use?mackgoo
Oct 29, 2002 5:09 PM
Always Cinelli. The color? What ever I can get cheap on E Bay.
Deda works for me (nm)biknben
Oct 29, 2002 6:03 PM
White Cinelli and Red Zipp. The red Zipp rocks....nmDave Hickey
Oct 29, 2002 6:05 PM
Tressostar or cateye, black5ive
Oct 29, 2002 6:05 PM
Not to be different, but I cannot stand how cork or 'rubberized' tapes feel. And I ride without gloves!
re: Poll: What brand and color handlebar tape do you use?aliensporebomb
Oct 30, 2002 3:47 AM
Cinelli black cork tape on my Cinelli altera bar.
Cinelli Cork: blue on the Litespeed, white on the GT. (nm)RhodyRider
Oct 30, 2002 5:53 AM
Black Profile syntheticjw25
Oct 31, 2002 7:47 AM
on a silver and white bike. I like the Profile for its lack of adhesive and strength. I'm not a wrapping pro yet, and typically have to redo one side or the other to get them feeling the same.
Plus this stuff seems less likely to tear when crashed, so it lasts longer, and black goes with everything.