RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Question for spin class particpants/instructors(13 posts)

Question for spin class particpants/instructorsPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Oct 24, 2002 11:18 AM
I'm a fairly new instructor and lately I've been teaching in different time slots but I'm starting to get time slots where I teach throughout the month. I was thinking of possibly periodizing the training so the first 2 weeks were predominantly aerobic rides focusing on building a base by keeping the hr down with a lot of technique drills before I give them 2 really hard interval weeks. What do you think of this?

One of the complaints from a cyclist was that the instructors made it seem like it was the only hard class they'd do all week so they made it incredibly hard. Is this a common sentiment? Thats not my intention but when I do an interval workout its hard. I guess the style that fits me best is turning down the lights, pumping up the techno music and an aerobic ride would be a change of pace.

Thanks!
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
You may findTrekFurthur
Oct 24, 2002 11:22 AM
Most people I know, outside of a few cyclists, go to spin class the same way they go to an aerobics class, and for the same reason. They know absolutely nothing about periodization and just want a hard workout, because no pain-no gain, right? The benefit of being the instructor is that you get to do what you want, but remember that most of these people have no goal other than losing weight, etc., while competitive athletes use periodization to achieve a set performance goal.
Same herePEDDLEFOOT
Oct 24, 2002 11:34 AM
I've been a Spinning instructor for 2 years and agree completely.90% of my students are only concerned with getting a workout and burning as many calories as possible.My center has drop in classes only,no preregistering.This meens you never know who ,how many ,and what level your students will be.To do a periodzation workout schedule under those circumstances would be pointless.My advice is to get a feeling as to who shows up to which class and mix it up accordingly.Just go for a varity of profile types to make your program well rounded.
depends on you and the classColnagoFE
Oct 24, 2002 11:59 AM
It's easy to teach aerobics on a bike and kill them. It's harder to be a coach. Being a coach is the key to being a good Spin instructor IMO. This means your workout comes second if all all to the people in your class. If you educate and coach them you'd be surprised how interested they get in heart rate based training and periodization as well as the mind/body connection.
You may wan to promote it as actual training program....Uprwstsdr
Oct 24, 2002 11:45 AM
and get peope to sign up for the program. One benefit of this is that it gets people to make a commitment to a schedule, and thus show up regularly. Also, it allows you to lay out a long term program with specific goals. It depends on the consistency of your class participants. If there is a core group that already attends regularly, then the periodization would be fine for them, and I guess it really wouldn't make difference to the more casual attendee. They may just not feel that your class was appropriate for them. Currently is your class primarily roadies or Aerobicies?
Currently in our plans.Good idea.PEDDLEFOOT
Oct 24, 2002 12:19 PM
Thanks, can you do it in NYC? (nm)Uprwstsdr
Oct 24, 2002 12:34 PM
re: Question for spin class particpants/instructorstarwheel
Oct 25, 2002 4:29 AM
Personally, I would go out of my way to attend a spin class that was billed as a recovery ride, and others would as well. I generally do my hard riding on the road. Particularly on a Friday, I don't want to toast my legs when I know I'm gonna ride a lot of hard miles over the weekend. However, if we have a spell of rainy/crappy weather, I enjoy a strenuous spin class. My main complaint with spin classes is the instructors who try to turn classes into glorified aerobics with all sorts of stupid up and down moves. Also, 15-30 minute standing climbs aren't the greatest thing when you've got some hard road miles ahead the next day.
Particpants Goals Varyno excuses
Oct 25, 2002 4:50 AM
The music is all I care about....
but really, it depends on the individual goals.
Although, it is a group fitness class there are always a range of levels and goals. The less active participant who elects to sit through a class at a lower intensity level than the target level has every right to a bike and participation. Same for the aerobics fiend who wants to feel the burn.
The best approach is for the instructor to lay out their structure for the class, follow through, and accept feedback. After a while, the cyclists will seem to find your class more often. Communication regarding your personal challenge will help the instructor understand your approach.
A point about jumps. In a recent class the instructor was the only one doing raises through the song. Again, each of the participants had a different goal which didn't include killing our backs.
how do jumps kill your back?ColnagoFE
Oct 25, 2002 10:26 AM
If you use your legs to initiate them and stay in control then you shouldn't have problems. Don't do 'em if you don't want to, but most problems surrounding jumps are because they aren't done properly. If you have a good instructor ask for a demo or the reason for a certain movement--you might learn something. I get a little tired of roadies coming to class and thinking they know it all about Spinning because they ride outside. This isn't riding outside or racing guys! This is Spinning. I think they are both complimentary, but let's not try to make one into the other. Never be afraid to try new things. Then again if there is an instructor doing something dangerous you have the right to ask them the purpose and to opt out if it isn't for you. If you can't resolve it there I'd make a comment to management about it.
My experienceno excuses
Oct 25, 2002 12:32 PM
Maybe its an assumption based on feedback from trainers at the gym during the past year. I am just resolving a pretty serious lower back episode that called for a lot of moderation/adjustment to my training.
The general recommendation was discontinue spinning, which I did for the winter season, and jumps seemed to be a higher intensity action that I tried to avoid. Not sure what worked, but back is about 90-95%. I did replace spinning with weight training last winter FWIW.
Even before I hurt my back I used to moderate the jumps. Every instuctor will tell you, "it's your ride."
I am conscientious about my positioning especially because of my history.
I have found that jumps are not used as much as a few years ago. Its another way to increase intensity over time. Position, pedaling intensity, duration, all are actions that accomplish the same purpose.
Been spinning for about 4 years now so I have some background.
well that makes a differenceColnagoFE
Oct 25, 2002 1:46 PM
I didn't realize you had previous back problems. Makes total sense to avoid things that would aggravate an injury.
re: Question for spin class particpants/instructorsNo_sprint
Oct 25, 2002 7:09 AM
I've been teaching for a long time and have seen it all. Most of it, I don't like. I'm the program coordinator for a local association as well. The vast majority of my students are regulars. They all have individual goals but are all quite similar as they've been coming for a while as well. As ColnagoFE stated, the workout, in my opinion does come second and I constantly remind the students what we're doing and why, educate on exercise physiology, etc. I do indeed bring my periodized routine into the Spin room. One thing a highly educated Spin instructor (very rare in my opinion) will battle routinely is the misconception of the students that *a harder workout is a better workout*. For most of them, it's not. Unfortunately, most instructors I've seen are tweeked aerobics instructors who have no idea what is going on with the body, have no conception of a training routine, have no clue what they're doing or why and have never been on a bike.

I've worked out max hr's for all my regulars and given them charts for zones so each individual can manipulate the class to best suit their needs. I typically stay at or under the aerobic threshold 65% or so of all classes. A 90/95% peak effort class is typically once or twice every two months only.