RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinions: What is the most over-priced bicycle product?(60 posts)

Opinions: What is the most over-priced bicycle product?cydswipe
Oct 24, 2002 9:02 AM
Yeah, I'm bored. Feeling too tired to ride today, but I still feel like talking bikes. In your opinion, what is it? Doesn't have to be in the current market. Maybe some of the more experienced riders remember something that did, or did not catch on. I don't care if it's on an online shop, your LBS, or in a catalog. What isn't worth your hard earned dollar?
re: Opinions: What is the most over-priced bicycle product?tremblay
Oct 24, 2002 9:10 AM
A $40 (CDN) fancy zap bang lightweight water bottle/cage combo that is barely, or at least not noticeably, lighter than my profile design resin cage/generic water bottle combo that cost $12 total.
re:Fancy chain lube @ 8 times the price of air tool oil. nmdzrider
Oct 24, 2002 9:15 AM
Ditto on the bottle holder, local lbs has one for $60........nmchopper
Oct 24, 2002 9:20 AM
In my opinion, all the "energy bar" products. (nm)onespeed
Oct 24, 2002 9:20 AM
Merak with Record 10. (nm)GregJ
Oct 25, 2002 6:41 AM
Tires nmMiklos
Oct 24, 2002 9:37 AM
nm
Carbon fiber handlebars.Juanmoretime
Oct 24, 2002 9:55 AM
How can on brand over another cost over twice as much. Look at the cost of the new TTT over a set of Easton. Look at the price of the Cinelli Ram. Some companies really like to take advantage of our addition.
Since you mentioned it......grzy
Oct 24, 2002 1:40 PM
There must be a special place for the new Campy Record CF crank.
Most used bikes on Ebay , not a product though nmgreg n
Oct 24, 2002 10:08 AM
Have to agreeFrith
Oct 25, 2002 7:19 AM
I got out-bid on what i thought was a sure thing. I teal green 1986 cannondale with pink decals and pink bar tape... It had a dent in the chainstay. I thought this monster is so ugly no one but me will bid on it. I was so wrong... can't remember what it went for but needless to say it was more then i was willing to pay.
This is where wealth and stupidity intersectSintesi
Oct 24, 2002 10:10 AM
ASSOS F1.13 Bibshort
Introducing the worlds first elastic insert. Invented by Assos of Switzerland, this revolutionary insert follows your pedal stroke movement entering into perfect synchrony with your skin in motion and thereby eliminating the friction that causes irritation. Traditional Assos bib design with contrast flat seam construction. S–XL. ASS-XB-CB
Price $199.99

This is where wealth and stupidity intersect
Absolutelygrzy
Oct 24, 2002 10:53 AM
How did we ever make it this far without this product. I feel so inadequate having ridden all those centuries and beyond in regular bike shorts picked up on sale for $35 a pair.

What does it feel like when you crash in some $200 bibs and tear them up or they just plain wear out?
It feels like crapTrekFurthur
Oct 24, 2002 11:18 AM
Big hole in a pair of PI Microsensor bibs after MTBing; note to self--only wear the old shorts off-road.
This used to be easy, but Ibis and their stems went under.Alex-in-Evanston
Oct 24, 2002 10:18 AM
I'll say Campagnolo track chainrings. They get about 6 times the price of a QBP engagement ring for little discernible increase in quality.

Alex
I only paid $500 for my Mojo. A very good value.Ken of Fresno
Oct 24, 2002 11:00 AM
It was brand new from the (Santa Rosa) factory. Best mt bike I've ever ridden. The most beautiful welds ever seen on a bicycle as well. With SOME of their stuff you do get what you pay for.
Just talking about the stems. (nm)Alex-in-Evanston
Oct 24, 2002 11:06 AM
I'll agree with you there.Ken of Fresno
Oct 24, 2002 11:46 AM
A lot of people siad they were too flexy for the price. I didn't think they were all that pretty either.
My friend's stem croakedSteveS
Oct 24, 2002 3:41 PM
My riding partner's Ibis titanium stem cracked along one of the welds and the local shop thought it was not repairable. I gave a call to Bill Holland and he, biased though he might be, didn't think much of the quality of these stems, so it looks like what $200-$300 down the drain for my pard'.
It's the little things...biknben
Oct 24, 2002 10:43 AM
The ones that are the most overprices are also very cheap. That way we won't notice or care too much.

b Tubes
- especially long valve tubes

b Water bottles
- and they all friggin leak, too!!!

b Nutritional products
- Yeah, high price is from research, Sure.

b Threaded CO2 cartridges
- 3x the price for threads???

Then we get to bigger ticket items:

b SRP Bolt Kit
- Just bolts???

b Mavic Cosmic Carbone wheelset
- Just a carbon cover over a std. rim. Zipps are half the weight.

b C-40???
- It's a toss-up. It certainly is high priced. I may have to buy one some day to see if it is over-priced. :-)
Has to be tiresKen of Fresno
Oct 24, 2002 10:54 AM
The retail price of good tires is upwards of $50-$60 each (not even considering tubulars), and they must be replaced once or sometimes twice a year depending on your luck. Car tires which cost only 1/3 the price have enough rubber to make well over 100 (probably closer to 500) bicycle tires. Somebody is making bank! Tires are my biggest biking expense.
Has to be tiresmoabbiker
Oct 24, 2002 11:03 AM
Actually, you can buy a junky road tire for $10 or so. But if you want a good tire, then you're right, $60 seems to be the right retail price. On the same token, a cheap auto tire can be had for very low cost, but good automobile performance tires can easily cost $200+ a pop at retail prices, plus they completely wear out at 15-20k miles. So in all fairness, tire costs don't really seem to be that much more on a bike.
tiresChen2
Oct 24, 2002 12:32 PM
I agree, I think bike tires are actually a good bargain. They perform well under extreme contitions with extreme pressures. Consider that tires for a Corvette or other high performance street cars cost over $450 each, and they only need to handle 44 psi. The tires on an average SUV average more like $250 each, and you have to have at least 4 of them. I've never complained about the price of bike tires.
tiresBreakfast
Oct 24, 2002 8:38 PM
You can't compare bicycle tires to automobile or truck tires. Think of the mileage needs of auto/truck tires, the vehicle's weight, the heat, the speeds, the puncture/failure resistance, the cost of litigation (Firestone), the size and quanity of material, the belts, cords, the compounds.

The bicycle tire's price is based on labor, market, advertising, R&D and is limited to a small segment of consumers. It is overpriced for sure. I see a range of $20-$60 for clincher road tires and at $60 we're talking $20-$30 extra for hype. A bike tire's construction is nothing compared to automotive designs.

What about tubes? I paid $9 + tax for Turbo Ultralights, And they less rubber, too. The $2 tubes I bought in bulk are just as good but weigh more. Still a cheaper way to reduce rotating weight than new wheels.
agreetarwheel
Oct 25, 2002 4:08 AM
If you shop around, you can get top quality tires for $20-30 each. I haven't paid more than $25 each for the past dozen tires I have bought -- generally Michelin Axial Pros or equivalents. You also can buy Axial Pros and Conti GP 3000s from LaBicicletta and a number of overseas vendors for $30 and less each.
my listtarwheel
Oct 25, 2002 4:21 AM
1. Campy cassettes -- $80 at discount prices for a steel cassette, $100+ at the LBS. Come on, you can buy a DuraAce ti cassette for less than that.
2. Cycling jerseys -- $65-80 at retail prices, $100 if you're stupid enough to buy Trek/Nike's Tour de France replicas. Fortunately, it's not hard to find nice jerseys on sale for $30-45 if you shop around and aren't picky.
3. Titanium frames -- Are they really that much more expensive to produce than a finely lugged steel frame? I don't think so. And they're ugly, on top of that.
4. Clipless pedals have to be one of the biggest scams in cycling. $100-200 for pedals made of fewer raw materials than top-of-the-line cage pedals that cost a fraction.
5. Anything carbon fiber. Make something out of carbon fiber, and weight-weenies seem to lose their senses. $50 for a bottle cage -- no problem. $150 for handlebars -- here's my credit card. $3,000 for a frame -- where can I get one. $750 for a crankset -- gotta have one. The material costs for CF products have to be a lot less than steel, ti or even aluminum. Someone is laughing all the way to the bank.
Anything made by Continental (nm)Alexx
Oct 24, 2002 4:00 PM
Having a tough time swallowing service stand prices ...Humma Hah
Oct 24, 2002 11:26 AM
I'm having some trouble convincing myself that a crudely-built stand consisting of a base of zero sophistication, two lengths of steel pipe, a pinch T clamp, and a padded toggle clamp should cost $500-800.
in Atlanta: cable housing @ $4/foot...._rt_
Oct 24, 2002 11:32 AM
what is that?! about a 9000% mark-up???!!

sheesh!

rt <---needs to buy a lot of housing & cable right now
you're really stuck on that cable housing, aren't you? nmJS Haiku Shop
Oct 24, 2002 11:49 AM
yes. i've been permanently scarred by the experience._rt_
Oct 25, 2002 4:46 AM
;-P

actually, it's still in the forefront of my thoughts because i need to replace all the housing (and cables) on my mbt & cable my restoration project....at $4/foot all that cable housing could break the bank!

hehe
rt
I'll take apparel for $60.00, Alexcarnageasada
Oct 24, 2002 11:51 AM
Spoke prepjjohnson05
Oct 24, 2002 12:22 PM
Wheelsmith spoke prep is about $250/pint, or about
$400/750ml. If it were 30 year old Scotch it would still be over priced.

Linseed oil works better and you can get a life time supply for about $4. (better than spoke prep, not Scotch)
That's expensive! (nm)Chen2
Oct 25, 2002 1:15 PM
elite cuissi cages: $8 online, $16+ LBS. woe is me. nmJS Haiku Shop
Oct 24, 2002 12:23 PM
ouch! bad cages for MTBlaffeaux
Oct 24, 2002 12:46 PM
I just back form a week of MTBing. I had a Cuissi cage on the down tube of the bike. While carrying the bike (the trails required a lot of this), I found that the extra arm on the Cuissi cage dug intself into my rib cage. At any price I'd not use another one of these on my MTB.

As to what's the most overpriced, I'd go tires.
Litespeed Ti Stems!girchygirchy
Oct 24, 2002 12:47 PM
Litespeed Ti Stems for Mtbs run $265 at Jenson USA, what the hell?!
I saw a $600 cdn bike light at an LBS once. (nm)empacher6seat
Oct 24, 2002 12:47 PM
Almost forgot about lights, $400 Cateye Stadium light anyone?Juanmoretime
Oct 24, 2002 1:13 PM
Any custom setup bike...phlegm
Oct 24, 2002 1:41 PM
Why are generic mass produced bikes so much cheaper than a comparable custom setup? If you want a bike that doesn't fit one of the "accepted" setups, you end up paying way more.

If you find something close to what you want, the LBS will tend to charge you an arm and a leg to swap out the parts you want. I wish buying a bike was more like buying a pizza.
THE NEW SELLE ITALIA SADDLEMV99
Oct 24, 2002 1:42 PM
The new , to be released in May of 2003 SC64 saddle. comes in at 64 grams with a price tag of $360.00 ALSO , the new titanium Eggbeater pedals at $400.00
Campy chain tool. nmMel Erickson
Oct 24, 2002 2:13 PM
Training/RidingMXL02
Oct 24, 2002 2:49 PM
Costs me enormous amounts of time away from family and work. What I spend on the bike pales in comparison.
ok - seriously - Colnago C45.MXL02
Oct 24, 2002 2:52 PM
I love Ernesto's bikes, but come on! $4500 for a stock, non-custom frame and fork! Even if they throw in the stem and seatpost, it is exorbitant. I love the looks, but the price gags me.
re: Opinions: What is the most over-priced bicycle product?callthedoctor
Oct 24, 2002 3:16 PM
Has to be cyclo-computer mounting kits....seems to be 50% of the cost of the component.

Right now Performance has the Cateye Enduro 2 on sale for $17.99.

If you'd like the extra mounting kit, tack on an extra $15.99.

Shaw...right...why not just buy two computers...???
Nokon cables at $50 a set for shift or brake....sadly I own themspookyload
Oct 24, 2002 3:25 PM
They are very good and noticalbly better, but I don't know that they are worth the cost.
ITM "The Stem" - $200irregardless
Oct 24, 2002 3:29 PM
not that I would want that magnesium noodle.
Shimano groupsets.Iwannapodiumgirl
Oct 24, 2002 6:17 PM
No Shimano product is worth my hard earned dollar.
re: Opinions: What is the most over-priced bicycle product?davee
Oct 24, 2002 6:48 PM
How about replacement cleats for $20 to $40 a pop? nm
Sorry, meant to reply on the topic line nmdavee
Oct 24, 2002 6:53 PM
Campagnolo Record 10 Speed CassetteLC
Oct 24, 2002 7:27 PM
$150 for a wear and tear item almost make the Record carbon crank look like a good deal.
everything...julio
Oct 24, 2002 7:58 PM
Lights are ridiculous - expect to pay at least $300 for decent lights, I just made my own, a bit heavier but a total cost of $80 for bar and helmet lights that burn for over 4 hours.

Campy or Shimano groups - it costs how much to move my chain from one gear to another?!

Pedals and shoes - how can a simple pedal cost over $100?
agree....Steve_0
Oct 25, 2002 3:51 AM
I feel VERY little difference between my $2.0 used, noname aluminium bars (old pair laying around the LBS) and $100 bars.

Agree pedals are just ridiculous. 100 extra bucks to shave a few grams of weight.

STI shifters cost HOW MUCH? Id rather be 'inconvenienced' by reaching to my downtube (if i actually had gears)

A 750cc motorcycle can be had for the price of a 5900.
Speaking of motorcycles, 12K cycle tires are cheaper than 3K bicycle tires.

Computers - Simple counting machine whose technology hasnt changed dramatically in 20 years. A 4 dollar solar calculator has more functionality.

All-in-all, I'd say z-chains, walmart tubes, and waterbottles are priced reasonably.
Come On People.... you know its.......CARBON110
Oct 25, 2002 5:01 AM
NEW SRM PRO computers ... my God! Thats what my OCLV frame cost

Serotta Bikes.... Are those Lightspeed frames?

Merlin Bikes..... makes Serottas look cheap

Zipp 2002 303 wheelsets..... $9-1100 isnt bad if they lasted more than 4 months of riding.

Rockshox World CUP fork... Holy $%#T!! $8 bills

My SRM computer... almost lost my relationship over that one

C40...despite its a sweet ass bike..thats just a rediculous price for a frame

The most expensive... wasted time mulling over minute gram saving components and driving my girfriend crazy when I should have been riding :)
hard to beat these for overpricedtrekkie1
Oct 25, 2002 6:05 AM
Campagnolo Record Carbon crankset Price: $899.95

http://www.worldcycling.com/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=WCP&Product_Code=ZC02600

Stella Azzurra Lario handlebars Price: $499.95

http://www.worldcycling.com/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=WCP&Product_Code=ZBLAR

Stella Azzurra Viceversa Mg stem Price: $279.95

http://www.worldcycling.com/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=WCP&Product_Code=ZSVVM

Colnago Star carbon fork Price: $899.95

http://www.worldcycling.com/merchant.mv?Screen=PROD&Store_Code=WCP&Product_Code=COFORK

The price of those products alone totals $2,600
Challenge: Who can spec out the most expensive bike?OTG
Oct 25, 2002 8:40 AM
Not necessarily your dream bike, just a bike using the most
absurdly expensive components you can find.

-otg
$12,513trekkie1
Oct 25, 2002 10:18 AM
This is all off the rack, available by mail order stuff; nothing exotic or custom:

$12,513
$4,850 frame Colnago Carbonissimo
$0 fork included
$3,000 wheels Zipp 303 Z3 tubular (ADA too difficult to obtain)
$0 rims included
$0 spokes included
$0 hubs included
$150 tires Vittoria Corsa
$0 tubes na
$70 skewers Salsa
$100 headset King
$900 crankset Campy Record Carbon
$0 rings
$0 bb bolts
$0 ring bolts
$160 bb Phil Wood Ti
$220 rear derail Campy Record
$80 front derail Campy Record
$45 chain Wipperman stainless
$0 chain connect incl
$260 cassette Campy Record Ti
$230 shifters Campy Ergo
$0 brake levers included
$105 cables Nokon
$220 calipers Campy Record
$30 pads Campy for carbon rims
$0 seatpost included with frame
$220 saddle Selle San Marco Era Composite saddle
$280 stem Stelle Azzurra Viceversa Mag
$6 spacers Stelle Azzurra carbon (ea)
$500 handlebars Stelle Azzurra Lario
$20 tape Zipp
$650 computer Polar S710 complete
$80 bottle cages Zipp Carbon
$337 pedals Time Impact Mag
WOW! Amazing...that is my bike (NM)mikebikr
Oct 25, 2002 10:42 AM
how about a $14,500 Trek?trekkie1
Oct 25, 2002 12:17 PM
Of course, it comes with a car to haul it around. :-)

http://popularmechanics.com/outdoors/bicycles/1997/1/Auto_Bikes/print.phtml
Fondriestandy437
Oct 27, 2002 3:15 PM
Fondriest frame with the special paint job: around NZ$7000 (could almost by a Giant TCR Comp ONCE or probably the full Comp Zero bike w/Dura Ace!!