RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


How much do running shoes help?(15 posts)

How much do running shoes help?PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Oct 23, 2002 9:09 PM
How much do an actual good pair of running shoes help in your running? I'm considering getting away from my usual cross trainers and getting a nice pair of New Balance shoes for running to cross-train. I've tried some on and they feel like they make the natural movement of my foot way more natural. Any opinions?

Thanks!
Nick
PodiumBound.ca
How badly do you want to injure your feet and legs?DeRanger
Oct 23, 2002 9:33 PM
A pair of properly-fit running shoes can compensate for potentially injurious vagaries in your stride or plant. For example, motion control shoes are essential for me to compensate for the fact that I supinate when I plant, which really puts a lot of stress on my foot. The wrong shoes can result in serious repetitive stress injuries that may also affect your ability to ride.

Getting your shoes fit properly is no less important than fitting your bike, and for many of the same reasons.

Once you've got the right shoe for your stride, then the same rule applies for shoes as for bike parts - you get to pick two of three: light, cheap, or strong (well, I suppose the right adjective is "sturdy" in the case of shoes).

I'm partial to the Brooks Beast. New Balance has historically made great shoes, and I've owned a few pair as well over the years.

DeR/Mike
Brooks Beast's are the only reason I can run! (nm)hrv
Oct 24, 2002 11:38 AM
Go to a running shopentropy kid
Oct 23, 2002 11:33 PM
...if you consider taking up a somewhat regular running schedule. The one and foremost thing in running is a good pair of shoes, and if you don't know what to look out for, you will end up with a pair that doesn't fit the way it's supposed to. For one thing you have to buy them a tad larger than you normally would because your feet will ... uhm... swell up during running. Told that to my girl but she would not listen. Now she did her first marathon and lost 4 out of ten toenails the week after. A good clerk in a running shop will also give you hints about what model of shoe you need by looking at your way of standing and walking.
Have fun, but don't start off too fast :)
Agree-Go to a running shopJuanmoretime
Oct 24, 2002 1:53 AM
Find a good running shop. Bring your old shoes, they will want to see the wear patterns. A good shop will also have you jump on a treadmill and videotape you running to analize your foot strike to determine the proper type of shoe for you. By doing this you will mostlikely run injury free. Your legs and feet will feel better. You will run more efficiently alllowing a naturally quicker pace.
depends.Steve_0
Oct 24, 2002 3:02 AM
MOST people benefit greatly from running shoes; basic benefit being fewer injuries.

But, like most things, this is highly individualized; SOME people are fine with Xtrainers or even tennis shoes. very slim minority though.

It really depends on your mileage; the more mileage you put in, the more you should consider running shoes - specifically those tailored to your pronation. If youre running a mile or 2 per week for xtraining, youre probably fine. if youre running some decent distances, though, start shopping.
Concur: a lot!fbg111
Oct 24, 2002 4:15 AM
I started running last spring after a 3 year hiatus. I was wearing an old pair of trail running shoes, and had pains in my lower legs. Went to an orthopedic surgeon, who took one look at my walk/run stride and said I was pronating (coming down flat, then rotating my feet inward, putting all my weight on my inner arch and inner foot) and needed better shoes. Went to Omega Sports, got my run analysed and my feet fitted, left with a pair of Asics DuoMax. A month later the had completely subsided.

In my experience, there are three main features to look for in running shoes: pronation control, arch support, padding. Different people will need different amounts of each one. I personally need medium pronation control, high arch support, and low to medium padding.

You may be fine with Xtrainers for now, but you won't hurt yourself by going to real running shoes. At best you may prevent future injury.
running shoes matter about as much as shorts and saddledzrider
Oct 24, 2002 4:34 AM
Some shoes are way more comfortable for me to run in than others and running is way more fun in comfortable shoes. Some shoes also seem to aggrevate injuries way more than others. I haven't found the shoe classes the running press uses, e.g. "motion control", "cushioned", "support", etc. to be very good predictors of which shoes will feel good to me. Neither is brand as I've had good and bad luck with almost every major brand of running shoes including New Balance. Try to find the pair that fits you best and looks good enough that you're willing to wear them for beating around if they don't work out for running.
Link to running shoe reviewsCaptain Morgan
Oct 24, 2002 5:21 AM
First off, I would not run without running shoes. They protect your foot from running-specific injuries. Also, they improve performance.

As a reference, here is a link to an online running shoe store that has customer reviews of the products:

http://www.roadrunnersports.com/cgi-bin/rrs/rrs/rrHome.jsp
My family owns a running shoe store.Matno
Oct 24, 2002 5:37 AM
And we swear by Saucony over all others. My bro-in-law, who manages the shop and is the best runner in the family, thinks that New Balance shoes are a poor option for serious running. Even their "running" shoes are more like cross trainers.
Could ruin both!theeatkins
Oct 24, 2002 6:13 AM
I agree with the above opinions. You really do need a good pair of running shoes or you risk injury. Especially as you get older. On a bike there are a number of components that can make a major difference. With running there is only one thing that can make or break (!) you. It the shoes. Go to a RUNNING store and get fitted for some good shoe. You'll never be sorry. Good luck.
Gary
Running shoes were made for "running"landgoose
Oct 24, 2002 6:24 AM
Running shoes are specifically desinged to take the forward and back motions of running much better than crosstrainers which are built to take less stress in all directions. If wou are putting in decent miles a mediocre pair of running shoes will probably feel better than a good pair of crosstrainers. Also you should wear you shoes only for their intended putpose, don't go wearing you running shoes to walk around town or they will break down incorrectly.
essentialGeardaddy
Oct 24, 2002 7:10 AM
Definitely get some, they're worth it! I don't have any particular need for a specialized fit, but I would get them anyway. They're lighter, more durable, and more comfortable if you wish to concentrate on running only.

Another thing to note is that you should always use shoes that are in good condition, as a "worn out" running shoe can lead to injuries as well. I've experienced problems in the past because I continued to run using shoes that had "lost it", i.e. the cushioned sole was no longer doing its job. Got some new shoes, and the problems magically went away.
As a 220-lb ex-marathoner, no way I'd run without 'emcory
Oct 24, 2002 8:56 AM
Particularly if you're a larger guy running on pavement, they're absolutely necessary--I'd say even MORE necessary than shorts for riding, because you can do permanent damage to your feet, ankles, knees, hips and even back.
Thanks!!! (nm)PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Oct 24, 2002 11:07 AM