RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Aarrrrgh!(10 posts)

Aarrrrgh!Mel Erickson
Oct 23, 2002 1:46 PM
Please allow me to vent. When people ask a specific question why do some answer with a question about why the poster wants to do it that way? See this post as an example. http://forums.consumerreview.com/crforum?viewall@@.efb9f00

He specifically asked if there were suspension forks that would fit his bike yet at least two of the posts questioned why he wanted a suspension fork or made suggestions about how to get a more compliant ride without a suspension fork. If the guy had asked "Should I get a suspension fork to soften my ride or should I go another way" I could see these responses. But he didn't. I've been guilty of this in the past but I've been making a concerted effort to try and stick to the question asked. There's plenty of open ended topics to post a myriad of responses that one doesn't need to always question the posters reasoning.

Thank you. I feel better already. I'm getting off my soap box now and donning my firemans suit.
As a guy who's wasted a ton of money on my hobbies...cory
Oct 23, 2002 3:25 PM
Over the years, I've squandered thousands, probably tens of thousands, of dollars on race cars, cameras, running shoes, tools and, for the last decade or so, bicycles. A lot of it has been well spent, but a lot of it has been wasted, too.
Speaking just for myself, if somebody had told me BEFORE I wrote the check that (for instance) a $1,300 exhaust system wouldn't make my car go any faster, and if I'd believed him, I would have been happy to spend the money on something that made a difference. I could come up with dozens of examples from other activities I've tried.
I've occasionally responded to questions like that by discouraging the poster from spending the money, for instance if he's contemplating a $500 fork for a $250 bike. If he knows the facts and still wants to do it, fine--the Brooks saddle and Carradice bag on my singlespeed are worth more than the frame, and that's my choice. But what does it hurt to give an opinion?
I tend to believeMel Erickson
Oct 24, 2002 6:55 AM
most posters have a fairly good idea of the type of response they want. If they're looking for that type of advice they'll ask for it, and plenty do. But when the question is very specific and the poster is looking for some straightforward answer but gets a bunch of "you shoulda's" instead I view it as a little rude and maybe somewhat condescending. It's not a huge deal, just a pet peeve and knee jerk post by me. Just ignore me when I do this, as I see most have.
I hear what you're saying, but I agree with MelKristin
Oct 24, 2002 11:26 AM
Over the past two years, I've received an annoying number of unsolicited advice posts from this board. But I put up with it--this being the internet and all I realize that I will encounter all breeds here--and mostly of the opinionated variety. But still, it's quite frustrating.

Perhaps you have made lots of expensive mistakes along the way and have learned loads about your bike setup. But remember, these are all YOUR mistakes, on YOUR bike. And what is a mistake for you, may not be a mistake for someone else. Unless you setup bikes and do fit sessions everyday for people with a variety of shapes and sizes and work with various frame materials and brands, then really, all you know is what works/doesn't work for YOU. Any advice you give me regarding the setup of a lugged 53cm DeBernardi Alle with Campy Veloce is still mostly a guess. Unless, of course, you are a 5'7" girl with a 53cm DeBernardi Alle.

Here an example. I hadn't even posted a question...this post was just a funny antedote about a rider (me) trying to use plastic cleats on road shoes for the first time. Kristin "Slip Slidin' Away" 7/9/02 7:05am

What ensued was a list of questions and suggestions ranging from getting SPD's with even more float, to buying Frogs or going back to my old SPD's. Keep in mind. I didn't ask ANY questions AT ALL in this post. And what no one knew--what no one needed to know--was that I had spent a considerable amount of time with Shawn at Arlington Bicycle to determine that my current pedals--which were both heavy and had the wrong kind of float--were contributing to my ITBS. And I'm really glad I listened to Shawn. He was right and my problem went away. I could't be happier with the pedals or the shop. The funniest part of the post was that I had already bought the Looks and people were telling me to go buy Speedplays. What?? That makes no sense.
paternalistic, arrogant, know-it-allstrekkie1
Oct 24, 2002 8:29 AM
Some people have these pet ideas in their head about what's good for everyone. They don't miss a chance to attempt to convince the world that what did or did not work for them ought to be the same for everyone else. If someone asks about "what's a good carbon frame", no doubt 20 people will tell them they really need steel or titanium, or why they're such a dumbass for even considering carbon. It is annoying.

Nonetheless, as someone mentioned somewhere else, once posted, a thread takes on a life of it's own. It leaves your control and take directions you never intend. That's the nature of these things.
That's right. Do you like your chicken baked or fried? ;-) nmrwbadley
Oct 24, 2002 9:26 AM
You shouldn't be eating chicken, you should be eating fish! nmMel Erickson
Oct 24, 2002 2:18 PM
OK, Fried then .... nmrwbadley
Oct 24, 2002 3:18 PM
You mean you still eat meat?! (wink-wink, nudge-nudge) nm =)look271
Oct 24, 2002 2:18 PM
Brah! My sincerest apologies. Forgive me please!Ahimsa
Oct 24, 2002 4:41 PM
Ah, how arrogant of me!

Not only did I actually answer his question, offer a brand and product name that fit his requirements (and BTW turns out to be exactly what he bought), give him a suggestion of who to ask for more info, AND follow up with his secondary question, I had the gall....nay, the NERVE...to suggest he try the tire solution first so as to possibly save a lot of money and keep his bike lighter.

God forbid!

I'm so ashamed of myself. Thank you for pointing this out to me Mel, I'll be sure to phrase all answers to posts in a pointed and direct fashion, free of any opinion or anything based on personal experience in the future.

Again, my deepest apologies for offending your delicate post reading sensibilities. Perhaps in the future I shall email them to you for editing first so as to avoid your critical thought dissection. Message boards are no place for such rubbish. They must be pure of thought, and direct in their dissemination of what is surely a font of archived wisdom.....

Oh dear....I'm rambling.

Geez, this post is awful wordy. Uhmm....uh....

Hey, Mel...would you be a pal and edit this down for me?

Just so it says something like....ah....oh...I dunno...something like...

"Dear Mel, shove off."

Yep, that sounds about right.

Gee, thanks in advance!

Cheers!

A.