RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Wanted: Gear Opinions and Advice(10 posts)

Wanted: Gear Opinions and Advicehallcd7
Oct 21, 2002 5:05 PM
I value what most of you have to say, your experience and knowledge has been a temendous help for me to improve my biking experience, so please consider this ...
I have a double, 39/53. Replaced the cassette 12/23 with a 12/27. I like the 27 for climbs, but wondering if i'm missing something by not having the other larger cogs from the 12/23. I'm thinking of just putting the 12/23 back on, but replacing the 23 cog with the 27 cog, and trying that.
Whaddya think?
Maybe you should also consider a 12/25? (nm)jtferraro
Oct 21, 2002 7:05 PM
re: Wanted: Gear Opinions and Advice MORE INFO NEEDEDroadcyclist
Oct 22, 2002 3:01 AM
What cogs are you missing? If you replace the 23 with the 27 - will that put you from a 21 to a 27? List the cogs of each cassette to receive the advice you want.
Update: More specific info, and questionhallcd7
Oct 22, 2002 5:05 AM
With these gears available, what combination would you assemble, given the rides and rider described below?

12/23 - 12,13,14,15,16,17,19,21,23

12/27 - 12,13,14,15,17,19,21,24,27

5'7" 160, average strength and endurance, avg ride 25-35 miles, avg speed 16-18mph.

3 or 4 good climbs are 400-800 ft elevation change, 1-2 miles, 5%-9% grades. Rest of my rides are flat to rolling hills.

Thanks!
Re: Gearing questionsmpm32
Oct 22, 2002 5:35 AM
There is much talk about finding the perfect cassette. My practice has always been to have multiple cassettes so that I can change them depending on the ride/race. I currently have an 11-21 for mainly crits. A 12-23 for most races. A 12-25 for the rides/races that are really hilly and I am looking to get a nice 12-27 pizza cutter for the big mountains. It doesn't take longer than 3 minutes to change a cassette and when you have multiples, you are prepared for any situtation.
When you ride the 12-27 do you miss your 16?dzrider
Oct 22, 2002 5:52 AM
I would, as 42-16 is a combination that I use very frequently. You may not, with a 39, especially if you spin a little slower than I do. Your terrain and pace sound pretty similar to my riding and I was always willing to suffer a little more on the climbs to preserve the straight block as far up the cassette as I could. A triple solved my dilemma. When I had a double I rode a 13-14-15-16-17-19-22-26.
re: Gear Opinions and AdviceChen2
Oct 22, 2002 5:50 AM
If your 12-27 is a Shimano 9-speed, you cannot simply replace the 23 with a 27. The larger cogs are riveted together in clusters. The Shimano European web site has diagrams and charts for their 9-speed cassettes showing which cogs are individuals and which are clusters.
I think a very good option for you would be a 13-25 cassette which includes the 16 you are missing with a 12-27 or 12-25. With the right parts you can also put together a 13-27. You really don't need an 11 or 12 unless you are competing at speeds of at least 35 mph. The mid range cogs, like the 16, can help you at the speeds you normally ride.
~Al
re: Wanted: Gear Opinions and Advicetarwheel
Oct 22, 2002 7:09 AM
The only extra gear you get with the 12/23 over the 12/25 or 12/27 is the 16 cog. Would you use the 16 a lot? You might consider a 12/25, but that won't get you the 16 either -- just closer spacing in the cluster on the high end. Personally, I like to spin up hills, so I use a 12/27. The 12/23 simply does not have a low enough gear for me, and the 12/25 offers little advantage over the 12/27. The last three gears on the 12/25 are 21, 23, 25, and on a 12/27 are 21, 24, 27 -- not that much difference in spacing, but that 27 makes a big difference when you're climbing a really steep hill or your legs are tired toward the end of a long ride.
Improving your biking experience by improving your fitnessLC
Oct 22, 2002 9:24 AM
No your not missing anything unless you want to race that bike. You don't have a 16 anymore, but so what; you got a 17 and you can just spin slightly faster or even spin the same and go 1 mph slower. I used to feel the 1 tooth gap more when I was at a lower fitness level, so here is how I fixed that: purposely train at times in a few gears too low and also a few gears to high so that you develop both good spin and good leg strength. Some people even choose to ride a single speed bike just so they are forced to do it, but if you carefully think about how your pedaling you can do even better training using the advantage of your gears.
Improving your biking experience by improving your fitnesshallcd7
Oct 22, 2002 10:12 AM
Thanks LC and others, I am doing as you (LC) suggested. I like the 27, and have decided to leave that cog set on. I am working on strength and fitness, because i want to become a good climber. It has become my goal to have the strength and endurance to keep up with the guys my age (49) and older who have been doing this for years. I am a late starter, as i just got serious about riding last January.
Again, this forum has been a great source of information and inspiration, and has helped me accelerate development of skills and knowledge enormously.

Many thanks to all!