RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Which Road tire are durable?(21 posts)

Which Road tire are durable?flyinbowlofmilk
Oct 20, 2002 7:02 PM
I just came got finsh completing my 2nd cycling tour in 2 year(Cycle North Carolina 2002) And when I got back I my back tire was about to go to road tire heaven. Now I am worried that my front tire will go to road tire heaven in the near future. My road bike has Michellin Axial tires. I just went to the LBS shop ,and got the back tire replaced this weekend. Now I have a Michellin Pro race tire. I was wondering if someone could tell me about the durablity of Road tires. And which road tire is the most durable when it comes to longevity? And which road tires aren't that good? I have been riding my road bike for going 2yrs now .

FBM
re: Which Road tire are durable?Bruno S
Oct 20, 2002 7:32 PM
try Continental. Ultra 2000 (wire or kevlar) and the GP 3000 are not only very durable but also very resistant to punctures. Expect the front to last about twice the miles that the rear. (a conservative milage for road tires is 3000 miles front, 1500 miles rear)
Conti's? Are you kidding??Alexx
Oct 21, 2002 6:04 AM
I've been disappointed with EVERY Conti tire I've ever bought. Here's just some of them:
Conti Giro tubulars: Lumpy, tough mounting, one blew to kingdom-come from just hitting a bump.
Conti Sprinter tubulars: Flatted very easily, wore out in less than 1000 miles, 50% are lumpy, and they have the nerve to charge $60 for these d@mn things??!!
Conti Sport 1000: At least these were cheap, but they wore out in about 600 miles. Got a flat about every 70 miles, too. Cheap cr@p.
Conti Top-Touring 2000: Put these on a touring bike. Flatted twice in 1000 miles. Tread started cracking within 1 year. These were $40 tires.
Conti Ultra 2000: Wore out fast, flatted about every third ride. Threw them away after about 500 miles. Last time I will ever buy Conti's.
Take my advice-buy ANYTHING other than Conti's-they wear out fast, flat easily, and cost far too much $$ for what you get. I gave up on Conti car tires several years ago-should've known that the bike tires weren't any better.....
buy some good ones...C-40
Oct 21, 2002 8:13 AM
I can get 3000 miles from a Conti GP3000 tire mounted on the rear and twice that from the front tire. I haven't had a flat in the last 6000 miles.

The GP3000 can be purchased for $25 from sources like totalcycling.com.
with all due respectAlexx
Oct 21, 2002 1:25 PM
I've bought Conti tires at least 6 times, and have always been dissapointed, whether they were cheap or expensive. With a record like that, I don't care how cheap they can be, I ain't buying another Continental tire for a car, bike, or even for a wheelbarrow!
I've had great luck with the Ultra 2000s.jtolleson
Oct 22, 2002 7:09 AM
Switched to them right before Ride the Rockies in June and never flatted for the rest of the season (unlike the Axial Pros they replaced).

My partner rode the same GP Four Season all summer with nary a flat.

I also like Michelin Axial Carbon, so this isn't about pitting one manufacturer against another. Vredestein Fortezzas too. As you can see, I'm not a brand loyalist; I'm a sale follower! : )
Your crazy to get the axial pro racePODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Oct 20, 2002 8:21 PM
No offence. Its a great tire and quite light. But if your going to be using it everyday this isn't the tire you want to be using. I'd recommend the Axial Pro's but the race version has less rubber and a thinner casing so not only does it wear quicker you'll also be prone to more flats... not at all worth the weight penalty. I used to have the lightweight component syndrome which is fine for racing but when your just training/riding for fun its baddddd and gets you in trouble. I had like 7 flats in 3 weeks cus I bought a set of veloflex superlight tires while I was on vacation.

At the very least put the Axial pro race up front and swap your front tire to the rear. On the front you will be less prone to pinch flats.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
Nick's rightweiwentg
Oct 21, 2002 3:50 AM
the Axial Pro and Pro Race are racing tires. it's your money; if you're a lighter rider you could probably get away with training on them. they were not designed for high mileage. personally, I use Axial Carbons, which are pretty darn good.
If you liked Axial Pros, you should be happy wth Pro RacesLook381i
Oct 21, 2002 1:56 AM
The 23s weigh about 5 grams more than the Axial Pros and, according to Michelin, have better durability:

"a more supple ride and increased rolling efficiency, plus better puncture resistance in the tread area. The belt also reduces casing stretch caused by high pressures, increasing tread life."

You may not believe Michelin, so do a search for Pro Races on the web for reviews and more info on the technical differences.

I ran APs for several years and went to PRs this past summer. I had a couple of flats with the APs in 15k miles or so, due to nails, but no other problems. In the first 1.5 k miles on the PRs, no problems at all.

Always put your better (newer, more tread) tire up front. A flat up front can cause steering control loss.
If you liked Axial Pros, you should be happy wth Pro RacesSpunout
Oct 21, 2002 3:40 AM
The PRo Race has replaced the Axial Pro, so they should be quite similar. However, these are BOTH lightweight performance tires, and will wear out quickly.

For training, you might want a heavier tire that will last longer, such as Axial Carbon or Vredestein Fortezza (non-Tricomp).

When changing tires, why on earth would you put a worn tire on the front, compromising your handling, safety, and steering? Here's a thought: Buy three at a time, and change the rear when it wears out, leave the front alone.
Over 5K on my Conti GP this year.Still have life in them.PEDDLEFOOT
Oct 21, 2002 4:03 AM
4K on mine, no flats, still in good shape -- nmms
Oct 21, 2002 5:06 AM
Axial Pro LightsJuanmoretime
Oct 21, 2002 6:10 AM
I've been riding the Axial Pro Lights I went 2000 on the rear and had to replace it due a tire cut, the front has been put on the rear and now has about 3,500 on it and still looks good. I've had zero flats, ride most oil and chip roads and am not a light weight at 175 lb. They have been great tires for me and I'm using the light version.
Tires are like saddles. People have extreme experiences...Tig
Oct 21, 2002 7:39 AM
...with them from heaven to absolute hell. Just read the posts in here and the reviews section. One person can ride on one model of tire for 2000 miles without a flat, and not have to replace it for another 2000 miles. The very next person will call the same tire the worst piece of junk, complaining about getting a flat every week on it. I have no explanation for this!

Also, when you have a pair of tires and the rear one is about mid-life and losing its round profile, swap it with the front tire that is still in good shape. Another method is to ride it until its finished, buy a new one for up front, and put the existing front one on the back.

My flat tire problems have dropped since I lowered the pressure in my 23's from 115-120 psi to 100-105 psi. The ride has improved, as with the cornering.

I may try Conti Gator Skins for the winter. My current training tires are Conti 2000's, which are holding up well, but I hate them on slick roads. My racing tires are Conti 3000's, which are an incredible ride in every department, but tend to wear out quickly.
Tires are like saddles. People have extreme experiences...UofAracer
Oct 21, 2002 11:59 AM
You're right on about personal preference. I put a GP 3000 on the rear and got a flat (tiny wire or paper staple)in less than 50 miles. I replaced it with a Gator Skin and got another flat (small glass chip) in less than 70 miles.
If you go from Grand Prix 3000's to Gator Skins, you might want to get 25's. Gator skins tend to run narrow, and with the durability, comes a slightly harsh ride. You can put more pressure in the 25's and still get a fairly supple ride. I can't feel the weight difference. Gator Skins mount a while lot easier than GP 3000's.
re: Which Road tire are durable?aliensporebomb
Oct 21, 2002 7:45 AM
I had a set of Hutchinson Carbon Comps on my TCR2 and I
was riding by some kids throwing a glass Sobe bottle that
shattered on the MUT while I was going about 20 mph.

They were facing away from me and probably didn't see me
coming. The thing hit the MUT and shattered right as I
was riding by but it appeared I was unscathed.

I figured that since I hadn't blown it out I didn't want to
hang around with a group of vandals (though I did shout
"HEY! WATCH IT!" at 'em) and continued on.

When I was done with my ride I saw that my right sidewall
got cut pretty good, but NOT through the casing. I played
it safe and swapped the tire and figure I'll use the one
with the cut for trainer use in the winter.

My bike shop friend John said that he would have no trouble
riding on that tire even with a cut like that thru it. Wow.

I replaced it, but they didn't have any Carbon Comps so I
tried a Vittoria Rubino Pro Kevlar.

Both tires seem pretty tough, the casing on the Rubino
seems a tad tougher maybe although it might be because of
the patterning on it.

Anyway, YMMV.
re: Which Road tire are durable?snapdragen
Oct 21, 2002 7:49 AM
For long distance touring I like Pasela TG (Tour Guard). I rode from San Fransisco to Los Angeles with no flats.
IMHO - Specialized ArmidillosUncleMoe
Oct 21, 2002 8:04 AM
However, what you give up in exchange for the durability is a smooth ride and you add some rotational weight to the wheel. I commute so this is fine for me. For touring I would say the same.

Pros - flats are RARE, I've ridden them 3000-4000 miles without a flat (knock on wood), durability, I just replaced my rear tire a few weeks ago. Front tire still going strong.

Cons - rougher ride, added rotational weight.

I've heard good things about Conti Gator Skins and I plan on giving them a try in the spring. A bit lighter than armidillos and tread looks like it would be a better ride. Maybe not as durable though.
Contradiction?peter in NVA
Oct 21, 2002 9:59 AM
Last 5 years ridden 23 Axial Pros on road. Love the ride but very suspectable to cuts. During the summer drought been riding them off road instead of my cross. Miles of gravel roads and trails and no wear or cuts at all! Man made objects on the road, like glass, must be much worse than anything nature throws at you!
Too much of a performance compromisejtolleson
Oct 22, 2002 7:11 AM
The only place I'd put Armadillos is on a commuter, I think. My goal has been to find a tire in the "vital center" between durability and performance.

The stiff ride and lousy cornering traction (the traction actually makes me nervous on fast descents) makes me not an Armadillo fan!
Somewhat agreed...UncleMoe
Oct 22, 2002 11:29 AM
Which is why I am going to try the gatorskins in the spring.