RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


1999 Trek 2300 for $700(20 posts)

1999 Trek 2300 for $700Kunfoochi
Oct 19, 2002 5:51 PM
Do you think this is a good deal? It's a 1999 Trek 2300 with Full Ultegra except 105 Shifters, with Speedplays, an Easton CT2 seat post, and Ultegra/Open Pro wheels, with about 500 miles on it.

Thanks
Oh, yea, this too....Kunfoochi
Oct 19, 2002 5:52 PM
The guy said that the 105 Shifters are the same as the ultegra inside, just that the ultegra have an aluminum shifter cap and the 105s have a plastic one. The guy seems decent, but is this true?

Thanks
Sigh...Fez
Oct 19, 2002 8:22 PM
You've posted for weeks now with every deal you can find. Lots of people have replied, giving you good advice, yet you still find more bikes to ask opinions of. What are you looking for? Lowest price possible?

Just take the plunge and get something. Spend less time shopping and more time riding. Search the archives and find some of the great advice your fellow RBRs gave you. Once you have a clue what you want, remember fit is a lot more important than anything else.
Sigh...Kunfoochi
Oct 20, 2002 6:03 AM
Well, believe me, I'd like to just start riding. My apologies, but I'm already spending money I don't have, and I'm only buying this bike because I want one so badly. I later realized the first few deals I asked about were way out of my budget, and now, every time I get far into a deal, the other guy backs out because someone offers him/her more and I can't afford to top their offer. I'm 15, and I may not be as knowledgable and wealthy as you, but I like to make sure I'm getting the most out of the money I can spend...especially because this is going to have to last me a long time, I'd like to make the right decision....and every time I ask questions here, everyone has been great about it, and you have all helped me along the way. Fez, if you don't want to answer me, please don't, it's not your obligation, and you shouldn't feel that it is.

Thanks
Well,Fez
Oct 20, 2002 7:15 AM
I'm only going off of recent memory here, but as I recall, many people, including myself, have replied in detail to your questions. But it seems you don't listen to any of it because you keep looking at completely different bike setups from your prior post.

Lets be realistic about the cost. If you buy used, you already are paying a fraction of new, but a complete top level racing bike is probably not going to be had for less than $700. Several people have said look at gvhbikes.com if you want a new bike. Those prices are very low and he is very flexible with getting exactly what you want.

If you want something fast, but a little cheaper, you could look at bikes a few years older with 8 speed. Still fast bikes, but the prices are less because of the age and the fact that 8 speed stuff is no longer the current standard. Good luck in finding a bike.
Well,Kunfoochi
Oct 20, 2002 7:18 AM
Thanks....so from what you're saying, I can gather that this is a good deal?
It's an adequate dealjtolleson
Oct 20, 2002 9:00 AM
production bikes claiming low mileage always baffle me when they have mix-n-match componentry. What you've described is not the stock 2300 set up so why? Was the frame ridden a bunch and then re-wed to a bunch of components that supposedly have 500 miles? Etc.

I just sold a 1999 Litespeed for $900 with full Ultegra and OP rims, which only about 4,000 miles. The used bike market is notoriously soft, so I think getting a production al frame with an Ultegra/105 combo falls in the "so-so" category. But if it fits well, and is in your hometown, and is available today, those factors can weigh heavily into just pulling the trigger and buying.
It's an adequate dealRusty Coggs
Oct 20, 2002 9:10 AM
99 Trek catalog says Rolf Vector Comp wheels.
Yep, and I'm virtually certain full Ultegra...jtolleson
Oct 20, 2002 9:26 AM
so why the shifter swap? This are always things that make me go "hmmm" when folks are selling "barely ridden" production bikes that have obviously had component swaps.
It's an adequate dealKunfoochi
Oct 20, 2002 9:28 AM
Couldn't it have been bought as a frameset and built up? If this is only adequate, what would be a fair pricei for both of us, keeping in mind that he needs to get rid of it.
It's an adequate dealKunfoochi
Oct 20, 2002 9:31 AM
I did ask about the 105 shifters, and he gave me a lesson on how the 105s are the same as the Ultegras, except the 105 have plastic shifter caps, whereas the Ultegra have aluminum, and that they're the same inside, it's a marketing ploy.

Seems kinda fishy to me, too.

Thanks
Not true about the shiftersTig
Oct 20, 2002 10:46 AM
105 and Ultegra are not the same with different shifter caps. Open up and dig in both and you will see differences. The bike sounds good, but having ridden the same Trek aluminum SL frame from that year, I personally wouldn't touch it. This was the only road bike frame (out of 8, and most have been aluminum) that I ever actually hated to ride! Compared to similar aluminum frames, this one is heavier, flexes more in the bottom bracket, and worst of all, rides extremely rough. This is just my opinion, but I have plenty of miles on this frame to back it up.
It's not an adequate dealpmf1
Oct 21, 2002 11:36 AM
The 2300 is a heavy aluminium bike. Never ridden one, but I've never been pleased with other aluminium bikes I've ridden. As for the 105 levers, they are different than the Ultegra. And I seriously doubt anyone built this bike up from a frame. Its not a very nice frame. Can you even buy it as a frame set?

If you really want something decent, you should look to spend a few hundred more and shoot for something with all Ultegra. An all around steel bike like the Lemond Zurich is worth looking at.

For a low end Trek bike, $700 for one bordering on 4 years old is too much. I wouldn't worry about high miles -- most folks don't ride enough miles to wear a bike out. I have a Kestrel 200 with Dura Ace and Heliums I was thinking about selling, but figured I'd only get $1200 for it, so I decided to keep it. Its 8 years old, but I swapped components on it 4 years ago. I have barely ridden it the last 2 years. My point is that used bikes are not worth much. And this one is not worth $700.
Howzabout...jtolleson
Oct 20, 2002 12:20 PM
$500. That makes it a very good deal for you, but he gets cash on the barrelhead for a bike that will be difficult to sell other ways (such as classifieds or the 'net).

This assumes (the bike sounds local) that you've visually inspected it and assured yourself that his representations about use are probably true, and that it fits you.

Good luck!
It's an adequate dealteoteoteo
Oct 20, 2002 3:10 PM
Beware or the bike and ask why shifters are not original. 500 miles means Ultegra Shifters should still be there. If seller is local ask to meet you at local shop and have them look over rig to evaluate.

ALSO don't jump on any bargain unless you are 100% sure it will fit...a $700 bike that doesn't fit is $700 in the garbage.

Hope this helps. Don't let any turdism get you down. Glad to see a 15 year old out to ride....just don't be like the 15 year old I saw in Austin yesterday. Sprinting down the left lane of a busy 4 lane road, a road that has it's own bike lane.
It's an adequate dealKunfoochi
Oct 20, 2002 4:01 PM
Thanks, that makes me feel a bit better about it:).....It's actually not very local, about 150 miles....but my dad said if I really wanted we could drive there and take a look if I'm serious about it....There sure is something fishy about this bike, but if he accepts $500 and I go there and see that everything is working, fits me, and is in good condition, then I don't care what the story is, it's a good deal and I can start riding again.

Thanks for all of the help!!
Here's a copy of the e-mail he sent me...Kunfoochi
Oct 20, 2002 5:07 PM
I wouldn't normally do this, but this guy seems like a jerk, and naturally, he doesn't answer my questions...when I ask him why the 105 shifters are there, he gives me a speech about how the Ultegras and 105s are the same...then, when I ask him about the components not being stock, he gets off on a tangent about how the bike is a good bike, once again, avoiding my question....

Here's what he wrote to me when I offered him $500, and asked him why the parts weren't stock, also telling him I spoke to a few experts, and they told me to ask these questions, and said the bike was worth about that(experts being--you guys:))

"Your offer is a joke. I'd say go for the DA bike, its below wholesale cost
if it is in fact a new bike its a good deal. I'd ditch the Rolf wheels due
to lack of reliability. Confident of my bikes' value, I'm standing firm at
$700 shipped and would settle for $650 should you come get it. I work for a
shop and am not pulling your leg here. I have been riding bikes for 14
years now, have worked in the bike industry for 8 years.
Furthermore, since I read in your last email that you were 15, I am
concerned of the bikes fit, which is critical... seems you may have
overlooked that. Managing a shop, every sale, be it new or used, online or
in-store, is a display of my committment to the sport and my integrity. If
you wanted to take a nice drive some day to see how the bike feels, you're
welcome to do so.
You, your father, or any of your expert friends may call me with any other
questions. 302-331-1005.
Thanks,
Phil"
Here's a copy of the e-mail he sent me...AirborneMPpilot
Oct 20, 2002 6:27 PM
You shouldn't be posting his info here, that's #1. 2nd, I don't see how he is a jerk, you're reading way too much into it. Fact is that for you this is a life and death decision and for someone else it is just a $700 bike. You obviously dislike the guy, so don't deal with him, but at the same time don't post his name and phone number and call him a jerk.

You're letting your immaturity get a better of you. Step away from the keyboard and think before you post.
Here's a copy of the e-mail he sent me...teoteoteo
Oct 20, 2002 6:49 PM
The verbage he uses concerns me. While he has spent 8 years in the bike industry it sounds like he spent his entire life as a Jackass! Managing a shop never enters ANYONE in to Saint status his demeanor is a sign of something fishy.

I work in a very nice shop and have sold lots of my personal bikes online. Never once have I told someone their offer is a joke (I'll say too low) BUT I do share his apparent commitment to fit issues.

Direct questions deserve direct answers though. As excited as you are I would say hold until you can see bike with dad and maybe just walk away altogether.
Here's a copy of the e-mail he sent me...Kunfoochi
Oct 20, 2002 7:12 PM
Airborne, I'm going to strongly agree and disagree with you. First, I'm going to agree with you, I made a mistake of posting his name and phone number, to be perfectly honest, I didn't even realize I did that, I just copied and pasted. If there is some way someone knows that I can edit or ask a mod to edit that out, I'd appreciate that. Here's where I disagree....I don't personally dislike the man, but his answers and rudeness were uncalled for.

As for the deal, I thanked him for his time, and he politely told me that he's going to decline my offer and keep trying for $700. Again, I'd really like to remove his personal information from there, if anyone knows how please let me know.

Thanks!