RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


RBR gear? Does it exist? Why not?(17 posts)

RBR gear? Does it exist? Why not?BrianNYC
Oct 18, 2002 6:55 AM
Does RBR sell RBR "logo-ed" merchandise like cycling shirts, shorts, hats, etc? I haven't seen it on the site, but it might be hidden somewhere. If they do not, is there a reason they don't do it as a way to further support/pay for the site? In addition to purchasing gear and equipment through the partner stores and the classifieds, it seems like a good way for the site to make money through its user base, and I don't see it really being competitive with the merchandise being sold by the partner stores. I would happily buy an RBR logo-ed shirt/shorts/bib, a lot sooner then I would ever buy a pro team logo-ed shirt (which is most likely never).
Good question, and good idea!MXL02
Oct 18, 2002 6:58 AM
Jerseys, shorts, headbands, socks, water bottles, etc....
Team RBR 2003 TDF! (nm)Frith
Oct 18, 2002 6:58 AM
The Schwag Does Exist....Gregory Taylor
Oct 18, 2002 7:22 AM
A while back I got a pair of socks and a t-shirt from gregg for submitting a photo to the caption contest. The shirt was okay, but the socks really rocked.

I'd imagine that it would be very hard to convince RBR to front the cash for a run of jerseys, etc., when they are in bankruptcy. The mantra here is to get costs down, get revenues up, stick to the core business.
Bingo....gregg
Oct 18, 2002 7:31 AM
...couldn't have said it better myself. We had socks (no more), and have only a handful of T-shirts and colorful cycling caps that I use for people that help out the site and for any RBR rides with a decent showing.

Cash is king and we just don't have enough of it right now. Perhaps in the future.

Thanks to all of you who are/were interested in a RoadbikeREVIEW jersey. The project is basically dead at this point, but not forgotten.

-gregg (back to "sticking to the core business")
Gregg-MXL02
Oct 18, 2002 7:34 AM
How about taking orders and getting the credit card numbers prior to ordering the jerseys. No up front money and could generate some much needed cash.
And...BrianNYC
Oct 18, 2002 7:43 AM
set an order size you need to reach, say 100 cycling jerseys (or whatever minimum order size makes it worth your while), to place it. I sold t-shirts in law school and there is a pretty good mark-up (i.e. profit) on this type of stuff if I remember correctly.

I don't think you would have trouble getting the trustee (if there is one) or the bankruptcy court judge to approve something like this since it would be prepaid.

Just an idea - good luck regardless.
The easiest (and less risky) solution...Gregory Taylor
Oct 18, 2002 7:48 AM
...would be to grant an interested party a license to use the RBR logo for a limited run of shirts. A small fee to RBR up front, and a percentage of sales. I'm not a trademark guy, so I don't know what it would take to make this fly. Also, legal counsel may have better things to do than spend estate money reviewing a licensing agreement for a bunch of jerseys...
Interesting idea...gregg
Oct 18, 2002 7:57 AM
...I have no problem giving my blessing for the logo usage and hi-rez versions of course. Just as long as I get to order a couple myself! I don't think we'd have to issue a usage license, but I could be wrong. I'd think my personal okay would cover liability. Hmmm....

-g
The easiest (and less risky) solution...BrianNYC
Oct 18, 2002 8:01 AM
Actually, I kind of do that type of legal work for a living. Assuming RBR is trademarked (there is no TM or (R) in the logo up top or TM notice at the bottom, so who knows, although there are certain common law rights regardless), a TM licensing agreement is pretty standard regardless of what TM you are licensing. The only burden on RBR, which is true of any TM licensor, would be oversight/control of the licensee's use of the mark, quality of product, etc., otherwise the licensor could lose its TM. But enough about the law.

Gregg, would you consider licensing the RBR logo to someone for cycling jerseys? I might not mind giving it a try if I could get 100 commitments - although someone who presently has the ability to accept credit cards would perhaps be a better candidate.
no problem on my end...gregg
Oct 18, 2002 8:05 AM
...except for the credit card part. For the Classifieds, we actually do not process the cards ourselves. We use a secure online financial institution and outsource that part.

I measured interest in this project before, and response was about 30, 35 at best. I'm not sure we would be able to get 100.

-g
A thought on the credit card thing....Gregory Taylor
Oct 18, 2002 8:36 AM
....what about putting them up on E-Bay and using E-Bay's Pay Pal to process payments? I'll betcha most of the folks here that would like to buy a jersey are also E-Bay Jockeys. (Strangely, I'm not...)

There are also some decent jersey companies that will do custom work in lots of 40 or 50 or so.
This has been suggested before and...gregg
Oct 18, 2002 7:59 AM
...it's not so much just the money resource but time resource as well. It could/would be a logistical nightmare.

I appreciate all the enthusiasm though, really!

-g
Come to the NSA/OCE Fixte Century for RBR schwag.MB1
Oct 18, 2002 7:34 AM
Last time I got t-shirts, socks and a couple of RBR cycling caps. The hats work great for rowing. The socks are historically good for at least an additional 1-2 mph. The t-shirts work great for cleaning bikes (sorry gregg, just kidding).

What will I give away this time??? Winners must be on hand to claim their prize.
MB1 - do you have a post that I can lock at the top for this?gregg
Oct 18, 2002 8:01 AM
I might have missed it, but if you did post a thread, LMK.

By the way, please email me your mailing info again.

Thanks,

gkato@roadbikereview.com
Here it is...MB1
Oct 18, 2002 10:26 AM
MB1 "SeaGull century ride report (adventures in mud & wet sand)" 10/14/02 5:39am

Great, better get me some schwag after I told everyone we would have some. Otherwise I'll have to get Miss M to bake an extra batch of brownies.
I'll 2-day air it (nm)gregg
Oct 18, 2002 12:07 PM