RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Shimano Vs. Campagjunko(25 posts)

Shimano Vs. CampagjunkoMasonJ
Oct 18, 2002 3:32 AM
Everyone knows the Japs are better engineers and produce better products over those lazy Italians (who take off months at a time, so no wonder backorders occur), so the next time this argument appears on this board, please cut and paste this to end this argument for good. I hope Mr. Eric Norris is crying over the truth.
See www.masonJisageek.com (nm)Spunout
Oct 18, 2002 3:36 AM
http://www.youarean@$$.com (nm)Rusty McNasty
Oct 18, 2002 3:38 AM
It seems I have upset the Campagjunko crowd on this board.MasonJ
Oct 18, 2002 3:52 AM
I am tearing up right now because I hurt your feelings, and when will Mr. Eric Norris appear to defend his silly little web site? Are you afraid Mr. Norris? You know who I am. I am the guy who kicks your butt day after day riding Shimano. Come on Mr. Norris. Come out and play. I can't wait.
It seems I have upset the Campagjunko crowd on this board.mackgoo
Oct 18, 2002 7:14 AM
Like all professionals he probably has better things to do than respond to B/B posts. Of no concern I might add.
Why does anyone care about this? nmGalibier
Oct 18, 2002 3:52 AM
I'll tell you why...MasonJ
Oct 18, 2002 3:58 AM
Because people like Mr. Eric Norris need to shut up and quit spreading propaganda like he does so on his page. He calls Shimano names, and he doesn't ever give them a chance and review Shimano products. If he did, he would go away with his Campy crap. I just want to expose Mr. Eric Norris for who he really is, BIASED.
Internet is a big place, here is an important link for you...Spunout
Oct 18, 2002 4:16 AM
http://www.iosphere.net/~michaeld/SHIMANO.htm

We are all biased. As you are! Whats the bid deal then?
hey spunout ......Spirito
Oct 18, 2002 4:58 AM
i love you ;-)

.... no - not like that but just in a fond kinda way.

bravo
awwwhh, thanks Mr. Sprito, this is all quite alot of fun! (nm)Spunout
Oct 18, 2002 5:01 AM
Why would you waste your time?MasonJ
Oct 18, 2002 5:33 AM
Why would you waste your time building a web site like that for? You are no different than Eric Norris, Mr. Michael D. Why don't you go out and ride a Shimano equipped dream machine and quit wasting your time.
(he thinks it took me time to do that?) NMSpunout
Oct 18, 2002 5:40 AM
I'll tell you why notweiwentg
Oct 18, 2002 4:33 AM
while Mr Norris no doubt likes Campy a lot, his comments about Shimano are mainly intended in good fun. there's a note on his site congratulating Shimano over 'their' Tour victories - if you search you'll find it.
normally I would advise you to start a Shimano Only site that reviews Shimano products and pokes fun at Campy by calling them CampagNOlo, but you'll probably take the thing too seriously. come on, Mr Norris is joking!
waidaminit, Norris is serious, CAMPY RULES!!! (NM)Spunout
Oct 18, 2002 4:58 AM
CampagNOlo Not...Campagjunko YES.MasonJ
Oct 18, 2002 5:35 AM
Why would I copy off Eric Norris's petty little Shimano put down. At least my word says what Campy really is... JUNK.
Mason J has too much time on his handshulksmash
Oct 18, 2002 5:43 AM
Do you have a job?
CampagNOlo Not...Campagjunko YES.mackgoo
Oct 18, 2002 7:23 AM
So just what exactly are you doing? I must admit Shimano products are perfect for the US "throw away" economy. Buy the stuff use it for a year or two, it wears out and you throw it away.
Campy you use it for a few years spend a few bucks rebuild it and keep going. Want to go from 9-10, 10-9? Change a ratchet and your there.
Wow to think Campy knows their customers have enough brains to care for their equipment. What a novel idea. Only in Italy.
CampagNOlo Not...Campagjunko YES.MasonJ
Oct 18, 2002 7:33 AM
This sounds more like propaganda to me. You mean Campagnolo stuff never wears out. It never gets thrown away.
CampagNOlo Not...Campagjunko YES.mackgoo
Oct 18, 2002 7:37 AM
No, I said you REBUILD IT for a fraction of the cost. And you get the added benefit of getting your hands dirty and seeing how your bike works.
I don't know why I bother...weiwentg
Oct 18, 2002 9:27 AM
but:
1) Mr Norris' 'petty attempt' at putting Shimano down sounds petty because HE INTENDS IT AS HUMOR.

2) I've got Shimano on the road and mountain bike, and Campy on the cross bike. I see the good points of both systems. Campy is not junk.

3) you should indeed read the APA article.
TROLL ALERT! -- Isn't this obvious? nmDougSloan
Oct 18, 2002 5:36 AM
MasonJ = Lzyrter??rwbadley
Oct 18, 2002 7:05 AM
mason: have you ever ridden, for a prolonged period, campy?bigdeal
Oct 18, 2002 8:05 AM
I don't think you have, because if you had your opinion would be different. I've ridden LOTS of Shimmy Ultegra and DA over the past 7 or so years. All it took was 2 weeks on Campy this past summer and I'll NEVER go back to Shimmy. Wrecked and messed up my ultegra shifter? Damn, need to buy a new shifter....no, a PAIR of shifters. But that's Ok, it'd only been 2300 miles and they were getting crappy anyway. If/when I hurt my Campy shifters, replace a few parts, done. Shifting getting sloppy due to worn parts? Replace a few parts. Nuff said. Then again, I do like to save money when I can, and I tend to think in terms of what things will cost in the long run vs what they cost in the short run, and I like to do my own work....

Ps. Do you actually believe red cars are faster too?
mason: have you ever ridden, for a prolonged period, campy?divve
Oct 18, 2002 8:58 AM
I have no idea what those spare parts cost nor do I know how easy it is to get them. I must admit however that it does make sense. Especially, when you consider that Record is only $50-$100 more than Dura-Ace here in Europe.
A more effective arguement.Spoiler
Oct 18, 2002 3:01 PM
If you appealed to people sense of sport development, you'd be more persuasive. For instance, if anybody has ever participated or seen a major race live, they'd know Shimano takes part in supporting the scene with neutral support, and tech support. Campy doesn't even bother. They make no effort to come to North America and be on the scene. They're all locked away, isolating themselves in Italy, selling overpriced groups to people with too much money on their hands.
They're also becoming experts in bullsh=t. I have a Campy track hub that's no longer under warranty. Why? I used it on my fixed-gear commuter. Campy decided that that's such a wacky idea that they can't honor the warranty. That's right, use a Campy track hub anywhere off the track and you've officially used it for purposes that are so negligant that you voided the warranty. Maybe they don't want their image tarnished by being seen on a common commuter bike.
Got a nine-speed Campy setup that's a couple years old? Now they make some BS change to their derailleurs so that they "supposedly" aren't compatable with older nine-speed shifters. Sure, all you need to do it order the replacement part, tear apart your shifter and install the new crap. But why make your customers go through all this? For the "privlege" of owning Campy? Is the quantum leap in shifting "crispness" worth it?
It's a good thing the website is is funny because it's getting so that you really need a sense of humor to deal with the hassle's of using their stuff.