RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Who the hell does Eric Norris think he is?(28 posts)

Who the hell does Eric Norris think he is?MasonJ
Oct 17, 2002 11:18 AM
Does anyone frequent the www.campyonly.com web site? Who died and left this webmaster God? What is his major beef against "ShimaNO"? Hey Mr. Norris, Shimano has one the last four tours. Maybe it is time to covert to Shimano and have Shimanonly web site for winners and not losers like Mr. Norris.
re: Who the hell does Eric Norris think he is?collinsc
Oct 17, 2002 11:26 AM
well, he does run a website called CAMPY ONLY. I would tend to think from that title he is pretty sincerely biased.

you wouldn't expect www.kukluxklan.org to be spouting the merits of the black man would you?

mr. norris is entitled to his own opinion. and you are entitled to yours.
Great response!RickC5
Oct 17, 2002 12:30 PM
Had me ROTFLOL!

This is one of those situations where "DUH!" fits perfectly.

Thanks for the laugh.
re: Who the hell does Eric Norris think he is?PaulCL
Oct 17, 2002 11:38 AM
Jeez...calm down.

If you have a problem with Campy equipment, why did you log onto that sight?? With a sight named "Campyonly" what did you expect??? If you have a real beef, start your own website extolling the virtues of Shimano equipment (ya know...fishing poles, etc...)

By the way, Mr. Norris is an enthusiast. He is enthusiastic about this sport we love and one particular group of equipment. Give him a break.
Tempted?Bike Nut
Oct 17, 2002 12:45 PM
Well, now you know how to keep Mason from thinking about stealing your bike. Any thoughts on how we can work on the other losers out there?
Who the hell does MasonJ think he is?cxer
Oct 17, 2002 12:46 PM
Does anyone frequent roadbikereview.com? Who died and made this guy God? What is his beef coming onto a cycling message board and voicing an opinion?

And yeah, we need a website for losers like Johan Museeuw, Simoni, DiLuca, Virenque and Galdeano who ride Campy because they suck so bad no one would ever hear about them otherwise.
Just let him enjoy the little world he created for himself. n/mfracisco
Oct 17, 2002 1:22 PM
re: Who the hell does Eric Norris think he is?farmerfrank
Oct 17, 2002 1:26 PM
Mr. Norris is out of Davis and he runs a great website for CampyOnly. He is an enthusiast also... I believe he completed the Triple Crown this year. So give the guy a break. Try riding campy sometime, you just might like it. At least I can find parts for my vintage campy record bike still. Can't say that for Shimano.
Regards.
re: Who the hell does Eric Norris think he is?MasonJ
Oct 17, 2002 6:33 PM
Never will I ride that homo Italian stuff Campagjunko. Mr. Norris come on and tell us, Who's your daddy!
re: Who the hell does Eric Norris think he is?DaveG
Oct 17, 2002 1:42 PM
I assume there is not a gun pointed at your head forcing you to click on CampyOnly? As for recent TdF wins, I think a Mr. Armstrong should get some of the credit.
Armstrong should give credit to Shimano and EPO.MasonJ
Oct 17, 2002 6:37 PM
Um, who cares?djg
Oct 17, 2002 3:01 PM
Anybody who follows pro cycling even a little bit knows that people can ride at the highest levels of the sport with either Shimano or Campagnolo gear.

Anyone who has tried both Shimano and Campagnolo gear knows that they both work just fine for the rest of us.

Does that mean that nobody should have a preference? No. There are differences here and there such that somebody might really prefer one or the other.

Do some folks get carried away with their preferences? Maybe. Maybe that's what it means to be an ENTHUSIAST. Seems to me it's ok for somebody to be an enthusiast. Personally, although I have Campy on both road bikes I wouldn't criticize anybody for choosing or riding Shimano (which I have owned in the past). On the other hand, I kind of like an occasional visit to the Campy only web site. Some useful information from time to time. Some nice pics. Slightly amusing nutiness. If it seems like a crazed and intolerant religion to you, don't go in the church--no point in arguing in such circumstances.
Lance NEVER would have won on Campy...Matno
Oct 18, 2002 3:37 AM
Cause there is such a huge difference between their components and Shimano's. :^)

As if it's not just about style preferences. When was the last time anybody had any valid complaints against the quality of either company's products? About the only difference I can think of (besides the price) is that Campy doesn't have the equivalent of Tiagra or Alivio parts...
Lance won't ever ride CampyMasonJ
Oct 18, 2002 3:42 AM
Neither will Robin Williams for that matter. They are married to the best, and the best is Shimano.
you don't own a gun, do you? nmDougSloan
Oct 17, 2002 4:16 PM
I nominate this thread for this week's "Get a Life" Award (nm)jtolleson
Oct 17, 2002 4:23 PM
I second the nomination, do we have a third? ( nm )Andy
Oct 18, 2002 6:17 PM
Hmmm, MJ rides a Trek, I bet. (nm)Spunout
Oct 17, 2002 4:46 PM
hey wait a minuteMJ
Oct 18, 2002 5:06 AM
I do not ride a Trek - though they're good bikes

I do not ride Shimano though it's good kit

and - I am not MasonJ who I hope you were referring to...
assumption correct, didn't see your handle (nm) ;-)Spunout
Oct 18, 2002 5:11 AM
And that's another thingMasonJ
Oct 18, 2002 5:38 AM
Don't you get tired of people, I mean posers, riding their Trek US Postal bikes. They are ugly bikes that wouldn't sell as well if it weren't for Lance. At least they use Shimano. Morning Eric Norris. Today, I warn you, your site might get hacked. I am not a hacker, but I have been hearing things.
Hey, don't insult Trek riders (nm)Kristin
Oct 18, 2002 6:47 AM
Do you ride a Trek Kristen? Are you a Lance groupie?MasonJ
Oct 18, 2002 6:57 AM
re: Who the hell does Eric Norris think he is?mackgoo
Oct 18, 2002 1:47 AM
Lance Armstrong and US Postal won the last 4 tours.
That should be news to everyone on this board!MasonJ
Oct 18, 2002 3:28 AM
You forgot to mention though they did it on, and I will quote Mr. Eric Norris, "ShimaNO." What an idiot Eric Norris must be. I mean, how juvenile is that to capitalize the NO in Shimano to try to conjure up some type of negative effect on the worlds greatest cycling components. Gee Mr. Norris, may I be you for the day, because you are just too cool with your elementary slams and your groupie web site.
Okay MJ, try $hitmano. Does that taste any better to you? NMSpunout
Oct 18, 2002 3:52 AM
We now have a comedian on this board.MasonJ
Oct 18, 2002 3:55 AM
Just wait until all the Shimano people on this board unite and chase you out of here for making such a commment.
Eric seems to be the guy who peeed in your corflakes...<nm>Ouch
Oct 18, 2002 6:33 AM