RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Tange Prestige tubing compared to newer tubes(11 posts)

Tange Prestige tubing compared to newer tubeseflayer2
Oct 17, 2002 8:41 AM
I have a quite used Serotta LT frame and steel fork. It needs paint, but otherwise looks much like a new, lugged Serotta--s bends, swaged, etc. It is made out of Tange Prestige tubing. Does anyone have an opinion how a frame made out of this stuff would compare to modern steel tubes such as 853 in terms of ride quality/weight?

Thanks for your opinions/experiences.
re: Tange Prestige tubing compared to newer tubesMasonJ
Oct 17, 2002 8:51 AM
Steel Is Real Dude!
re: Tange Prestige tubing compared to newer tubesjtolleson
Oct 17, 2002 11:09 AM
A little on the heavy side (I think, though it is hard to tell because my Tange Prestige bike has a heavier gruppo on it).

But it rocks. My fave retro bike is a celeste green tange prestige Bianchi with down tube 105/600 stuff. Rides a lot like my ti bikes also... that stiffness plus flex combo.

I like it. I really like it.
More about your Bianchi please? Which Ti bikes?eflayer2
Oct 17, 2002 11:31 AM
This is a glowing review. What kind of fork is on your Bianchi and what Ti bikes are you comparing it to? This makes me want to repaint this Serotta and get it built up sooner rather than later.
More about your Bianchi please? Which Ti bikes?jtolleson
Oct 17, 2002 6:17 PM
The Bianchi is an early 90s Alfana with a cromoly fork (true!) and a 105/Shimano 600 combo. The ride is just fun. Hard to explain, and that kinda stuff is so subtle. The gear (a double with a small cassette) doesn't suit the lion's share of my Colorado riding, so it is the bike path/off season/knockabout bike, but still fun.

The Ti to which I favorable compare it (give or take a few ounces) is a late 90s Litespeed Catalyst. Little stiff, little spring ... hard to 'splain.

I bought a Seven Axiom most recently which is stiffer and quicker than both, but for tons more $$$. It is my more hard core roadie ride.
Good stuffmass_biker
Oct 17, 2002 9:18 AM
Tange Prestige was quite the ticket back in the day. A lot of high end bike frames were made of the stuff - light, responsive, fairly strong. I would say that it is a bit more supple than 853 and perhaps not as light/stiff (most 853 bikes are not lugged), but is certainly a keeper. I have an old (89 vintage) lugged Serotta with Columbus SL tubing (frame/fork) that holds its own in the heat of battle. Yes, I can get some seattube flex, but there is nothing quite like rocketing down a not-so-smooth road and seeing that flat fork crown waggle back and forth as it soaks up the road shock. Definitely a keeper. - MB
How does it compare to 531?PEDDLEFOOT
Oct 17, 2002 9:46 AM
Yep, good stuff.Lon Norder
Oct 17, 2002 9:58 AM
My last bike (Lotus Prestige) was Tange Prestige and my current bike (KHS Aero Comp) is Reynolds 853. I think I like the Presige better. I can't really put into words why, it just felt faster. Of course, that could be due to how the frame was built. The KHS frame has always been built up, so I can't compare weights.

Don't know about the durability of the Prestige, though. The seat tube on the Lotus snapped in half after 6 years of use. The tubing was (almost) paper thin!
re: Tange Prestige tubing compared to newer tubestmguy
Oct 17, 2002 5:30 PM
Good stuff. In the late 80's early 90's it was very popular with the custom builders like Davidson (Seattle) Heat treated cro-mo rather than Reynolds propretary blend and rather than 0.9-0.6-0.9, (typical of Columbus SL and others) it was 0.8-0.6-0.8 (as I recall.) I have an '94 hard tail mt. bike (Balance, long since out of business) built of Prestige OS; awesome light and reponseive. If you are steel lover, and heck it IS a Serotta, it is definitely a keeper!

Peace!
re: Tange Prestige tubing compared to newer tubesjwarrenod
Oct 17, 2002 5:52 PM
www.chucksbikes.com has some frames made from Tange Prestige for $45. Generic frame, unknown builder, but for $45.....

JW
thanks for your replieseflayer2
Oct 18, 2002 3:55 AM
I need to decide now if I want to spend money restoring the Serotta and make sure it will fit well.