RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Anybody have a url to that special edition TREK that Lance..(24 posts)

Anybody have a url to that special edition TREK that Lance..jtferraro
Oct 16, 2002 9:10 PM
is riding in his "bustin' butt" poster and commercial? I've seen somebody post a link to one on ebay a while back but can't find it. NEway, it's the primarily yellow, red, white, and blue w/stars & stripes. I think Lance rode it in the Ride for the Roses in '00?

Just curious about it and how it was spec'd, etc.

Thanks,

-Jeff
No URL, but some info.......RickC5
Oct 17, 2002 5:27 AM
Trek only made 1999 of these in recognition of Lance's 1st TdF win (1999). They were sold in late 1999 and 2000. Each bike has a special, numbered tag stuck on the frame indicating which number the bike is out of the 1999 made. My wife's is number 200. They also came with a signed (by Lance) certificate.

The bike itself is a standard Trek 5500 OCLV, w/ full Dura-Ace gear and Rolf Vector Pro wheels. The only thing really unique is the special paint job: metallic yellow, w/ red, white and blue trim on fork and stays, USPS decals, and Lance's signature. Very distinctive. Some would say flashy. My wife loves it.

I have seen two different "types", one with black bar tape and saddle (predominant) and some (very few) with blue bar tape and saddle. I have no idea why there are two types, nor how many of each were made out of the 1999. Stems and seatposts are also different between the two types: silver vs. black. My wife's is the "black" version, with silver post & stem.

Can't post the gif photo I have, sorry.

Hope this helps.
Thanks for the info. Here's a URL I found...jtferraro
Oct 17, 2002 5:33 AM
http://shopping.yahoo.com/reviews/productopia/60/2755.html

-Jeff
More questions...jtferraro
Oct 17, 2002 5:43 AM
If these bikes are really year 2000 models, did they get the 1-1/8" headtube?

The signed certificate is a copy of his signature, right? Besides the paint it sounds like the only "mechanical" difference is the Vector Pros, right? I don't *think* the 2000 5500 came w/the Vector Pros, but I could be wrong. Where is Lance's signature on the frame - top tube/seat tube junction?

I think you mean your wife's is either the "black" version w/"BLACK" post & stem, -OR- the "silver" version w/silver post & stem, right? ;-)

C'mon...post that pic!! =)

Thanks,

-Jeff
Ah, now I know what you mean...jtferraro
Oct 17, 2002 5:48 AM
"black" version = black bar tape & saddle w/silver post & stem.

"silver" version = blue bar tape & saddle w/black post & stem.

Right?

-Jeff
AlmostRickC5
Oct 17, 2002 7:39 AM
"Black" version = black bar tape & saddle w/silver post & stem.

"Blue" version = blue bar tape & saddle w/black post & stem
Yup...I meant "blue" version! ;-)jtferraro
Oct 17, 2002 9:50 AM
1-1/8" Threadless (nm)TrekFurthur
Oct 17, 2002 6:24 AM
NIICE! (nm)jtferraro
Oct 17, 2002 6:26 AM
Oops!TrekFurthur
Oct 17, 2002 10:27 AM
Moneyman is right--it's 1". Sorry; checked out the version still at the LBS. Think it's on permanent display.
Answersmoneyman
Oct 17, 2002 7:26 AM
I own number 851.

Q: "If these bikes are really year 2000 models, did they get the 1-1/8" headtube?"

A: Wow! I don't know, but I think it is a 1". I had a non-cartridge bearing headset that went kapoot, and I replaced it with a Cane Creek cartridge bearing headset, supplied by Trek after a phone call complaining about the cheap stock version.

Q: "The signed certificate is a copy of his signature, right?

A: No - original. I am looking at it in it's frame hanging on my "Lance Shrine" wall as I write this. (I have four posters signed by Lance as well as a picture of me and him from the Peloton Project yellow jersey reception, Ride for the Roses 2002. I'll post a picture of it sometime.) The signature looks like it was done with a Sharpie marker. The signature on the bike is a decal. I had Lance sign my bike in Austin, so that one is original.

Q: "Besides the paint it sounds like the only "mechanical" difference is the Vector Pros, right? I don't *think* the 2000 5500 came w/the Vector Pros, but I could be wrong."

A: The 2000 certainly did come stock with the Vector Pros. I have them on, and in spite of all the negative comments regarding them, they are as true now as they were when I first climbed on the bike in June of 2000. The stem and handlebar are the Trek "Icon" brand. Seat post is a Thompson, Selle Italia saddle, Dura Ace components. No peddles included, but I put Look 297(?) on mine.

Q: "Where is Lance's signature on the frame - top tube/seat tube junction?

A: Top tube, right in front of the seat tube. I had LA sign mine on the RH side of the head tube.

My bar tape was originally black, but I have replaced it several times with yellow. The original tires were black and brown Conti 3000s. I have since replaced with, at various times, yellow and black. The black looks the best, IMO.

This is not the best picture of it, but my scanner is broken.

$$ (loves his 2000 yellow Trek 5500)
Where was that picture taken?Dave Hickey
Oct 17, 2002 7:44 AM
it looks like my normal rides...
I guess Montana...............nmchopper
Oct 17, 2002 8:06 AM
Close - Wyomingmoneyman
Oct 17, 2002 8:24 AM
Vedauwoo, between Laramie and Cheyenne, on I-80. There is very little road riding there, as all the roads are dirt. I brought the bike along to show some friends I was meeting for a MTB ride.

$$
Thanks for posting the pic and all your answers!!jtferraro
Oct 17, 2002 10:02 AM
You sure seem tight w/da' man!

-Jeff
Another URL...jtferraro
Oct 17, 2002 5:51 AM
http://web.outsidemag.com/magazine/200005/200005bike5.html

-Jeff
How many did they make?Tig
Oct 17, 2002 6:33 AM
There are at least 4 of these owned by members in the local club. I didn't think they were rare, but maybe I'm wrong. Then again, the club is sponsored by the 3rd largest Trek dealer in the US, so maybe they were able to get more. I know they get excellent deals on closeouts from Trek, and the LBS owners get a free trip to the TDF each year as well as a few other trips.
1999 (nm)jtferraro
Oct 17, 2002 6:36 AM
They're pretty rare here in DenverRickC5
Oct 17, 2002 7:43 AM
Aside from my wife's, the only other one we have seen is hanging from the ceiling at a LBS in Aurora. Of course, there may actually be others around, but we haven't come across them in our travels.
Forgot to mention......RickC5
Oct 17, 2002 7:48 AM
We bought my wife's bike recently (August) from a guy in Los Angeles. Got a great deal @ $2400, plus he had hardly ridden it (claimed twice). However, he either was never given his signed certificate, or he lost it, 'cause he couldn't find it. Fudge! Oh well......
But not at all in Aspen,TJeanloz
Oct 17, 2002 8:49 AM
The bike shop up in Aspen had at least 10 of them right after they came out. It was mind-boggling to see.
Aspen would be the place to sell them for $4500 eachRickC5
Oct 17, 2002 10:38 AM
Or, maybe there would be a premium of $500 on each bike to cover the shop owner's expenses.

Seriously, that would have been something to see.
12.111.25.49LI Biker
Oct 17, 2002 9:11 AM
re: Anybody have a url to that special edition TREK that Lance..
huh?! (nm)jtferraro
Oct 17, 2002 10:06 AM