RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Opinions on Fizik saddles(12 posts)

Opinions on Fizik saddlesPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Oct 16, 2002 5:34 PM
What are peoples opinions on the Fizik saddles? I'm considering getting one for my road bike with the twin gel technology so my legs are the only thing that hurts on rollers.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
I have two Giro Pave saddles and one Aliante. They are quitebill
Oct 16, 2002 6:10 PM
beautifully made. I think that they blow away Selle Italia in the attention to detail. Little things, like the way that the leather is cut and glued on.
Obviously, I like them. My sit bones are sort of close together and my thighs and butt are fairly beefy, so the narrow nose and light padding work fine for me. The Aliante, although expensive as hell and hard to justify on a cost comparison, is very comfortable, providing a real 'tweener fit -- not too hard, soft, narrow, wide, etc.
My one complaint is that the Giro Pave saddles have started to wear along the nose. One I've had for several years, and maybe I shouldn't complain about that one, but the other one is only a year old, and the leather has worn through on the right side of both. Obviously it's the way I sit, but a year for a pretty expensive saddle isn't that great.
re: Opinions on Fizik saddlesTUT2222
Oct 16, 2002 6:36 PM
I have both a Pave and a Pave CP, and like them both. The CP has some gel, which I find not to be an issue at all.
re: Opinions on Fizik saddlesnetso
Oct 17, 2002 3:04 AM
I have a Fizik Poggio Saddle. It has been great. The only problem is the wear on the nose.
Pave and AlianteMcAndrus
Oct 17, 2002 4:36 AM
I have a Pave and an Aliante. I think they call it Pave because it feels like I'm sitting on a brick. (I know others like them but each butt is different). I've had it for at least four years and finally gave up on it and put it on the shelf.

The Aliante is expensive but very comfortable. It's on my long-distance bike. I don't use it for racing because the surface is a little difficult to slide on - I like to move back and forth a lot and use my ol' reliable Flite for racing. The Aliante works better for those who like to plant it in one spot and stay there.
which Aliante is that then?collinsc
Oct 17, 2002 7:20 AM
the leather one? or the blue one?
re: Opinions on Fizik saddlescydswipe
Oct 17, 2002 5:22 AM
I had the Giro Fizik Pave Ti. It was great for regular riding. I found it extremely uncomfortable when I was in an aero position. That's just my body though. I use it on my MTB now. Still like it!
re: Opinions on Fizik saddlesnazgul
Oct 17, 2002 9:53 AM
I have a Poggio on my hardtail MTB and a Plateau on my fullie. The Poggio is rather firm and would probably be even better on a road bike (it is labeled a road saddle and tends to beat me up a little on the hardtail). The Plateau is labeled a MTB saddle and the padding is definitely softer, so far my favourite off-road saddle.
I love some of the features on the Fizik saddles: the thighglides, the scuffguards and twintech all seem to work well.
Stefan
Consider Pavé and Nisene don't work with some postsMarkus_B
Oct 17, 2002 2:32 PM
like Thomson with 0°-clamp, Tune etc. because the rails have no tilt.
not truepeloton
Oct 17, 2002 9:06 PM
I've got both a Nisene and a pave on Thomson posts right now, and it works just fine.

I like them both. Well made saddles. The pave has worn through on the nose, but it's three seasons and thousands of miles old though. I can't complain.
Notice I said "0°-clamp" (nm)Markus_B
Oct 19, 2002 8:32 AM
.
Consider Pavé and Nisene don't work with some postspeloton
Oct 19, 2002 3:01 PM
You have lost me on this one. I'm talking about the 0 degree post as well. Seems to work okay for me.