RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Scattante Bicycles(8 posts)

Scattante Bicyclesredtwin
Oct 16, 2002 12:29 AM
After giving up on Bikesdirect, I went shopping again. I came across Scattante at Supergo. Does anyone have any experience with them?. I tried web searches, but they all led back to Supergo. I couldn't find a manfacturer site or other dealers.

Supergo has really good prices on them with an R-550 AL with full 105 for $829 and an R-853 (853 steel) with full Ultegra for $1099. These prices are much lower than other makes of equal spec which left me wondering about where the savings is coming from. Is Scattante skimping on the frames or are the other manufacturers cashing in on their names?.

I checked the review section, but only found 2 reviews and one of those looked like someone at Supergo or Scattante might have written it...it was just a little too "ad" like.

Any thoughts on Scattante itself or on the two models I mentioned?.
re: Scattante Bicyclesbigrider
Oct 16, 2002 3:37 AM
I believe that Scattante is Supergo's "House Brand". I have looked at the specs and the 853 looks like a deal. I am sure the frames are imported so they are getting the benefit of lower labor costs. They are also using house brands on the fork, seatpost, etc and ultegra on the components.

Hey, in my opinion 853 is 853. What I mean to say is no the welds MAY not be as nice but they warranty the stuff. Everyone is getting their tubes from a few sources so now the differences are down to geometry, welding, painting, and straightness.(assuming you are comparing round tubes only.) and you know that an ultegra build kit is over a thousand bucks. I think it is a great deal. I also think their carbon bike for 1495 is a great deal.

Don't buy this stuff if you are:

a weight weenie Their bikes are a little heavier
are looking for an unique paint job or special detailing
A racer with money
re: Scattante BicyclesSpunout
Oct 16, 2002 4:05 AM
True, TIG welding 853 just makes it stronger, so it is robust to the less-than-best techniques.

For full Ultegra, fast wheels, 853 Frame(ride it to believe it) you can't go wrong for an mid-level ride. I would watch out for the AL offering, due to durability questions with AL in general.

BTW,I ride 853 OS in my LEmond Zurich and love it.
Don't forget to click-through from RBR for support!!! NMSpunout
Oct 16, 2002 4:05 AM
Don't forget to click-through from RBR for support!!! NMredtwin
Oct 16, 2002 5:40 AM
Thanks for the replies, they were a huge help. I ride recreationally and for exercise so I don't need ultra lightweght race spec, and I certainly can't afford "unique". I just want a solid bike that will last me for years without needing to be upgraded etc. I was leaning towards steel simply from the many reviews of others and that was before the heads up on the AL just now. Kinda makes the decision between the two easy.

If I could just get Supergo to release some more frame dimensions I could make a more informed decision on correct size. I tried e-mailing them twice and I got very vague answers telling me how to measure myself, and generic height/size guidelines, nothing about the bikes actual dimensions. I will try telephoning to see if I can get in touch with someone a bit more informed.

Yes I did click though RBR, the ad here was how I found out about Scattante in the first place.
Geometry, sizing...Spunout
Oct 16, 2002 6:10 AM
If you select the size, the virtual TT and Seat tube (C-T) measurements are given there. This is necessary when fitting a compact frame.

Look down on the specifications, all angles and lengths are there. For a quick fitting guide, check out coloradocyclist.com, and get your inseam measured for a C-T seat tube guideline. The Scattante looks like italian setup, with a steeper seat tube and shorter virtual top-tube. You'll have fun!
Geometry, sizing...redtwin
Oct 16, 2002 2:03 PM
Thanks again, you have been a great help.
Stay away from the carbon framechazman
Oct 16, 2002 8:24 PM
The carbon frame, although one peice and very nice looking, has a rivited-on front derail hanger. This setup either works or it doesn't. No in-between. I think if they upgrade that for next year the carbon frame would be worth trying. Other that that you are getting a great deal on the components. Worst case, ride the thing for a year and then get a closeout frame upgrade later if you do not like it.