RoadBikeReview.com's Forum Archives - General


Archive Home >> General(1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 )


Weight lifting(16 posts)

Weight liftingPeter E
Oct 15, 2002 4:51 AM
Since my season is over and my winter preparement for the next one has beginned and i've started with some weight-lifting this year which i haven't done so much of before.

But no i wonder how much weight-lifting the body and muscels can take in a week? normal bike-training i usually do 5-6 times/week but i dont know if you can do weight-lifting that frequently?
At the moment im doing weight-lifting 3-4 times/week (legs only) with a indoor spinning set after.
Then i ad 2 days/week with only indoor spinning.
re: Weight liftingPaulCL
Oct 15, 2002 5:19 AM
Don't lift more than every other day. The day off allows your muscles to repair themselves and get stronger.

By the way, do some upper body too. Stress the mid section: stomach and back. For the upper body, do light weights and high reps - it will build strength and endurance without adding much bulk.
The right balancemass_biker
Oct 15, 2002 5:38 AM
Sounds like you have found it. In fall/winter/spring my routine is:

* Lift 2-3x a week
* Ride 1x during the week; 1-2x on weekend
* Swim 2x during the week

I try to have at least one day between lifting sessions. No need to do the same kind of volume you did (bikewise) during the season. Spinning or any high cadence work is a great complement to weight lifting.

MB
re: Weight liftingmainframe
Oct 15, 2002 5:39 AM
PaulCL's advice is solid. Rest days are paramount to good strength gains. Also, don't overlook simple exercises such as pushups, dips, pullups: all are tremendous strength builders that should always be considered. A power rack with stations for each of the three movements is a great investment.
IMO.....BrianNYC
Oct 15, 2002 7:25 AM
Rowing gives you a great aerobic and anaerobic work-out. It uses nearly every muschle in your body, particularly the back and midsection (and your legs if you do it with proper form), does not build mass, but will make you significantly stronger in the upper body and keep your legs in shape. Weightlifting is boring, and even if you use light weights so as to avoid putting on mass, the strength you gain from weights is nothing compared with what you will gain by rowing, plus, since it is aerobic, you kill two birds with one stone. Use a good rowing machine like a Concept II and try to do 7 KM in under 30 minutes 3 or 4 times a week, or as many meters as you can do in half an hour (if you have more time, row for longer periods each day).
Rowing good, weights sort of goodpeter1
Oct 15, 2002 9:58 AM
For the last two off-seasons, I've combined rowing with a few specific weight exercises. I find the smooth action of the rower much easier on my joints and it maintains aerobic fitness, too.

A half-hour of rowing followed by various crunches and stretches 3x a week is about all I do. I, like the previous poster, find weightlifting incredibly boring. At least on the rower I can listen to music or watch TV in the gym.

The only actual weight lifting I don involves shoulder raises on the advice of a physical therapist. I've had surgery for dislocations and need to keep a few of the smaller support muscles toned.

One thing I've found is that the rower makes my hamstrings and glutes really tight, so that stretching right afterward is important, i think.
My opinionPODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Oct 15, 2002 10:16 AM
In my opinion you should lift every other day as rest is critical in any weight program. So 3 times a week. If you want to lift every day though you can alternate between upper and lower body days or do one full body workout. Also stress your core.

As for reps in all honesty ignore the high reps lower weight stuff. Yes this does build some sort of endurance but you want strength on the bike which unless your going to failure you won't be getting much of. A basic overview of what you should do is do sets of 12 for a couple weeks then progress down to 4-6 for the strength.

I don't have time to go into all the fundamentals in this post but I'd be more than happy to if you email me. My email is Nick@podiumbound.ca.

Nick
PodiumBound.ca
If you aren't a regular weight lifterColnagoFE
Oct 15, 2002 10:29 AM
I'd work up to the heavier weights at first. Make sure your form is flawless before putting on more weight. Hire a personal trainer if need be but if you go heavy with poor form you are gonna get injured or at the least not get the results you want. A 4-6 rep max is gonna be pretty heavy if you're doing it right (ie to near or full muscle exhaustion). When starting I'd recommend 8-12 so you don't have to go so heavy--at least until you have your form down well. You also may be pretty sore a day or two after lifting but this gets easier as you lift more regularly. Personally cycling is my #1 activity, but I am not a professional cyclist and lifting weights just seems to be a good thing to do for overall health regardless of whether it's ideal for cycling or not.
Very good points (nm)PODIUMBOUNDdotCA
Oct 15, 2002 12:17 PM
If you're a noob to weights, hire a trainer.fbg111
Oct 15, 2002 11:37 AM
The advice you'll get on internet forums may or may not be good for you, but judging from this thread it looks like it will at least be varied and therefore confusing for a noob.

Hire a trainer 2-3 days/week for a month. This will teach you the basics: which exercises you want to do, how to do them correctly (single most important piece of knowledge for weight training), and will get you going and show you some tangible results. Make sure the trainer has an updated certification with the American College of Sports Medicine (http://www.acsm.org/), so you can be sure they know their stuff.

Otherwise, the one piece of advice I concur with is, 3-4 times/week just legs is too much, especially if you also do spinning 2/week. Quality of the workout is more important than quantity. Work legs 1/week, to failure (with higher reps, not higher weight, otherwise you increase risk of injury).

I could go on and on, but you're better off hiring a trainer to tailor a good workout to your own body's capabilities. Different people have different abilities, and only a trainer can reliably create a good workout for you (until you've learned how to do that yourself).
there are other good certs besides ACSMColnagoFE
Oct 15, 2002 12:49 PM
ACE, AFAA, NSCA, among others. Some people who hold one cert will slag off the others as less than theirs, but for the most part they are pretty similar. Most good trainers will allow you a comp session to see if you are compatible. Be prepared to ask them questions and ask around at various clubs as to who they would recommend. It's not all that hard to get a personal trainer cert, but it is hard to be a good personal trainer. I currently maintain a JGSI Spinning cert as well as a ACE PT cert (which I am going to let lapse) myself because I thought I was going to go into this biz at one point.
some answersmarkNc
Oct 15, 2002 12:17 PM
I am not the expert but highly recommend checking out the "Menshealth.com" web site. Under the "Fitness" section is a fitness forum that is excellent for advise, tips, etc if you want to start a serious weight program.

The above site at menshealth has helped me greatly with weights training and diet(very important too). Don't be turned off by the musclefreaks though. Also you need to be careful so as not to hurt or harm yourself.

Current thought for general strength lifting is that you only need to workout 3-4 times a week, but NOT work the same muscle group over and over. Split your workout into a leg/ab, chest&arm, shoulders/back days.

That little Columbian pro rider in the TdF, forgot his name, does 440lbs on the leg press i recall!
marc
Just for cycling?Matt Britter
Oct 15, 2002 1:32 PM
Everyone has very good advise. But Peter, you must determine if your weight lift is going to be geared toward cycling or for over all looks and fitness.
If geared just at cycling get a Training Bible (Joe Friel) and use the weight workout in the book. It is not just lower body stuff, he puts in some brench and seated rows. But it builds muscle for legs and trunk (stomach and back) mostly.
-mb
Haven't done much?filtersweep
Oct 15, 2002 5:18 PM
If you are new to lifting, I wouldn't worry about things too much. I've been lifting for the past ten years and here is what I've found:

Buy a good book and read up on the topic. You really don't need a personal trainer unless you are rich and devoid of motivation. I've spent enough time in gyms to have overheard all sorts of nonsense and misinformation uttered by personal trainers... not that I'm indicting the industry, but a good trainer is hard to find, and one sensitized to specific needs of cyclists? Good luck!

I'd do leg workouts that use major muscles (like squats) maybe just once a week. A good squat workout will leave you sore for days. You will want to be careful to avoid injuries when working out legs... particularly knees and back. You won't feel like spinning much after a good leg workout.

In my experience, there is little cause for fear of bulking up too quickly... and even if you do, you will quickly lose your muscle mass when you resume heavy cycling. If you are maintaining base cardio while lifting, it will really slow down muscle bulking anyway. Bodybuilders usually fatten up, do a ton a lifting, then melt away the fat with finishing cardio (and a ton of diuretics and kamakazi cocktails).

I wouldn't be afraid of upper body workouts either... keeps things in balance. If you do get carried away, it is always easier to lose muscle than gain it!
re: Weight liftingol
Oct 15, 2002 8:12 PM
I have been racing bikes for well over 10 years and lifting weights for five years. My program involves 2 to 3 weight sessions a week, with primary focus on basic movements ie. squat, deadlift, bench, military, pull ups and curls. I usually don't go below 8 reps and I vary my lift cadence. Sometimes 2-1-2 cadence and at other times I like to lift in a balistic manner with higher reps ie. 15 reps. ( Good form is paramount). As long as you remember that you are a bike rider not a body builder you should get good results.
re: Weight liftingPeter E
Oct 17, 2002 2:42 AM
Thanks for all the inputs.

I think i stick with my weight lifting 3 times/week. As i do it now i have one rest/spinning day between the weight lifting.
I do 10 reps * 3 at each station, the ones i can i do with one leg at a time so that the legs get similary trained.

Think i ad some rowing one day of the rest/spinning days to to get som upperbudy strength